We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky but with all home comforts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Twine Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

lynnandba...
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Quirky but with all home comforts”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We Stayed here for a week and had high expectations based on previous reviews, but we were certainly not disappointed. Prior to our trip Rosie had already been helpful in correspondence re places to visit and answering questions about the cottage, and so we felt welcome before we arrived.
The cottage was small as expected, but very functional and charming. Everything was provided , and all appliances had very clear instructions for use. Lots of traditional beams brought character to the cottage, the bedroom was cosy but with a sense of warmth, and the bathroom was spacious. We sat out in the peaceful garden on several occasions.
The location of the cottage is perfect, just a few hundred yards into the centre of Chipping Campden, and on a wider basis, right in the centre of the cotswolds and within 1 hours drive of all the 'must see' tourist towns/villages and cities. Information on places to visit is provided in the cottage, so no need to do all your research in advance.
The cottage remained cool even in summer and we even needed the feature fire on a few evenings. No negatives, we would highly reccommend.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quirkiness and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mochie012...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Delightful Cottage"”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic cottage on a quiet lane but a short stroll from the High Street.Spent five nights here for our honeymoon and was not disappointed.Bedroom was cosy and bed was extremely comfy.The living room was just as cosy especially at night time with the lamps on and curtains closed.The kitchen was well equipped with cooker,dishwasher,microwave and all the essentials you will need.The bathroom was spacious and the shower was superb.My new wife found the bath luxurious.On the last day we was surprised to see a pheasant on the front garden.Twine cottage did feel like our home for five days and the neighbours were also very polite.We highly recommend this cottage if you are looking for a traditional thatched cottage in the Cotswolds.

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2013
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnii20
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made to feel like the 'squatswolds' !”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We got to the cottage and were really impressed however this was soon to change when one of the owners turned up unexpectedly on our second day in the cottage. He told us we shouldn't be there and had only booked for four nights. He was very off hand, condescending and rude. I had spoken to his wife and arranged 7 nights and was advised not to change the booking form as she had booked us in. The lady admitted she couldn't even remember speaking to me to arrange our stay hence a mix up in the booking. My boyfriend and I were forced to leave a night early as they had double booked and the owners refuse to refund us for the final night.

A lovely cottage and I would recommend the area, however due to the incompetence of the owners I would not recommend this cottage and will be staying elsewhere.

Date of stay: December 2013
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
You left such a nice review in our visitor’s book about how you had enjoyed your stay and loved the cottage, that I am really disappointed and surprised that you have written such an erroneous review.

Here are the facts:
Your boyfriend booked for 4 nights – Monday – Friday and this is clear on the booking form and receipt which I sent him. Apparently, the week before you were due to arrive you decided you wanted to come two days earlier on the Saturday. We had deliberately chosen not to take any guests that weekend, as we wanted to do some work on the house and in the garden and put up the Christmas decorations so that it would look good for you and the other guests booked in during December. Twine Cottage was booked nearly 48 weeks of the year last year, so this was one of our few chances when we could have access at the weekend.

When my partner arrived at Twine after making a 2-hour journey on the Sunday, he was extremely surprised to see you and your partner and your Staffordshire bull terrier dog already at the cottage. I called you as I look after the bookings, to find out if perhaps you had mistakenly got the arrival date wrong and you admitted that it had been a very busy week at work for you and perhaps you had forgotten to call me to ask if you could come on the Saturday instead of the Monday. You also said that you had thought that the security deposit would cover the extra two nights so had not been concerned that you might need to pay us extra for the two nights before you arrived. It was not that I could not remember speaking to you, but until this time all communication had been made between myself and your boyfriend and neither he or you had called or emailed to say that you wanted to extend your stay. If you had, I would also have asked for up front payment for the two extra nights and I would certainly not have suggested that the security deposit would cover it, especially as you were bringing your dog. Certainly at no time did you ask to stay the Friday night, but that would not have been possible anyway as there had been a long term booking in place from the Friday which you could see on the website. I was always under the assumption that you were leaving on the Friday as that is what you had asked and paid for originally. To say that you were forced to leave as we had double booked is entirely incorrect.

It clearly states on our Holiday Lettings website we charge a % of a weeks’ rate for 3 or 4 nights which is what you originally paid and then you paid for the extra two nights. We charge a week’s rate for stays of 5, 6, or 7 nights and you paid for the 6 nights you stayed. We would have of course refunded you one night’s stay, but as this shows there was absolutely no reason for us to do this.

I am pleased however that you both liked the cottage and Chipping Campden and am very sorry if you feel that I was incompetent in any way. To avoid any misunderstanding or mix-up over bookings, I have always been meticulous that my booking forms have all the correct information and I would always send out a new one if any changes are made from the original booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.