We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable dinner....pity about the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner....pity about the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose the Red Lion because its menu was more appealing and more reasonably priced than the many other pubs and restaurants in town. And unlike Sean T (13/8/13), we thoroughly enjoyed our meal - lamb shanks and chef's pie of the day (steak and onions). Both meals were tasty, hot and served with fresh vegetables. Also unlike Sean, we had very pleasant and attentive service. But like Sean we too waited a long time after our order - 50 minutes in fact - which was rather hard to understand given our choice of meals, which you might expect would have only required 'finishing' rather than preparation from scratch. All in all though, worth the wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    60
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
109
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

we really enjoyed our stay. We were going to a wedding at gardens nearby, and the staff just did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. The cheese plate dinner was amazing, and they served us even though we showed up just at closing. They helped us book taxis (great service!). Just wish we would have had more time to enjoy the beautiful beer garden. Our room was just wonderful too -- so much history and character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Second time of staying at this lovely cosy Inn. Tracey, the owner, together with all of her staff are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I love the fact that the accommodation is away from the main part of the Inn, makes for a quieter stay. The accommodation itself is very quirky, clean and comfortable .. it is also extremely useful that breakfast is served at a time of your choosing. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this quaint establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine7564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion for a night after travelling to the Cotswolds. What a wonderful time we had. The inn is right on the High Street and is very pretty and quaint. The staff including the owner Tracy were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had evening meal and breakfast and both were cooked well. The room was very clean and in keeping with the age of the inn. I was very impressed and will definitely be coming back. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed there for four nights in August. We booked Inns for our entire trip to Wales and UK. Following a wonderful stay in Wales we were really looking forward to staying in the Red Lion in Chipping Campden. We were so disappointed from the minute we arrived. There were just two people having lunch which didn't look good so we chose not to eat there. The place was grubby; tables were sticky and it just didn't feel clean. There was a horrible strong smell of air-freshener in the bedroom area. Our room was nothing like the photo on their website! We thought seriously about checking out again but felt we'd have to pay for the four nights anyway. Breakfast on the first morning was awful! Scrambled eggs were green and tough and the butter was tainted. Next day the butter was the same so we didn't have breakfast there again and we certainly didn't chance lunch or dinner. The new owners have a lot to learn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havin-A-Break
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay - we would have welcomed the opportunity to have solved any problems whilst you were here - however you did not raise any concerns. We always check with guests if everything is fine with their stay. We do not have air freshener in the rooms, eggs are delivered daily from a local farm, and we have a good cleaning regime - we will however review your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our favourite place in Chipping Campden. So friendly and nice to stay in and always made to feel welcome. We come down from Scotland and always stay here - dog friendly, nice rooms, great food, and breakfast. Always leave something behind - dress, dog basket, but we get returned promptly.

Room Tip: We are always given the same one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
It was good to see some familiar faces again - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were staying in chipping campden over the August Weekend and we had the misfortune to try the Red Lion Inn for Food. We waited 50 minutes after placing our Order and what we got to eat when it eventually arrived was terrible. There were 4 of us and I will not go into the Dishes we had but I can tell you they all different and they were all terrible. The Bar area is also dirty looking and unkept and the Staff do not seem to know what is happening. We noticed when we were leaving a sign up for Chef Required ?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us - I would like to respond to your comments - it was explained to you that there was a wait due to us being very busy at the time of your order - a member of staff checked with your party during your meal and was told everything was fine - it was only at the end of your meal, having eaten everthing, that you made a complaint - your bill was mainly for drinks - a 20% discount was applied to your food bill. Other guests who ate the same dishes said the food was fine and the fish the best they had tasted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing