We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of The Chance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chance
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Chance is super cute and feels so much like home. I love that it is such an easy walk to downtown. It is also a great location to explore all the Cotswold area from! Sally made us feel at home and had some great suggestions on things to do and places to eat. Breakfast was also fantastic each morning. I would difinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
137
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Chance was by far one of the best accomodation experiences of our holiday, this July 2013. We chose the Hidcote room for the extra privacy (it's detached from the house). The room was large and modern as it's just been built (especially the large bathroom) but it still had that traditional B&B charm. Sally, the host, was so lovely and made us feel extremely welcome in her home. Breakfast was delicious, with full cooked or continental options. Extra little touches like local muffins/biscuits in the room made it all the more lovely.
Chipping Campden is centrally located and the perfect location to explore the Cotswolds. The town itself is very cute, with a number of places to eat. We tried 3 different pubs and enjoyed all of them, we'd recommend the Eight Bells in particular! Just down the road from the Chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Hidcote room at The Chance. The room was lovely and had a great shower. Sally was an awesome host. She is very warm, made us feel very comfortable, and provided information about the area. She also made great breakfasts. The B&B is a 5 minute walk to the charming little town of Chipping Campden. I would highly recommend The Chance for a wonderful stay in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Hidcote room and loved every minute. Nice, private entry, lots of info about the area, tea and biscuits in the room. What really makes the Chance special is Sally, the innkeeper. She is so friendly and ready to help with any and all your plans. She arranged transportation for us back to the train station , as well as a day outing on spur of the moment, and dinner reservations as well. She is the best host we have eer experienced in all our travels. The accommodations are lovely as well. You won't be disappointed, I promise.

Room Tip: Hidcote suite gives you plenty of privacy and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Spent a wonderful two nights at the Chance with wife, brother, and sister-in-law. Great location, walking distance to very good restaurants and live music. Sally was a gracious hostess who prepared excellent breakfasts both mornings, and who anticipates guests' every need in their rooms. Couldn't think of anything more we could have wanted in our room. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyCityGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First of all, Sally is an amazing hostess. She's kind and helpful, and makes the most delicious breakfast!

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late July. We stayed in the Hidcote room (an upgrade since Sally had some family staying over) and everything from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was perfect. The house is beautiful, and our room was the most comfortable of all of the rooms we had in our 15 day trip. It was large (great king bed), airy, quiet, super clean, and the view is lovely. You can tell Sally and her husband have paid attention to every little detail in the design and decor of their house.

I can't recommend it enoguh, just stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdperezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

"The Chance" offers the Cotswold B&B experience everyone hopes for. Our upstairs room was large with an exceptionally comfy bed, a nice view, and a well-appointed bathroom. Sally provides a delicious breakfast with locally-grown ingredients, but in addition, she goes out of her way to make you feel like family. Our in-room refrigerator was stocked with cold water (very welcome during the heat wave when we visited) and a large electric fan kept the room temperature very comfortable. Also, Sally knows the area very well and can direct you to restaurants and other local businesses. The Chance is exceptionally clean and features some lovely local art and crafts, all chosen by Sally. We couldn't have asked for a better B&B experience.

Room Tip: The Hidcote Room was really comfortable and in a separate building on an upstairs floor (no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.4 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
2.5 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,214 reviews
9.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chance

Property: The Chance
Address: 1 Aston Road, Chipping Campden GL55 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Chance" is a family home offering traditional Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the beautiful town of Chipping Campden. Built in 1921 of Cotswold stone quarried from the surrounding hills and situated less than a 10 minute walk from the centre of one of the most beautiful and interesting high streets in the North Cotswolds. Guests are guaranteed off road parking, free wi-fi and comfortable guest accommodation, both with private ensuite facilities. We offer 2 spacious guest bedrooms, both with super king size (US King)or Twin Beds on request. Breakfasts are traditionally English with locally sourced ingredients cooked to order. Any specific diet requirements catered for with prior knowledge. Laundry facilities are available & guests are welcome to borrow local road & footpath maps. Help is also available with cycle hire arranging Car Hire or Cotswold Tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chance Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing