We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Eight Bells Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eight Bells Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely food, great atmosphere and welcoming homely rooms.

Beautiful rooms, had a great nights sleep didn't even realise I was not at home.

Lovely atmosphere in the evenings in such a breath taking town.

You can taste the good quality raw ingredients in the food with very generous portions. Extremely satisfying.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodielover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    52
    25
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
107
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Myself, Col Waffle & the dog were on holiday in the Cotswolds & having a stroll around Chipping Campden & then suddenly it was lunchtime! So we popped into the 8 Bells & were made very welcome by the delightful staff - the dog was given a bowl of water before we'd even asked, which he very much appreciated! The Colonel had a bacon, brie & cranberry ciabatta, which he really enjoyed & said didn't need the embellishment of the fries or salad that he was offered! I had cheddar & chutney ciabatta & a mountain of salad. Yummy! And such a lovely atmospheric old pub, too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrswaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I love the charm and friendliness of the Eight Bells. My room was clean and well equipped. Bed was really comfy and I had a great nights sleep.
Location is super in Chipping Campden - perfectly placed and parking just outside the door and free.
I had a great meal with friends and whilst I left too early to enjoy the breakfast I am sure it would have been fabulous if supper was anything to go by.
I would recommend the Eight Bells for it,s character and charm first and foremost combined with super value for money. I will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 it was large and well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank herin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, berks
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Chipping Campden is a really pretty Cotswold town.Lots of hotels/pubs and restaurants. We arrived on Friday lunchtime. The room wasn't ready (not unexpected as we arrived at 12.30), but the welcome was warm and the complimentary drink in the bar most welcome! We had a couple more drinks in the bar and then were shown our room about 2pm. We were in room 3 which is the small double, and it is small! But we knew that as that what we had booked, and we only intended to sleep and shower there anyhow. It was comfortable enough. We ate in the hotel on the Friday night and the food was fine. I wouldn't rave about it. I personallydid not think there was a great deal of choice. But what we had was reasonably priced, the restaurant had a nice ambience and the service was very good. (To put it in perspective we ate at the Mediterrean Resturant in town on the Saturday night and paid an AWFUL lot more for a not exceptionally good meal...). And so to the breakfasts......Saturday morning we had the full English to set us up for our walk along the Cotswold Way to Broadway......and it certainly did that. Decent tea, OJ and plentiful cereals/toasts/jams also (though we didn't partake of more than the tea and the OJ as the full English didn't leave room for anything else) On Sunday, we had fresh fruit, followed by smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Delicious and also very filling!
All in all a very pleasant weekend in Chipping Campden, and a really nice stay at the Eight Bells.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janejarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My Grandmother stayed here for a few nights, The room wasnt overly large but nice, only negative was there was no telephone in the room which was quite disconcerting. We ate in the Bar one evening and food was very lovely however it was very busy, obviously a watering hole on a weekend.
Staff were nice especially Marie, Just think the room was a little over priced for what you get

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNewman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for just one night on a special deal through booking.com. The pub itself is charming and the owners are very friendly. When checking in we were given a form to complete with the promise of a free drink once done. A very nice gesture. Our room was quite large although a bit on the chilly side to start with as the radiators had been turned down. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The bathroom was lovely but as with all old buildings the water pressure wasn't great. Our room was above the bar and there was some noise (as to be expected) but the pub isn't open late so it wasn't a problem. We ate in the bar in the evening. The menu is quite small and slightly on the pricey side however we enjoyed our meals. The cheese and biscuits we ordered for dessert was a little disappointing. The three cheeses served were a bit boring (cheddar, stilton and brie) and the homemade chutney had been replaced by a very sweet sort of fruit jam. However the kitchen was due to close a couple of days later for a refurbishment so this may have had something to do with it. The highlight of the stay however was the breakfast. The fresh fruit salad and yoghurt was delicious and for the main course there was plenty of choice and it was all freshly cooked to order. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The meal was poorly cooked. Cous cous was hard - no water had been added. Lamb was tough and unpleasant. No-one asked why we left our food. Frozen chips had been cooked so many times that they were black. We had looked forward to eating here and it was such a shock that it was so bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
2.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
644 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Inn

Property: Eight Bells Inn
Address: Church Street, Chipping Campden, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eight Bells Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Bells Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing