We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Coalville, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed at the Red Lion for 2 nights but wish we could have stopped for longer. It is a beautiful old inn with lovely warm accomodation which has just been updated. We were treated like friends and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, we had a relaxing evening meal by one of the open fires & breakfast was made all the more special by the very gorgeous Oscar (the parrot) who kept us entertained with his chatting & sound effects.
Thank you to Tracey, her family & staff for making us feel so welcome, we hope to see you all again soon :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and the newly refurbished rooms. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our home cooked meals and that Oscar kept you amused.

We do hope to see you again in the future

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    63
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
117
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Red Lion Inn was adorable!! The rooms were small, but cosy and lovely as you were able to see the wooden beams in the ceiling. The rooms had just been renovated too, so they were very new and clean. Bed was comfy and shower was good and hot. Only thing I would have liked was for the rooms to be a bit warmer. It was a bit drafty, but I have to admit, it was a very cold weekend! The village is beautiful and the pub is also very nice. Oscar the parrot is great entertainment!! Overall, a lovely relaxing stay away from the city!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We would like to thank you for your positive comments, we are glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms - extra heaters have been put in all of the rooms for guests to use if needed. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is a nice, small and cosy hotel. Rooms are well equipped, however I found my room a little bit outdated and there was quite strong, strange smell which reminded me naphtalene smell.
The hotel's staff was lovely, very helpful and kindly. The restaurant food (both dinner and breakfast) was great, not a huge selection, but I think everyone should find something nice for him. Restaurant interiors and furnishing are impressive: raw walls, open fire, stylish, old accesorries on the windowsills... all these details make really special, rustic atmosphere. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorotkaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review - I would like to take the opportunity to respond - during your stay we started a refurbishment programme. All of the rooms will have new bathrooms, flooring, carpets and furniture within the next 6 weeks. We have just completed the top 2 rooms and start your room in 2 weeks - all rooms will be completed by end of March. The smell you mention may well have been from the decorators paint/varnish and new carpets. We hope you return in the future to the revamped rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
357 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Red Lion is a tradition English inn with heaps of character and open fires ideal for a weekend winter break. The rooms are clean and comfortable, even though they could with a bit of updating cosmetically, they still represent excellent value for money.
The breakfast was good quality and set us up for the day ahead. We also ate in the bar/eating area on our first evening and the staff were kind enough to serve us past 9:00 as our son had been held up in traffic, the menu was varied and our meals were well prepared and of good quality.
The staff are very friendly and efficient in a relaxed manner, making you feel very much at home.
Chipping Campden is a lovely village with good pubs, restaurants and some interesting shops, it is an ideal location for touring the Cotswolds.
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review - I would like to take the opportunity to respond - since your stay with us we have started a refurbishment programme. All of the rooms will have new bathrooms, flooring, carpets and furniture within the next 6 weeks. We have just completed the top 2 rooms and start the others in 2 weeks - all rooms will be completed by end of March. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Red Lion and was made to feel really welcome. The breakfast was excellent - you only had to ask and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable, full of character and clean. The evening menu was varied and each dish I had was prepared and served with style. All in all an really great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boulonois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The Red Lion Inn is comfortable and the owners/staff are very welcoming. Breakfast was generous and well prepared. A great spot to stop in the Cotswalds. Chipping Camden appears as a classic "chocolate box" setting and the Red Lion fits perfectly.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Chipping Campden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

inexpensive inn, great spacious room, ate dinner and breakfast - both very nice and large meals.
very cozy- large fires - old English pub- wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Really enjoyed our stay.
Large bathroom, nicely heated. Lots of character- large pub, heaps of parking

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing