We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to the Kings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago whilst on a course at the local food research agency. I loved the hotel and the area so this time I returned with my husband.
Our room (109) was nice but a little bland. It was at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens so it was quiet (other than the fan below our window!) As the hotel was less busy last time I stayed I was upgraded to one of the nicer rooms at the front of the hotel. These rooms are a bit more expensive though, but have more character.
The staff were all really nice and helpful, the breakfast is brilliant and the location on the high street is great. The restaurant is more expensive than it was previously, with no 'bar menu' option anymore. Most of the restaurants on the high street are similarly priced. Chipping Campden is a good base to explore places like Stratford upon avon, Bourton on the water, Broadway, the Slaughters.....but you need a car.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_m0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

We only had one night at this hotel but it was great. We just walked in there to enquire about rooms and they showed us one at the back of the hotel in what is known as the cottage. It looked so good so we grabbed it as other accommodation enquiries were fruitless. The room (The Blockley) and indeed the hotel, was elegant and stylish with a combination of antique and contemporary which worked so well together. Parking was available at the front door of our cottage to the rear of the hotel. Our bed was a queen size and very comfortable. There is a courtyard off the bar where you can enjoy drinks before dinner and a nice lawn area with tables and chairs – great if you have kids that need to run around. The meals (dinner and breakfast) were excellent and offered a lot of choices. My only negative comment would be that the room above had squeaky floorboards but what do you expect from such an old building. I would definitely stay here again if I’m ever back in The Cotswalds.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habtheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed for one night in a superior double. The room was above the bar, noise was just discernable but if there had been a party below, we might have had a problem. The usual amenities in the room including a nice large teddy bear on the bed - cute! However, only a bath and no shower - a little bizarre for a hotel of this caliber.

Restaurant and food quality was good - breakfast was anything you could think of. But there are plenty of other places in the town tso don't be afraid to walk around and explore.

What let's the place down a little is the variable service (noted by previous correspondants). Some staff were very helpful and friendly, others a little dim but tried hard, one was clearly not cut out for customer service.

It's an expensive hotel (though cheaper deals for this place can be found on last minute web sites). Worth booking a room but make absolutely clear what your requirements are (quiet room, shower, etc).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stopped for Oysters and a Glass of Wine, i asked the the lady at recepetion for some oysters and wine, she offered to find out if there was any, Yes, super we sat in the bar area, after watching what was going on the staff didnt seem to have a clue, they dissappered, 1 guy waited at the bar for ages, So..... taking the order, finally a gentleman arrived, i had to tell him what i wanted 3 times, sorry worse than mcdonalds (dont lie we have all been in one) can i have a Big Mac.....Sorry Big Mac Meal, no just a big Mac....this went on.......finally he came back dropped a fork and started swearing.............?.....sorry not finally......i noticed the lady on recepetion had given a table away to another couple, the gentlemen wasnt to pleased as he gave it to somebody else.........BETTER COMMUNICATION NEEDED..............

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chqthisout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We chose to stay at Kings after being let down at another hotel.As we were not far away we decided that we would try it having stayed there last year,fortunately there were a couple of rooms left so we chose a deluxe king with a huge sleigh bed.The food was excellent and the service very good,the breakfast was excellent.The staff are helpful and attentive.We would certainly recommend it and have already booked to go again later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandjegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights over the New Year. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. New Years Eve Gala brilliant, food great and groovy tunes included. The only downside to our stay was the " Cold water issue" but the staff done all they could to assist.
Hopefully back next year........................ Take care !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comeonmyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We stayed in The Kings for a weekend away, having never visited the Cotswolds before. The location was perfect, right in the heart of the square in the lovely small town of Chipping Campden. The hotel was good value for money but it wasn't top notch. The staff were pleasant and helpful though not outstanding and one of the younger men working there finished every single sentence with 'Cool' which wasn't offensive but in a classier establishment, this wouldn't happen. The room we stayed in was super, very spacious with a nice en-suite, so no complaints there. The restaurant was ok, but the service wasn't fantastic and the food not special. So overall, we would definitely stay at the hotel again as the cost was so reasonable and the room so nice, but we felt the hotel wasn't as upmarket as it tried to portray (evident in the little touches which were definitely lacking) but for the price it offers good value for money in a cracking location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetBobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,091 reviews
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,099 reviews
3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
480 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
808 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £92 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing