We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Accommodations”
Review of Lygon Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lygon Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was our first time in Chipping Campden. The location of Lygon Arms couldn't be better---right in the center of town but the street is quiet at night. Our room had a very comfortable king size bed, a view of High Street, modern and spacious bathroom, mini-refrigerator with fresh fruits and bottled water in it and flat screen TV. It was clean and quiet. For breakfast I had the generous portion of smoked salmon with scrambled eggs---delicious. There were many other items as well----yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit, etc. The village is such a charming one. It was probably my favorite place on this trip through the UK. We hope to return soon and we'll definitely stay at Lygon Arms again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

I've been coming here for around thirty years and the Lygon never fails to impress. It's been gradually upgraded over the years and the courtyard rooms are superb with every possible luxury. Sandra now has her hands on the reins and is doing a superb job, and she still looks the same after 30 years! Mary's breakfasts are legendary and I've still never finished one, alround quite brilliant and a unique Cotswold experience. Long live Ivor Potter!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited Lygon Arms for dinner one night and were very impressed with it. The place was busy despite it being quiet in most other restaurants/pubs along the High Street. Despite the large number of customers the food arrived quickly and it was very tasty, with big portions. Overall a great pub with very good service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Skupi478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Lygon Arms was excellent in every way. We were in Campden for a family reunion and had the barn rooms which were well appointed and overlook the pretty courtyard where we had our own table and chairs to sit in the sun. The hotel is very central in this lovely village, and the barns have been tastefully converted using the honey coloured local stone. The staff are friendly and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble. We had a wonderful breakfast in a ground floor dining room which was warm and welcoming. There was an array of fresh fruit, a huge choice of food cooked to order, and even Danish pastries! We didn't need anything else until evening! The bar meal was very good too, reasonably priced for this area. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Treat yourselves to one of the barn rooms. You may be able to get a special offer if the hotel is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkIslandwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

this was my 1st time in the cotswolds and i am very happy i chose the lygon arms
the location is spot on for all local sites
the service in the hotel is also spot i have stayed in many 5 star hotels and i must say that this hotel is up there with the best of them
the food is 1st class very large portion
oh one last thing the breakfast was of a very high standard (the kippers were the best i have ever had }
Ivor if you read this i thank you very much for a fantastic stay
the hersham boys & girls
see you next year without fail

Room Tip: 1 - 3 are both over looking the high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOFFSURREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed her on the last minute and were glad we did. I spent days trying to decide which town to stay in and after driving through most northern Cotswold villages we thought this was the best town. Most of the other villages sort of resembled each other but not this one it really stands out. Also you have more choices to eat and its a great base to see other villages.

Now for this hotel. Were were given a twin room in the front of the hotel. The room was nice size huge bathroom with big tub/shower. Beds were ok but after staying on 9 b&bs in 3 weeks there pretty much all around the same not very soft. So if your used to a nice medium/soft bed your in for a real surprise when you get to Europe. Breakfast was great very tasty and filling and it was included in the price and they have there own restaurant/ pub.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We returned to the Lygon for our Christmas gathering after not being able to get there last year because of the snow, as always we had an superb time. We stayed in one of the barn rooms which was very spacious with a wonderful bathroom. The food in both the bar and the main dinning room is excellent and the breafast is still one of best. The whole experience starts our Chritmas off perfectly. We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMudefordDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lygon Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Lygon Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing