We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abode Manchester
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

The most amazing, quirky hotel. we stayed in one of the suites on the top floor and it was fabulous. As they say 'Fabulous on Fifth'. Well worth the price.
We also booked a table at the resturant 'Michael Caines'. We had the taster menu with matched wines. What an experience! The food was excellent and the whole experience perfect. They even wrote 'happy birthday' in chocolate sauce on the plate my sweet came on. Wonderful touch.
I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Fabulous on fifth is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy1965--0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    483
    220
    77
    41
See reviews for
92
768
80
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Excellent value night's stay, have just returned to Spain. From the meet and greet of the lovely Heather, to the wonderful upgrade room, and super meal in the Bar and Grill, all 100%.
The room was very large, wonderful bed so wide it had 6 pillows! Clean to a fault, great bathroom, toiletries, coffee tray etc
Excellent and competent Maitre d'. Had chicken livers with bacon on a wonderful crouton, asked for these more well done, than the modern way of rare, and these were cooked to perfection. Had these as a fav starter at the Sharrow Bay (when I had money and visited quite often), these were even more delicious. Had duck confit, served with mash and spinach, followed by a scrumptious chocolate fondant with pistachio icecream. Fantastic Oz Shiraz but I thought a bit pricey at 22 pounds per bottle.
Husband had to stay home and pet sit, so my cousin's son joined me for dinner and he equally enjoyed everything too.
Service was friendly but discrete so there is little to fault.
Only grumble, sack the marketing idiot who named the rooms, quote, 'inspirational' etc....god I hate pretentiousness. I hope also the 12% service genuinely gets to the staff members, I am a
great believer that all tips should be discretionary.
I thoroughly recommend this friendly, efficient, close to amenities and just a 100 yards from Piccadilly Gardens and British Rail stations.
Give Heather a bonus! She manned the phones wonderfully and dealt with reception in a brilliant way, like the lovely people of Lancashire, with much charm and efficiency.
All in all a brilliant stay, and cannot wait to visit again. The Abode Chain are certainly getting it
right!

Room Tip: Go for the autumn and winter offer of 99 pounds - you can have a great room service breakfast and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I am fortunate to have a team dedicated to delivering the best possible service to our guests and Heather certainly does lead the way! She will be thrilled that she did make such a positive impression.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 12th jan for one night as we were going to see a show. Upon arrival the service was excellent we were given a free room up grade which was very nice. Very comfortable room fluffy pillows and realy comfy bed toiletries smelt gorgeous had a lovely nights sleep and a lovely breakfast in the morning . Would defiantly use this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here fri 21/12/12 for 1 night for 1st time. In an excellent spot, close to all the shops and nightlife. Carpark opposite was easy to access but beware because the prices have increased since those published on the hotels website? You still get 20% off anyway.

The welcome at reception was warm, friendly and they seemed genuinely interested in where we'd travelled from and what our plans were for our stay, they couldn't have been more helpful.

The room was certainly interesting! The ceilings were very high and 2 of the walls were tiled in a style reminiscent of a Turkish baths, which might not be the height of fashion but i liked as it added to the charm and quirkiness.

The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious. The only thing I can fault is that the furniture seemed a bit odd and mismatched, ie the wardrobe and dresser etc. it didn't matter but could been fitted out nicer and then I'd have given it 5/5.

I must comment on the toiletries as they were lovely, the grapefruit soap in particular was wonderful and I'd happily buy this if available from ordinary shops? Smelled wonderful and lathered beautifully!

Had a great nights sleep and paid for the next days breakfast which was fine. The staff could have been a bit more smiley but the surroundings were very pleasant and I liked our booth.

A really enjoyable stay at a very reasonable price for Manchester City centre. I would definitely recommend it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for providing details of your recent stay with us here at the ABode Manchester. Your comments are appreciated. If you were kind enough to email myself directly I would be delighted to arrange delivery of one of our wonderful soap products we use at the hotel. I agree they are fantastic!!
gmmanchester@abodehotels.co.uk

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I love that staircase, all those tiles. Rooms are spacious and funky, in a post-modern industrial way. Pipes on show etc. A bit gloomy if I'm honest, but then on a rainy November night in Manchester that's probably appropriate. Staff were pleasant, though didn't make me feel at ease. A lot of rushing around. A certain tension in the air. Dinner and breakfast both very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have recently stayed in the Abode Manchester and on first appearances the hotel looks fantastic!! The hotel reception staff were first class but this is where this great level of service stopped. The hotel rooms and hall ways are brilliantly decked out but the rooms are a little quirky (but I should have known this from the hotel pics) the floors were not clean i.e. Dusty. This was not a major issue though, that was the restaurant service!!! Great cut of meat in the rib eye steak but the service was terrible and this continued through breakfast which I would never book or pay as much as £11.50 that they charge for a cooked or continental. Black pudding was terrible. I am not a hotel snob but for great service and food the thistle just round the corner is spot on.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishiwasitalian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to highlight details of your recent stay with ourselves here at the ABode. It is evident your expectations were clearly not met and my sincere apologies for this. I am eager to discuss all the issues kindly highlighted by yourself within the review and in addition I hope to provide the clarity and indeed assurances you seek relating to the public 4 star rating of this property.
I am available directly on gmmanchester@abodehotels.co.uk

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Abode is situated in Manchester city centre, around 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly station where there is a frequent train service to and from the airport.
We found the staff very helpful and the contemporary designed room very comfortable, especially the extra large bed. There were the usual tea & coffee making facilities and freeview TV and a selection of snacks and soft drinks in the room - although these are not free unless you book a 5th floor suite.
Downstairs you can visit the award winnning Michael Caine restaurant which is part of the hotel. Although pricey in the evening there are deals to be had, for example a 3 course lunch will cost £15.95 between Sunday and Thursday. There is also a very nice cocktail bar adjacent to the restaurant.
Overall I found this hotel very good value for money and its city centre location ideal, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Manchester

Property: Abode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing