We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it thinks it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Kings Hotel is a handsome building with a large garden in the very centre of Chipping Campden. The public rooms are very attractive, especially the dining room.

We booked a "compact double" room for a Saturday and a Sunday nights. It was one of their cheapest rooms, but was still £139 for the Saturday and £109 for Sunday. The room was of a perfectly acceptable size with a nice view over the garden and a decent bathroom. It was a little shabby and worn, but not enough to be problem. It had a tiny TV (14"/35.5 cm), on which, when viewed from the bed 11 feet/3.35m away, it was impossible to read titles, etc. Oh yes, the bed! We thought it looked a little on the small side as the pillows overhung the sides. It was only when we measured it the next day that we discovered it was only 4 feet (120 cm) wide instead of the 4.5 feet (137 cm) of a standard double bed. Perhaps the "compact double" referred to the bed rather than the room! The four pillows were all foam rather than feather, and not conducive to a good night's rest.

These aspects were minor, however, were insignificant compared to what became apparent when the evening came. The room (108) was directly above the kitchen, and when they started work there, a loud noise was heard from an extractor duct that was evidently in the wall between our bathroom and wardrobe. The bathroom floor noticeably vibrated. On top of that there were loud crashes of metal pans and bottles until 12.30 am, when the clearing up finally ended, and again from early morning when breakfast was being prepared.

We complained about these shortcomings on the next day, and were fairly promptly offered a free upgrade and a £20 discount. We were offered the choice of three rooms (there was a much lower occupancy on the Sunday night). All were equipped with significantly larger beds (with feather pillows) and TVs, though the two in the main building only had baths with handheld showers rather than overhead ones. The manager was keen to show us their most expensive room (they called it a "suite", as seems increasingly common practice for a large room with a couple of easy chairs) in an annexe, probably an old stable block, drawing attention to the complete quiet there, as well as the overhead shower! So we were glad to accept it on the agreed terms (rather than at the list price of £249, or £289 on Friday or Saturday).

The room, with beautiful old rafters and a nice view in two different directions of neighbouring gardens, was lovely, and we were, not surprisingly, very happy with it.
However, were we paying anything like the "real" price, we would have had reservations about some of its shortcomings. At that price, we would have expected a fridge, a safe, and a magnifying mirror in the bathroom; and somewhere to plug in the electric kettle and hairdryer without scrabbling about behind one of the bedside tables. That's right; there was no socket anywhere near the table on which the kettle and tea and coffee was arranged. Equally, there was no socket for the hairdryer anywhere near the mirror (which was not fixed to the wall, but leaning against one in such a way that it blocked one wardrobe door; the other door did not close properly, and inside were only three wooden hangers and two others). In fact, there were no spare sockets anywhere, apart from two in the middle of the floor, into which standard plugs would not fit. And, bizarrely, but not that it made any difference, the window-latches were all mounted upside down.

There seemed to be a general lack of attention to detail in housekeeping in both rooms we stayed in. Both had a non-working light when we arrived; over the washbasin in the first, and over the shower in the second. One of the two washbasins in the second had a blocked outlet, and there was ragged carpet edge in the bathroom doorway. There were fewer toiletries in that room than the first and no non-decaffeinated coffee.
Both rooms had large electric fans (the one in the first room was huge; 2 feet/60 cm in diameter), which leads me to suppose that they get warm on hot days; but where would you plug in the fan in the second?

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening. It is a beautiful room, and the service was very good. The food was good without being in any way outstanding. The cooked breakfast was very good, but the ancillaries — cereal, fruit, etc. — were uninspiring.

I have read in other reviews that customers managed to get good deals on the price of their rooms. I think that if you managed to get a reasonable price on any than the "compact doubles", you would be well-pleased with your stay; all the rooms that we saw were attractive. At the full rate, all the rooms are overpriced, and in the case of the "suite", ludicrously so. The shortcomings I have mentioned (apart from the major ones in our first room, which are not acceptable at any price) are tolerable, even amusing , and need not detract too much from your stay if the overall cost is okay.

As of course ours was in the end; one night in the worst room and one in the best for a total cost of £228 (not counting the meal). Full marks to the manager for his response to our complaint, even though it really should not have been necessary for us to have had to complain at all in a hotel of the standard to which the Kings aspires.

Oh, and by the way, their website is so intent on looking arty that it contains very little in the way of useful information; e.g. lots of close-ups of food at the expense of pictures of the facilities, and very few actual facts rather than marketing hype.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gradlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago whilst on a course at the local food research agency. I loved the hotel and the area so this time I returned with my husband.
Our room (109) was nice but a little bland. It was at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens so it was quiet (other than the fan below our window!) As the hotel was less busy last time I stayed I was upgraded to one of the nicer rooms at the front of the hotel. These rooms are a bit more expensive though, but have more character.
The staff were all really nice and helpful, the breakfast is brilliant and the location on the high street is great. The restaurant is more expensive than it was previously, with no 'bar menu' option anymore. Most of the restaurants on the high street are similarly priced. Chipping Campden is a good base to explore places like Stratford upon avon, Bourton on the water, Broadway, the Slaughters.....but you need a car.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_m0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We only had one night at this hotel but it was great. We just walked in there to enquire about rooms and they showed us one at the back of the hotel in what is known as the cottage. It looked so good so we grabbed it as other accommodation enquiries were fruitless. The room (The Blockley) and indeed the hotel, was elegant and stylish with a combination of antique and contemporary which worked so well together. Parking was available at the front door of our cottage to the rear of the hotel. Our bed was a queen size and very comfortable. There is a courtyard off the bar where you can enjoy drinks before dinner and a nice lawn area with tables and chairs – great if you have kids that need to run around. The meals (dinner and breakfast) were excellent and offered a lot of choices. My only negative comment would be that the room above had squeaky floorboards but what do you expect from such an old building. I would definitely stay here again if I’m ever back in The Cotswalds.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habtheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed for one night in a superior double. The room was above the bar, noise was just discernable but if there had been a party below, we might have had a problem. The usual amenities in the room including a nice large teddy bear on the bed - cute! However, only a bath and no shower - a little bizarre for a hotel of this caliber.

Restaurant and food quality was good - breakfast was anything you could think of. But there are plenty of other places in the town tso don't be afraid to walk around and explore.

What let's the place down a little is the variable service (noted by previous correspondants). Some staff were very helpful and friendly, others a little dim but tried hard, one was clearly not cut out for customer service.

It's an expensive hotel (though cheaper deals for this place can be found on last minute web sites). Worth booking a room but make absolutely clear what your requirements are (quiet room, shower, etc).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stopped for Oysters and a Glass of Wine, i asked the the lady at recepetion for some oysters and wine, she offered to find out if there was any, Yes, super we sat in the bar area, after watching what was going on the staff didnt seem to have a clue, they dissappered, 1 guy waited at the bar for ages, So..... taking the order, finally a gentleman arrived, i had to tell him what i wanted 3 times, sorry worse than mcdonalds (dont lie we have all been in one) can i have a Big Mac.....Sorry Big Mac Meal, no just a big Mac....this went on.......finally he came back dropped a fork and started swearing.............?.....sorry not finally......i noticed the lady on recepetion had given a table away to another couple, the gentlemen wasnt to pleased as he gave it to somebody else.........BETTER COMMUNICATION NEEDED..............

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chqthisout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We chose to stay at Kings after being let down at another hotel.As we were not far away we decided that we would try it having stayed there last year,fortunately there were a couple of rooms left so we chose a deluxe king with a huge sleigh bed.The food was excellent and the service very good,the breakfast was excellent.The staff are helpful and attentive.We would certainly recommend it and have already booked to go again later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandjegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights over the New Year. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. New Years Eve Gala brilliant, food great and groovy tunes included. The only downside to our stay was the " Cold water issue" but the staff done all they could to assist.
Hopefully back next year........................ Take care !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comeonmyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,102 reviews
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,116 reviews
3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
492 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,198 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £72 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing