We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Delightful Cottage"”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Twine Cottage

Twine Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twine Cottage
Twine Cottage in the snow Twine Cottage in the snow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Twine Cottage
Twine Cottage in the snow
Twine Cottage in the snow
Twine Cottage cosy lounge
Twine Cottage kitchen
Twine Cottage breakfast area
Somewhere to hang your coats at Twine Cottage
Twine Cottage's lovely bedroom
Twine Cottage bathroom
Twine Cottage bathroom
Spring time at Twine Cottage
All set up for tea outside Twine Cottage
Our next door neighbour house
Chipping Campden
A typical Cotswolds street
Chipping Campden High Street
Pastoral beauty in Chipping Campden
Back Ends
Broad Campden, near Chipping Campden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mochie012...
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Delightful Cottage"”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic cottage on a quiet lane but a short stroll from the High Street.Spent five nights here for our honeymoon and was not disappointed.Bedroom was cosy and bed was extremely comfy.The living room was just as cosy especially at night time with the lamps on and curtains closed.The kitchen was well equipped with cooker,dishwasher,microwave and all the essentials you will need.The bathroom was spacious and the shower was superb.My new wife found the bath luxurious.On the last day we was surprised to see a pheasant on the front garden.Twine cottage did feel like our home for five days and the neighbours were also very polite.We highly recommend this cottage if you are looking for a traditional thatched cottage in the Cotswolds.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnii20
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Made to feel like the 'squatswolds' !”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We got to the cottage and were really impressed however this was soon to change when one of the owners turned up unexpectedly on our second day in the cottage. He told us we shouldn't be there and had only booked for four nights. He was very off hand, condescending and rude. I had spoken to his wife and arranged 7 nights and was advised not to change the booking form as she had booked us in. The lady admitted she couldn't even remember speaking to me to arrange our stay hence a mix up in the booking. My boyfriend and I were forced to leave a night early as they had double booked and the owners refuse to refund us for the final night.

A lovely cottage and I would recommend the area, however due to the incompetence of the owners I would not recommend this cottage and will be staying elsewhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
You left such a nice review in our visitor’s book about how you had enjoyed your stay and loved the cottage, that I am really disappointed and surprised that you have written such an erroneous review.

Here are the facts:
Your boyfriend booked for 4 nights – Monday – Friday and this is clear on the booking form and receipt which I sent him. Apparently, the week before you were due to arrive you decided you wanted to come two days earlier on the Saturday. We had deliberately chosen not to take any guests that weekend, as we wanted to do some work on the house and in the garden and put up the Christmas decorations so that it would look good for you and the other guests booked in during December. Twine Cottage was booked nearly 48 weeks of the year last year, so this was one of our few chances when we could have access at the weekend.

When my partner arrived at Twine after making a 2-hour journey on the Sunday, he was extremely surprised to see you and your partner and your Staffordshire bull terrier dog already at the cottage. I called you as I look after the bookings, to find out if perhaps you had mistakenly got the arrival date wrong and you admitted that it had been a very busy week at work for you and perhaps you had forgotten to call me to ask if you could come on the Saturday instead of the Monday. You also said that you had thought that the security deposit would cover the extra two nights so had not been concerned that you might need to pay us extra for the two nights before you arrived. It was not that I could not remember speaking to you, but until this time all communication had been made between myself and your boyfriend and neither he or you had called or emailed to say that you wanted to extend your stay. If you had, I would also have asked for up front payment for the two extra nights and I would certainly not have suggested that the security deposit would cover it, especially as you were bringing your dog. Certainly at no time did you ask to stay the Friday night, but that would not have been possible anyway as there had been a long term booking in place from the Friday which you could see on the website. I was always under the assumption that you were leaving on the Friday as that is what you had asked and paid for originally. To say that you were forced to leave as we had double booked is entirely incorrect.

It clearly states on our Holiday Lettings website we charge a % of a weeks’ rate for 3 or 4 nights which is what you originally paid and then you paid for the extra two nights. We charge a week’s rate for stays of 5, 6, or 7 nights and you paid for the 6 nights you stayed. We would have of course refunded you one night’s stay, but as this shows there was absolutely no reason for us to do this.

I am pleased however that you both liked the cottage and Chipping Campden and am very sorry if you feel that I was incompetent in any way. To avoid any misunderstanding or mix-up over bookings, I have always been meticulous that my booking forms have all the correct information and I would always send out a new one if any changes are made from the original booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garn01
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely thatched cottage”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a lovely time at Twine Cottage. Excellent amenities, well appointed kitchen and everything was clean. The town of Chipping Campden is a lovely village to visit, with everything within easy walking distance of the cottage. The only disappointing thing was no wifi at the cottage, but we were aware of that when we booked. Several coffee shops and pubs did provide wifi so this was not a significant issue. Overall, a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of staying in a thatched cottage
Liked least: As an international traveler the costs incurred for payment and deposit return (Over $100 AUD)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$117
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing