We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Central Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thornton

...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
...'a roaring fire and all the charm and coziness you'd expect from a traditional Cotswold cottage'.
Histroic Market Place
Broadway Tower nearby
Bennetts Fine Wines
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Twinslide...
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cosy, well appointed and ideally located for Cotswolds country walking and exploring the lovely town. You will not go hungry in Chipping Campden and we would recommend Michaels Mediterranean. You should also visit Morton in the Marsh.
The apartment is very old but has been done out in a modern country style. Could not fault it however wifi not working and no logs for the fire which was a shame but didn't take away from our stay. Very clean and had everything we needed - no noise from the pub next door either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind and helpful comments which are much appreciated. Many apologies again for the lack of Wi-Fi which is unfortunately out of our hands due to an external fault but we are chasing BT daily to get it sorted as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thornton again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway67...
1 review
“Great place and location”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location close to local shops, spacious rooms in a cosy setting. Unfortunately the wifi was down which couldn't be helped but when you are in the Cotswolds that's the least of your worries!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
We are sorry the Internet was down. There was a fault on the line outside our property which I am please to say has now been fixed.
best wishes
Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojoxxx20...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location ..lovely place for a couple ..great communication. Would happily book again if in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torim942
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, cozy retreat!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from our 12 day England vacation, with two of those nights spent at Thornton in Chipping Campden. What a treat! The cottage had so much character, but with nice modern amenities. We had just spent a week in London, so we appreciated the privacy, the washing machine, and the kitchen to make our own meal one night. We ate at Eight Bells the first night and it was delicious! We had no issues with road noise and my husband is a very light sleeper. The bathroom was great with a wonderful shower, heated floors, and heated towel rack. It was a little difficult to find a plug to dry my hair in front of a mirror (but I had that problem at every place we stayed in England. I guess there may be some kind of issue with putting plugs in the bathrooms there?) We also did find the bed a little hard for our liking, but nothing we couldn't live with.

Thanks again for sharing this beautiful place with us! We hope to return one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. Delighted that you enjoyed Thornton and Chipping Campden. We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Best wishes

Jayne
Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethharve...
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming & quaint, Chipping Camden home”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely corner home is comfortable & has all you need to relax as you tour the Chipping Camden area. Lovely linens, comfortable beds, quiet location, great kitchen facilties, as well as washer-dryer. We will visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you Beth. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again one day. Whitehorse Estates Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jord7
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My brother and his partner stayed here last year and recommended it to my husband and myself. We absolutely loved staying here. Nice and cozy. Perfect location ... right on the corner with the main street. Walked to many pubs, etc. for dinner (Eight Bells was excellent, also liked Huxley's). Very close to Campden Coffee House which had excellent coffee and lemon/honey/ginger tea. Porridge was excellent there as well. Back to the flat .... lovely upgrades throughout, heated floors and a lovely small wood burning stove. A++++

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAH B
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location.”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just arrived back home after our 4th stay at the beautiful ground floor apartment known as "Thornton" in Chipping Campden. Had an amazing time. We had recently got married and stayed at the apartment as part of honeymoon. On arrival we received a gift from the Landlords, a bottle of prosecco. I thought that was a lovely touch towards our honeymoon and a nice surprise. The owners make the accommodation feel relaxing, and their attention to detail is spot on, otherwise we wouldn't keep returning as we do. 5th time next year!! . I would highly recommend staying at the apartment, it's central for visiting the surrounding villages and there is ample on street free parking, and it's right next door to the Red Lion Pub which serves very good food. I would recommend the Chilli con carne, and a nice glass of red! Then back to the apartment right next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home from home.
Liked least: I think the mattress might need replacing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you Sarah, it was our pleasure as always to host you both and delighted that you came back to Thornton as part of your honeymoon - it is a special place. We look forward to seeing you again in 2017!

Whitehorse Estates Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing