We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“why did we leave it so long?”

Wing's Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #362 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$0 - US$55
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
cheshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“why did we leave it so long?”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

been years since we ate here and I have no idea why,despite arriving late(I got the time wrong)we were treated with the utmost courtesy and still given a table on a very busy Saturday evening.
The food was faultless and the atmosphere very relaxing,
Wings is tucked away and if you don't know about it you may even miss it,but don't,its the best place for Chinese food in Manchester.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poshthings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    60
    29
    9
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

You simply will not beat this Chinese restaurant for food quality and service
Upon arrival you are always made to feel special and this will continue during your dining experience. The service is impeccable.
The food is as good as the service and I have never been disappointed with any dish
Cannot rate this place high enough.
The restaurant cliental speaks volumes with signed plates from many worldwide famous people passing their praise for this place.
One criticism, poor wifi connection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and the best Chinese”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The food was well prepared and it seemed obvious that a great deal of care had been taken. We had chinese green tea and a small banquet for our party of four which I can only say was fabulous. We enjoyed tasty lemon chicken, beef chow mein, prawn crackers and seaweed, dim sum and mixed rice.
Everything was kept hot on the table by small tea lights under a grid and that was sufficient for us to thoroughly enjoy our meal at a pleasant temperature.
We look forward to coming back again soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egypt1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food I have ever tasted!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Although we didn't spot any celebrities Wings makes sure you know who has visited by displaying signed celebrity plates. While the food is a little overpriced the service is excellent, speedy and courteous. The food is out of this world. The fillet steak rolls in particular were amazing! We will be visiting again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmajaneMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
511 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Cantonese food cooked to perfection. Service superb”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you like Cantonese food and are visiting (or live/work) in Manchester, then Wing’s must be on your list of eateries. Tucked away in central Manchester in Lincoln Square, seconds from the main Albert Square and Town Hall, the eponymously named Wing’s has been in the Michelin guide for the last 8 years. Very unassuming indeed from the outside, it is anything but inside and is a very nice venue, having open tables on the restaurant floor as well as quiet booths for more privacy/intimacy/romance. The food is great, though the menu isn't quite as adventurous as some of the others Chinese restaurants in town (and the food is pitched to the Western palate), all is cooked to perfection. Service was superb, and for me, along with the food, is what lifts this place to another level. OK, the Chinese mushroom and bamboo fungus soup would have benefited from a little more mushroom and a subjective and honest opinion says that I prefer the rice at Yang Sing, but apart from that, all was simply splendid. An especially good venue for couples, small groups, and business colleagues/collaborators etc. during lunchtime, with a more sporty, celebrity crowd during the evenings. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wing's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Wing's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing