We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Hidcote Manor Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$911.61*
and up
Stately Homes and Gardens of England Black Taxi Tour from London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southampton
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Some years since we last visited and we really enjoyed ourselves - couldn't remember any of it! These are beautiful gardens and very well maintained - plenty of good photo opportunities. It is very much set out as a series of rooms so you wander from one to another as you go round.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    324
    64
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

So much to see, so many enticing little gardens hidden from each other by hedges. Wonderful design. Inspiring planting.
Excellent free talk about some of the history of the garden as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit if you love English gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The title of the review says it all. A very beautiful garden with a wide range of different types of gardens and lawns, all worthwhile seeing and enjoying. Nice place to have coffee or lunch too. It is somewhat difficult to reach; glad we had navigation and not to much oncoming vehicles...
We visited some other gardens in this area too, all worth visiting, but we loved Hidcote the most.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A work of art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful gardens and for £11 per adult (including gift aid - £10 without) great value for money we spent over 6 hours there. Fantastic series of individual "rooms" with beautiful flowers and stunning vistas at every turn. One of the finest gardens in England and of course this can get very busy so get there early, but such a huge site you soon lose the crowds as you explore over 10 acres. We ate at the Winthrop cafe but again this can get very busy and many tables were reserved. Food was very nice and the service was excellent, very quick. If this cafe is too busy try the one back near the car park in the plant sales area, doesn't have the same range as the main one but there is still plenty of choice. A great day out and would highly recommend this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank denby4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second visit and still stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Been twice now in different seasons, absolutely breathtaking gardens. Another NT garden that doesnt disappoint. Winthrops Cafe in the garden was in the perfect spot, cake and coffee outside in the courtyard was peaceful. Bought a couple of herb plants (borage and caraway) both look healthy. One bit of advice I can give is wear sensible footwear, the paths can be quite awkward and unforgiving on the feet but are very inkeeping with a gardeners garden. L&J

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank poppiesLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidcote Manor Garden also viewed

 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Hidcote Manor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing