We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Studio

The Old Studio showing a glimpse of the sunny dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Studio showing a glimpse of the sunny dining area
Dining table Chairs in the living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Old Studio showing a glimpse of the sunny dining area
Dining table
Chairs in the living area
Living area
The old pine sideboard hides a 40' flatscreen freeview TV and dvd, book and board game library
Kitchen dining area
Fresh coffee & locally baked croissants in your welcome hamper
Drawers and vases
Shelf details
Lemons and limes
Bath and shower rooms
Kingsize bedroom
Bedroom chair
Kingsize bed
East Banqueting House and St. James Church, Chipping Campden.
Bathroom detail
Landing
Twin bedroom
Twin room
Flowers
Sunny landing area between the two bedrooms
House front
The Cotswold Way starts in Chipping Campden and follows the Cotswold escarpment all the way to Bath
Chipping Campden High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
doreenla
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Charming and wonderful location”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a great stay at the Old Studio. Helen and Michael were very helpful prior to our arrival and we were greeted with food for breakfast which was so convenient since we didn't know the area yet. We were traveling with our two teenage daughters and it was nice for them to have a room to themselves. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is strictly personal in that both the upstairs rooms and the upstairs bath have low ceilings and beams that come down which makes walking around difficult. My husband is 6'1 and I am 5'10 so we were constantly hunched over while in the bedroom. My daughter who is only 5'5 had no trouble navigating the rooms. Also note that there is no dryer in the Old Studio. A load of wash takes aprx. 3 hours but no dryer. Fortunately, Helen was gracious to allow me to complete my wash in her personal washer and dryer so it all got done. The cottage is a perfect location for seeing all the small towns in the Cotswolds and we walked to dinner every night. We had a wonderful 5 days and thank Helen and Michael for their hospitality!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Hi Doreen
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. I wanted to make a few more remarks about the low ceilings so that other travellers can be informed. The Cotswold vernacular architecture is that bedrooms are commonly built into roof spaces with dormer windows. This does mean that there are low beams. As Doreen correctly pointed out - if you are taller than 5'5 then there are beams that you need to avoid, but this is a normal part of living in the Cotswolds. They must have been shorter in those days! I'm not sure why the washer took 3 hours - there are quite a few choices of wash programmes and I'm sure there are shorter ones. We are always happy to let people use our dryer. It's located in an outhouse so our guests don't need to worry about intruding. We hope you had a safe trip home Doreen. Best wishes Helen & Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innit76
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place, perfect for our mini Cotswolds trip”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

If you need somewhere to chill and have as a starting point to visit the rest of the Cotswolds then this is the place. Helen left us a cool welcome pack of essentials and made herself available for anything we may need. The Old Studio was spacious, clean and very cosy too, with great amenities and proximity to The high Street where we don't lovely pubs, restaurants and other unique shops.

Would definitely recommend. We travelled with our 2 year old who loved it as well.

Many thanks Helen!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickymoko
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful and well equipped cottage, handily placed for a short walk to the village.Welcome pack was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colbabe
harleston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't have found a better cottage for Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Our first Christmas holiday away from home for many years - and our choice was inspired. Chipping Campden is simply a glorious location and the Old Studio was really home from home.

The owners, Helen and Michael, have provided just about everything which short stay visitors would possibly ever need. The cottage is spotless and beautifully presented, allowing us to produce a full Christmas dinner without any problem.

Even our two dogs settled in comfortably and were decidedly miffed at being being bundled off back home in the car. Would recommend the Old Studio to anybody seeking top class accommodation in a beautiful Cotswold town. Will certainly come back as soon as possible.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly T
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy autumn stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Old Studio is very well equipped, clean, tidy and quiet. Great shower, nice towels and bedding. Everything was cosy and comfortable. A 10 min walk to lovely chipping campden with lots of pretty shops, pubs and eateries. A lovely relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely English cottage right in the middle of a beautiful neighborhood.”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in this pretty cottage for three nights at the end of our two week holiday in England. The owners provided croissants, jam, milk, coffee and juice for our first breakfast. We even had a little bouquet of roses for the table and ripe apples to pick right off the trees! The cottage contains lots of books about the area to help you plan hikes and excursions. The town of Chipping Campden is charming and easily reached by walking from the neighborhood. Restaurants and a small food shop made meal planning easy. Excursions by car included Stratford upon Avon and Blenheim Palace. We appreciated the parking space directly in front of the cottage, and parking on the street was available as well. We always felt that the owners wanted us to enjoy our stay and were there to help us in any way!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our party of 4 stayed at the Old Studio in August for several days. It was our first time in the area and we were not at all certain where to stay, but after our research, this house appeared to fit our needs. We were NOT disappointed - it was perfect! We wanted privacy and quiet, but to be close to stores, restaurants, etc. This adorable, well-equipped cottage was within a short walk to charming downtown Chipping Campden (there's a shortcut, too) in a very quiet residential neighborhood. The walk into town passes by lovely homes, gardens and thatched roofed gems. Nice views from the upper windows, pleasant outdoor seating, comfy rooms and beautiful decor. Chipping Campden was a perfect location for sight-seeing in the area (Bourton on the Water, Stratford upon Avon, Stow on the Wold, Broadway to name a few), and the town itself can keep you busy for days if you like to explore. The owners were responsive, amicable, welcoming and not intrusive. Lots of books with walking trails, maps, tourism info available for guests. The price for the value was perfect. Booking through FlipKey was a breeze. You will not be disappointed.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing