We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic escape from the rat race”
Review of The Malt House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Malt House
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The friendly welcome from June set the tone for a very relaxing, enjoyable visit. Whilst the Malt House is beautiful and impressive, it is also very comfortable and homely.
The bedrooms are plush, with the softest beds and linen known to man.
Breakfast is also full and varied, with nothing too much trouble.
Local villages like Broadway also add to the laid back Cotswolds atmosphere.
Whilst sorry to leave, I plan to re-visit very soon for another 'time out'.

Gordon
Falkirk

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GordonB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at The Malt House for two nights while visiting the Cotswalds and had two rooms in the garden annex. The rooms were quite spacious and the bathrooms very clean and comfortable. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed the opportunity to relax on the patio before leaving for dinner. Breakfasts were delicious and made to order if you wanted a traditional English breakfast or lighter fare.
The House is located in Broad Campden, but you can easily walk the mile to Chipping Campden using the public footpaths.
June, the innkeeper was pleasant and helpful with tips on restaurants, near by gardens, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenhoneybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Malt House was just perfect for our stay, we were made very welcome, the room we had was lovely and absolutely spotless. The breakfast choice was magnificent - we couldn't have asked for more. We would definitely stay again and I would recommend The Malt House to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppy7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just completed 35 days in the UK. The Malt House was easily the highlight of our stay. This is our third trip to the Malt House ....first on our honeymoon in 1985, 14 years later and then earlier this year. It has been tastefully updated and beautifully refurbished. Its never looked better. Quiet, very comfortable and just a joy. Our hostess was most accommodating in every regard and provided great suggestions for activities and local dining options. Pleasant one mile walk to Chipping Campden...take the route through the fields.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms look out over the wonderful backyard except the suite on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in May, 2014. Both June and Paul were very helpful, prompt with requests and fun to be with. Our "Croome" room, very spacious even by American standards, was spotless and newly decorated with handsome fabrics & appointments. The bed was terrific. The room and bath had just been updated. Our only complaint (minor!) was the lack of a soapdish in the shower. Our room was very quiet and looked out on the lovely garden as most rooms seemed to, as well. The delicious breakfasts were more than ample. We also ate twice at the Seagraves Restaurant, owned by Paul, with the best food ever! We would definitely go back as it was a value for the cost.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to look our on the lovely garden and were quiet, with little traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Absolutely charming! A beautiful place to stay in the Cotswolds. Quiet & comfortable, fabulous breakfasts, lovely rooms, beautiful garden, comfortable common areas for guests. Loads of style & comfort under the new ownership.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a serene, refined getaway in our preferred Gloucestershire Cotswolds - and very well positioned for garden and theatre lovers, with Hidcote and Stratford upon Avon both a short drive away.

The house and garden are just lovely. The atmosphere throughout is relaxed and stylish, and service is delivered with just the right touch. Would 100% recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Windrush' - romantic room with a 4-poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.6 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,077 reviews
3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Norton Grounds
Norton Grounds
#4 of 28 in Chipping Campden
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Badgers Hall
Badgers Hall
#11 of 28 in Chipping Campden
270 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#1 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt House

Address: Broad Campden, Chipping Campden GL55 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £130 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is with the deepest regret that due to family illness we are unable to operate The Malt House for the coming months. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our guests for the wonderful feedback they have given us and for bringing such life and joy into our home and we look forward to welcoming people back later in the year. If you have bookings with us up to and including 14th July 2015 - your booking still stands and you need do nothing. If you have a booking after 14th July 2015 - you should have received a telephone call or email from us. If you have not please contact us at the information above. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Malt House Hotel Chipping Campden
The Malt House Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing