We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I have stayed in Abode Hotels before but first time in Manchester. Booked here because fan of Michael Caines. However, dissapointed - got a room facing the main road - Piccadilly and boys its noisy. However, fair play to the duty manager, he sorted me out and swopped to a nice room. Went for dinner and restaurant staff all seem new and not much focus on detail. Food sounds better on menu than actually looks on the plate. Not very warm, Asked if wanted desert, said yes and then 15 mins later a menu arrives. Other positives, free WIFI, skysports on the TV, great but noisy location. Love the brand but attention to detail from some staff seem to let it down. Will I return, Yes, to cantebury and chelsea but maybe not to Manchester. Mint gets my vote.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmac17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    502
    225
    80
    42
See reviews for
94
802
83
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Everything from our welcome to checking out was A 1. The staff were polite and friendly. The suite was fab. The food and wine were incomparable. It was so good we have booked to go again next week. The experience was absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Have just returned from another buissness trip in Manchester and stayed for four nights at abode once again.staff once again helpful and friendly reception staff outstanding room spotless great stay as always will be returning as usual in september

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Second time i have stayed in the hotel, the first time was so great i just had to come back with my friends. We stayed for 1 night as we were going out in Manchester, we dinned in the Cafe bar and grill which was fabulous i had the rib eye steak that was cooked to perfection, there was 7 of us staying in the hotel and each of our rooms were very clean and well looked after.
Breakfast was fantastic again service was such a high standard we did not wait for anything.
Love the place deffernatly be back soon thank you abode Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Went to the Abode for my 40th with 9 friends, £100 each for 3 suites, cocktail making class, meal, private cinema and breakfast. Great value for what was included and staff were so friendly, made my birthday so special. Cinema screen didn't work and there was terrible damp in the suite for 4 on the 5th floor. They seemed to know about this and did gave us money off our final bill, if they put these things right it would be perfect! Cocktail class included 2 cocktails (3 for me!) and the meal was very tasty even though portions were small, they even put us in our own private room which we decorated. Breakfast was gorgeous, eggs benedict was what I had as hot food was ordered from a menu. A great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Having arrive late in Manchester we found the hotel (fairly easily) and parked our car in the NCP car park across the road. Although the car park has a 20% discounted rate for residents of the hotel, the spaces were quite small, so not ideal for travellers with heavy cases...... but this is a minor point. Also as the hotel is quite central in Manchester there was a few "characters" lurking on the street outside.

The check-in for the hotel was swift, polite and efficient and we were pleasantly suprised by the absolutely huge and comfy bed!

The good service continued throughout our three night stay.

The architecture of the building was interesting and its location enabled us both easy access to the velodrome (approximately 2 miles away), and a very short walk to the heart of Manchester's "chinatown" and shopping centre.

The breakfast was fresh appetising and contained a wide selection of fruits, pastries and cooked options.

Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easylifeInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This hotel offers a great location, really close to Piccadilly train station and near central tram stops. The staff were really friendly and helpful across the board, reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant. Very welcoming and polite.

We booked the "Happy People" deal which included bed, breakfast and 2 course evening meal. It was good but we have stayed before on a similar deal but it was £30 cheaper then and included a bottle of wine. The meal choice was limited and small so we still ended up with a hefty bill after the evening meal despite it being "included". Maybe this is symptomatic of the price increases generally seen across the hotel sector. The breakfast was nice, pretty small spread but nice freshly cooked produce.

The room also was not as good as last time. Generally a little tired looking. There was chocolate in the "Tuck Box" that was all mauled at the edges with the foil corners peeled off, not at all appealing, looked like someone had already tried it! Definitely should be proper sealed goods I think. The bathroom was very roomy which was nice and the bed was big and comfortable with ample pillows.

After last time we stayed here we were very eager to go back. After this time I would say we may re-visit but it wouldn't be a definite now. I will probably try the mint hotel or Malmaison next time as they are all in close proximity. The evening meal that was the decider wouldn't lure me again.

A satisfactory night but didn't have the same wow factor as our last visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannysquaresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Property: ABode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing