We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful farmhouse in a great location”
Review of Norton Grounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Norton Grounds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Carol was not available the day we arrived but she had asked her brother-in-law to be available to welcome us. He looked after us really well. We were given a cup of tea and a slice of cake and the children were looked after too! We stayed in the Rose Room which was a good size. It was clean and comfortable. As soon as we were awake there was a cup of tea waiting outside our room - we had 'bed tea' - a first for us! Breakfast was a huge affair....there was a selection of fruit and cereals, warm croissants and toast. Then we were asked to create our own english breakfast and this was made for us whilst we were eating our cereals and croissants, so it was lovely and hot. Although Norton Grounds Farm is a working farm, we heard no farm noises and as the house was away from the road we felt we were in a tranquil and beautiful location. I would recommend Norton Grounds Farm B & B to anyone wanting to visit the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RupaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2008

NORTON GROUNDS FARM is idyllic - beautiful views, with large airy rooms, excellent hostest (Carol) and fresh, clean air.
If you are looking for mod , fashionable furniture this is not your establishment, but if you are looking for warm hospitality, an excellent location, lots of room (you can use the garden, living room, etc) and enjoy meeting other travellers over a large common table for a scrumptions breakfast, this place is for you.
It's also fun to see the horses graze and romp and occasionally come over to you for a bit of petting.
We stayed for five loely nights.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at Norton Grounds Farm one night in August 2007 during a very short Cotswolds visit on our way to Wales. We both wish we could have stayed here at least several days and will definitely stay here again if we're fortunate enough to return to the area.

Carol is a great and friendly host. This beautiful place is like something from a Jane Austen novel. We had the Rose Room which was spacious and comfy. Very quiet and peaceful since it's out in the country (though many towns are nearby). The bed was extremely comfortable and it was probably the best night's sleep we had during our 2.5 weeks in Ireland/England/Wales. The breakfast was delicious. Spent half the following day in nearby Chipping Campden, great town. VERY highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

Norton Grounds is a lovely house in the Cotswolds just near Chipping Campden which is a beautiful village.

Our stay here was wonderful - we had a lovely big room with a view of the garden. Breakfast was great and I really liked the communal dining, all around one big breakfast table. Also, just before breakfast there was a knock on our door with a pot of tea which was a welcome wake up call!

The hosts were lovely and I would highly recommend this for a lovely, relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChocOrangeCityMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Norton grounds is a working farm and Carol does the Bed & Breakfast. We were visiting nearby Hidcote Gardens so looked for somewhere to stay and discovered Norton Grounds Farm from their website. We had the Master Bedroom which was beautifully furnished with a really comfortable and large double bed. The view was over the nearby farm fields and the rose garden. Carol was a perfect host and suggested some places for the evening dinner. We chose the nearby village of Mickleton and the Kings Arms. Excellent choice. We could have gone the other way to Chipping Campden and if we had stayed longer would do that also. The breakfast was served in the beautiful stone flagged hall and was delicious. This would make an excellent place to stay for exploring the northern Costwolds and Stratford or Warwick or Worcester. In fact the Vale of Evesham is next door. We aim to stay again when visiting this area as it was so restful.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

We stayed only one night at the Norton Grounds farm, and we were really sorry we had to go the next morning!
It’s a wonderful old farm and the proprietors David and Carol are very warm and welcoming people.
We were welcomed with tea and homemade biscuits, after being picked-up by David: we managed to get lost and since we were on foot he offered to come and get us. If you want, you can also have home made scones with your tea, but we had actually already taken ours at a garden we visited.
We were a party of three and we had the master room and the green room, both spacious and very cosy rooms. We also had a quick peek in the rose room and that one was also roomy and very romantic. The bathrooms were marvellous too: again, very spacious and they had the same romantic touch the rooms had.
We dined at the Kings Arms in Mickleton(Very nice). Normally Carol and David will arrange for a taxi to bring you, but Carol was ever so kind; she actually drove us there herself!
Breakfast was superb! It was truly one of the most delicious breakfasts we’d ever had!
Next time I’m in the Cotswolds I’ll certainly return and for much longer!

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Wannabeworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank YasuhiroKawashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
3.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,046 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,066 reviews
2.3 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
743 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Grounds

Address: Aston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £128 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Norton Grounds 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton grounds offers 2 beautiful barn conversions self - catering ,Groves barn sleeps 8+ and Boddingtons sleeps 2. Both have been sympathetically renovated, with exposed beams and cotswold stone retaining the original character. B&B is in the main 18th Century listed farmhouse and is perfect if you are looking for a bit of peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Norton Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Grounds Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing