We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ABode Manchester
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,928)
Filter reviews
1,929 results
Traveller rating
922
579
273
97
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
579
273
97
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesirable roommichael cainescafe barjohnny cashparquet flooringoriginal featurespiccadilly stationdvd playerjunior suitehuge bedan upgradefifth floorbasic roomlovely hotelnorthern quarterreception stafffull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,799 - 1,804 of 1,929 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

stayed at this hotel when we had a night out at a cocert the hotel was brilliant the staff great and the food divine

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparrow321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Excellent centre for exploring Manchester City Centre; a 5 minute walk from Picadilly railway station; Has a good bar and an excellent restaurant but there are also plenty of hosteleries near by.
Visit the Manchester Art Gallery - and the Museum of Science and Industry; and Harvey Nicols top floor bar and restaurant. Shops near Arndale are great' also try to Macnhester Stock Exchange Theatre - forget the Trafford Centre ...

Room Tip: Would avoid an 'inside' room;
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieKerslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Big hotell room, and a huge bathroom. Very nice.
About 10 min to the center. Very friendly and helpful staff.

The restaurant in the basement is not as impressive as hoped for, and the grill a bit boring. But stay at the hotel, and go into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dordi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I booked this hotel as a joint birthday trip for my wife and I. We rarely stay in hotels at this price point, so we were expecting something special. We upgraded to an "Enviable" room.

First impressions were good, with the hotel looking very impressive from the outside. This extends to the inside where many of the period architectural features are preserved and highlighted. Checking in was very quick and easy, with very efficient, personal service from cheerful staff.

The room was a bit of an anti-climax to be honest. "Sparse" is probably the right word. It seems that in an attempt to preserve the architectural feel of the place, the furniture has been kept very minimalistic and this made the room feel cold, unwelcoming and certainly not as plush as the price tag would indicate. The fixtures and fittings were all of a decent quality and the bed and linen was excellent.

I suppose that this is all down to personal taste but I felt let down when I compared it to similarly priced experiences at smaller boutique hotels and it certainly didn't feel like value for money. To this end we passed on the hotel catering for dinner and breakfast and went elsewhere. Our room at the back of the hotel was also a little bit noisy, overlooking a nightclub venue.

I don't think that we'll be going back, but if this style is your bag, give it a go.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispeeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Character hotel close to Picadilly Station and free city centre buses, near to tram stops.
We stayed for 3 nights midweek, room was clean with comfortable bed, but our room was facing busy street, a bit noisy until about midnight but we slept well. Breakfast was good, with the cooked choices made to order, good selection. Service was excellent. First night we ate in the fine dining restaurant choosing to eat for £25 - 3 course meal, staff were very attentive and atmosphere and decor was good, however the food was a let down, we chose Mackerel Rilette to start which was pretty tasteless and watery and small portion, for the main course my husband chose the Pressed Belly Pork with vegetable choice, meat was 2 very small portions and a bit chewy (about one and a half inch square in size) with small portion of tiny cubed potato and veg (my 6 yr old grandson was have been hungry after such a small portion !) I had Trout fillet on bed of peas with a few bits of new potato in separate dish with not much taste, desert was ok, husband paid extra for choice of 3 cheeses and biscuits, also a very small portion, all in all we expected much better quality food for a fine dining restaurant. On the second night we ate in the Cafe Grill and the meal was much better with decent portion sizes and far more taste, service was also excellent, would definately only eat in Grill again.

Room Tip: close to city centre
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshLady010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews