We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bar in Chipping Campden”
Review of Lygon Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lygon Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The best bar in Chipping Campden”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Really warm and welcoming public bar, the most homely in Chipping Campden. Excellent selection of beers and the bar food is more akin to a good restaurant. Mine host Ivor Potter was on great form as always and long may it continue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    48
    19
    5
    13
See reviews for
32
123
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We visited Chipping Campden on a snowy Saturday in January. The weather had kept many people at home and the town was very quiet. We walked past all the usual venues and peered in the windows. Nobody in anywhere at 6pm but we chose the Lygon Arms for an early dinner as their bar looked very cosy with a (fake gas) log fire burning. We were served promptly when we first arrived but with our drinks finished after 30 mins we had trouble attracting the attention of the 3 staff present as they were glued to a celebrity TV programme on their large screen at the other end of the bar. A request for more drinks and my apology for dragging them away from their entertainment only soured the atmosphere. We finished our drinks and left, the staff members not even bothering to turn their eyes from the TV to say goodbye.

The management should be aware that business is hard to find at the moment. As their only customers for that time of day, we would have liked better attention but the staff seemed only interested in their own entertainment to pass what must have been a boring evening for them. The experience put us off and we won't be going back. Better staff training urgently needed at the Lygon Arms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed for two nights on a business trip and it was thoroughly enjoyable. As I was on a course at the local Campden Research Centre, I was able to stay at a discounted rate. I stayed in Barn D, which is a deluxe courtyard room. The room was lovely, spacious, clean, comfortable and had a lovely jacuzzi bath! Breakfast was excellent with a large choice and service was faultless throughout the stay, even though there was only one or two staff visible at any one time. There is a bar which serves food, but we ate out elsewhere in the evening, as we had other arrangements already, so cannot comment. I would definitely return with my partner for a weekend away. The area of Chipping Campden is also beautiful and I would love to return to see more.

Room Tip: I would recommend the deluxe courtyard rooms. Both myself and a colleague stayed in these and we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ai1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Thjis is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel in the last 2 months.
Quaint and charming, with modern bathrooms, wifi, video and TV.
Huge and comfortable beds with quality sheets.Robes, bottled water, plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, biscuits and a few pieces of fruit all provided
The service is first class and the staff are very pleasant, friendly and considerate.
Large menu choice, quality food beautifully presented. Only 'complaint' the portions are LARGE !
Wood fire in the bar, wonderful on a cold night
Breakfast doesnt disappoint either, lots of choice and freshly cooked.
Mobile phone service is a bit hit and miss - I see that as a plus and its certainly not uncommon in the area.
Chipping Campden is less touristy than most Cotswold Villages, very pretty. Some other good restaurants similar prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, ( I like to be away from the main hotel). and say if you want a bath - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have been to this lovely hotel for bar food several times and have never been disappointed.
The service is friendly and efficient.
The menu is extensive with something for everyone's taste.
Our favourite at the moment is the Steak, Ale and Stilton Pie with chips and peas, it's huge and very welcoming at this time of year.
We live locally so have never stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

A walking group of 14 ate at the Lygon Arms on the 20th October. Our party was directed to a separate dining area upstairs. It was a nice setting with an open beam roof and plenty of character. The wine we chose was good and the food we had was also good. My partner and I shared a starter of breaded mushrooms which were very tasty. I had a steak and ale pie to follow. It was a shame they ripped off the pasty top, put it at an angle in a separate dish and then poured out the meat source into the dish partially drowning the pastry, thus helping it to go soggy rather quickly. Having said that it tasted good. The cut chips were crispy on the outside, delicious.
This was all tempered by the rather abrupt service. There was barely a smile from any of the three waitresses. They all seemed utterly miserable and as though they hated their jobs. It gives the impression that management may not be all that good to their staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

On the plus side: Lygon Arms is centrally located in the popular Cotswolds village of Chipping Campden; it is reasonably priced; full breakfast is included with a great selection of baked goods, cereal, fresh fruit and, of course, made to order hot dish; breakfast service along with a touring advise are graciously provided by Donna; bathroom is modern, newly remodeled with those wonderful towel warmers; there is a nice size flat screen TV, free water and a few pieces of fruit are provided in a small fridge.

On the minus side: there is no common area, i.e., lobby to hang out at other then the pub, which serves pretty mediocre food (husband's hamburger was made of some unidentifiable material); room furnishings and window shades have seen much-much better days and are in need of cleaning at the least; seat cushions in the breakfast room are stained and ripped; while Lygon Arms promises WiFi in guest rooms, 90% of the time the signal in our room was too weak. We had to step outside or go to the pub to have an Internet access.

The place grows on you and there is definitely nothing bad about it. However, there is a number of other places to stay in Chipping Campden which, at least, from the first glance appeared better maintained. I would probably give those a try next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eight Bells Inn
Eight Bells Inn
#7 of 28 in Chipping Campden
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Arms Hotel

Property: Lygon Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lygon Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Lygon Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing