We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Don't be put off by the bad comments.
We love this hotel!
Great location, great staff, great building, great rooms.
Their hair and body wash shampoo and soap smells lovely!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelodelpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    497
    223
    80
    42
See reviews for
93
789
82
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SWEngland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We chose Abode because we have stayed at most of the others in this chain and have never been disappointed. I loved the Victorian architecture of this renovated and redeveloped cotton mill/warehouse, the tiles , doors and staircases are magnificent and for access to Piccadilly it is incomparable. The room was at the front on the second floor and although clean and well presented with a comfortable bed the room was small and we did not sleep for the three nights of our stay. The windows were old and did not close properly and so the noise from the 24 hour traffic and the adjoining pubs and clubs was kept us awake. The revellers and drunks in the street continued shouting until the very early hours.
Parking was also incredibly expensive even by town centre standards , I pay less in London.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front and the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyStoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I was looking forward to this stay at the ABode. From my booking I expected a boutique design hotel, but it was far from it. The building looks great from the outside, the rooms are large, but that is about it. The interior is minimalistic and reminds you of your odd school trips. There were cigarette burn marks on the bath room floor the furniture were past their good days.
The rooms were not soundproof at all and I was hardly able to close an eye. The walls are so thin, that you can even hear a needle drop to the floor.
The next day I approached the receptionist with my complaint and she just apolized and told me that it was the neighbours fault - maybe because they were not tiptoeing around. She did not know as well, the best way to drive of to the airport. Maybe I was the first one to stay at the hotel, who left for the airport.
It certainly was my first and last stay at the ABode.

Room Tip: Not to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tirol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterGM, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear guest,

Whilst very disappointed to read of your experience of ABode, I am however most appreciative of you taking the time to highlight such issues.
I can assure you that your comments are noted and will be acted upon where possible.

kind regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed for four nlghts in angel suite once again excellent staff make bussiness trip enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

In Manchester on business and travelling alone, location, friendly staff and a nice room are all important and this hotels offers all of those things. A beautiful old building the rooms are quite unique but large and well equipped. My only negative would be the room was very warm and you can't open a window. There is air-con but didn't really need that. I ate alone in the dining room/bar and grill and requested a booth at the side so as not to feel too obvious which was great. Food good and speedy service too. Breakfast was a little disappointing but OK. All in all I would stay again as I like the location (very close to Manchester main railway station) and they do have very good deals from time to time. Nice welcome too at reception.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is my first visit to the Abode in Manchester and I have to say I was very impressed.

My room was very large and of the urban loft style, and the bed! It was massive and oh so comfortable.

Very impressed with breakfast; not the usual 'help yourself hot buffet' but freshly cooked to order. The eggs benedict were fabulous.

All staff very friendly and helpful.

I would have liked to have been able to open my window a crack but other than this, it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room where windows can be opened if you enjoy fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Brilliant location, friendly helpful staff and lovely rooms.

Stayed here to celebrate our 1st anniversary, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhans0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Property: ABode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing