We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”

Hidcote Manor Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$414.36*
and up
Private Tour of the Cotswolds in a luxury car from Moreton-in-Marsh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
NW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having made our way on a 125 mile journey from home all we wanted was a drink and some food on arrival. Both areas supplying this were very busy and this was mainly caused by poor organisation in both areas.As usual with NT properties food and drinks were overpriced. Actually finding the place wasn't that easy from the road we came along. Had we gone via Stratford upon Avon it was fairly well signposted. So not a fault of the NT here but of the poor signage by the authorities from another major road. The gardens were not anything special in our opinion and overall a great disappointment. The gardeners were very pleasant and were working in many areas but it all looked as if it needed a real good clear out and replanting.There were some interesting plants but in June this was not a garden for all seasons. Perhaps spring and autumn may show it in a better light. We actually have a superb gardens on our doorsteps at Tatton Park, Dunham Massey and Arley Hall. So if any of you reading this want to see two superb gardens travel up the M6 to jnct 20 and you can visit all 3 within a few miles of each other and get decent food and drinks quickly. We were glad we went but unlikely to visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank peppercornNw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    341
    66
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alweston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is one of the nicest National Trust Gardens we have visited. So much to see, you think you have found the best bit then walk into the next 'room' and it too is stunning. If we visit the area again it will be on our list of things to do, Beautiful. Credit must go to the staff who tend this beautiful garden for us all to enjoy. Thanks to them!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were two mature couples visiting Hidcote Manor Garden. As our friends from Wisconsin said, "This is not just the best garden I have ever seen. It's the best I ever will see." My wife and I couldn't agree more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TFredWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Probably the best gardens in the Cotswolds.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It's just gorgeous! So many separate 'rooms' to explore, you can go time and again and still see new things,.Even though it was quite busy, you could find a place to escape.
The walking about is not easy, though, the paths are quite rugged and uneven, I found I had to keep sitting down and couldn't walk about as much or for as long as I would have liked. There's nothing can be done about that, due to the age and style of the gardens, so best to visit a few times, for shorter visits, if, like me, you have difficulty walking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandjanet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon at Hidcote”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We really enjoyed this beautiful garden on a sunny afternoon in June. The food in the café was filling and good value too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank devonshiredave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidcote Manor Garden also viewed

 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Been to Hidcote Manor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing