We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming!”
Review of Lygon Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lygon Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London UK/Boston MA
2 reviews
“Absolutely Charming!”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We went to Chipping Camden off season, and found the Lygon Arms to be perfect for our stay. Well-meaning, helpful staff, spotless rooms, tea and biscuits, fruit, even wi-fi. Breakfasts were substantial, and Sunday lunch a delight. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtlawr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    47
    20
    5
    13
See reviews for
32
122
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

You won't be disappointed, charming rooms, quality breakfast, nice dinner, lots of character and reasonable prices. This was third time this year...... Looking forward to my next visit peter West

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

During dinner my wife told me that if she ever runs away from home, this is the place where I could probably find her. Our room overlooking the village street was large,bright,and nicely furnished, Dinner and breakfast were excellent quality. The service at the hotel and in the restaurant was excellent and the local patrons in the restaurant were very welcoming. The hotel and the village are relaxing and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stopped in for lunch one Sunday. The service was slow and the girls behind the bar need a lesson in Customer Service.

Aside from that, the food was absolutely first class. Will return on our next visit just for the food.

Would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the service.....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife & I stayed in one of the standard doubles and had an evening meal along with our friends, who'd been given a room upgrade (in the courtyard area) as they'd decided to stay for 2 nights. Our room was small, but comfortable. Theirs was much bigger, more modern and appeared to be worth the extra - if paying the normal rates. Despite the fact that a major kitchen clean/refit was underway and that residents only were being served food that evening, our meals were excellent. Our waitress (Jo) was polite and attentive. The manager (Sandra) was affable and offered a £15 discount on our room due to the disarray. A final mention must be for the excellent breakfast, which contained a good selection and was beautifully presented.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Lygon Arms is a charming hotel in a stunning village. The room was clean with all the mod-cons including fridge and sky TV channels. A very well looked after hotel.

Plenty of options at breakfast as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here as a taster before we book for the Cotswold way and just fell in love with the place.
The lygon arms is a beautiful traditional building with every mod con in the rooms, so the best of both worlds. Every thing has been thought about, and nothing forgotten.
We ate in the bar from the extensive menu, so many of our favourite things on the menu that it was hard to choose! It was amazing and the atmosphere so welcoming.
Breakfast, as we had now come to expect, was delicious, served by friendly staff and plentiful.
Sandra and Bob are fantastic hosts who clearly love what they do - it is a pleasure to stay in there wonderful hotel.
Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Arms Hotel

Property: Lygon Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lygon Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Lygon Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing