We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & clean rooms, great location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonecroft Bed and Breakfast
Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice & clean rooms, great location!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

What a nice place to stay, right in the centre of town and yet very quiet. The rooms were very cosy and spotless, the beds comfortable. We had 2 bedrooms with a bathroom in the middle for the 3 of us. The owners are a very friendly couple. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna1963Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here from July 9-12, 2011. I was a little unsure about staying in a true B&B where you are in the owner’s home, but it couldn’t have been better. The location is great. It is about ¾ of a block from the main street of Chipping Campden. Far enough away to be quiet – not that there is much noise in the town, but I did notice a few gratuitously rowdy noisemakers on the main street next to a hotel, which no doubt displeased the hotel. Our B&B was removed from all that because it is in a neighborhood.

The garden is a picture postcard of the perfect English garden, and the property has a stream running through it with an established garden along the banks. You can hear the running stream from your room, which was a welcome change from the noise of the cities we visited on our month long trip to Europe. We stayed in the twin room which was spacious, and although it shared a bathroom with another room the proprietors, Roger and Lesley, never rent both rooms out unless it is to the same group so we had the space to ourselves. The third room is completely removed. The house has a separate entry for the guests. Roger and Lesley are as conversational (or not) as the guests wish and they have grown to have a good instinct for who wants to be chatty. Roger was particularly helpful to me with some driving trauma. The beds were very comfortable, probably the most comfortable of our trip. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure. There was a hairdryer as promised.

The breakfast was a good, solid, well prepared English breakfast with French-pressed coffee. Roger and Lesley are very attentive to their guests’ needs and food requests. The guest quarters are immaculately maintained. We were there to just sight see in the Cotswolds but other guests were starting their hike of the Cotswolds Way, the 100 mile hike to Bath. The town is the start of the hike, and this B&B is a fine place to spend your first night or two before the hike. They are accustomed to guests who have their baggage delivered by the various services who shuttle baggage for the hikers. Payment is by cash only (which is becoming the norm). I would definitely stay in this B&B if I were to return to Chipping Campden, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_in_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Two rooms, both upstairs in the hosts home. It was clearly recently finished and is lovely. They give you a key to the back door and the stairs are right there. The breakfast was good and when approached, the hosts were helpful with map and information.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

After reviewing and researching B&b's in the Cotswolds I was really happy with my choice. Great location, gracious hosts and yummy breakfast. Our room was lovely and cosy and the pub/restaurant recommendations were spot on. We stayed two nights and could have happily stayed longer.

I'm sure you will be delighted.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiedreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A short walk to many beautiful towns.

Roger & Lesley prepared a huge breakfast that gave us the energy to walk from town to town and then walk to a different pub each evening.

We stayed five nights and did not run out of things to do.

Email communication prior to our arrival was very reassuring - we knew we would have a place to stay. Also Roger suggested some alterations to our plans in the email which made it easier to change.

We had other guests at each breakfast meal and that was enjoyable but it would have been nice to have room for Roger and Lesley to sit and chat also.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Roger and Leslie could not have been nicer or more helpful. Their home is lovely as are the English gardens. They are located within walking distance of the town as well as the beautiful sheep filled pastures. The full English breakfast was delicious as was the option of porage (English oatmeal). We rate it a 4*.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankee070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This place is more akin to sleeping in a distant cousin's home. It does not feel like a B&B at all, which is a good thing. It's super clean and very close to the centre of town. The room we had was cramped and not at all built for anyone over six feet tall. The breakfast was average. The hosts were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuilArTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chipping Campden hotels
0.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#10 of 28 in Chipping Campden
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eight Bells Inn
Eight Bells Inn
#8 of 28 in Chipping Campden
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#2 of 28 in Chipping Campden
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonecroft Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stonecroft George Lane, Chipping Campden GL55 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonecroft Bed & Breakfast is just a two minute walk from the historic high street of Chipping Campden and therefore within easy reach of the many pubs, restaurants and shops. The gardens boast a large patio and seating area with a delightful stream running through. Rated A.A. 3 stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Bed And Breakfast Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing