We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for one night in May 2013. We'd book a standard room and on arrival were offered to upgrade to a junior suite for £25 so we jumped at it. The room was perfect. Really good size with a lovely comfortable bed, a window seat area with a table, and sofa with a coffee table infront of a good sized flat screen TV. Really well thought out room. It had a colonial feel to it too with the colouring and the horizontal wooden blinds at the windows.

We didn't eat at the hotel but when we left we had a couple of Bloody Mary's each at the bar which cost a small fortune.

Good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    497
    224
    80
    42
See reviews for
94
789
82
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed on a Friday evening on a pre-christmas shopping trip. The hotel was ideally situated for town, just a short walk down Picadilly concourse on the way into town. We were able to leave our bags here prior to checking in, so that we didn't have to carry them around, which was excellent.

We had booked on the Winter Warmer package, and on check in we were offered an upgrade to a suite for an extra £20. We decided to pay the extra, and were met with a beautifully appointed corner room. There was a seating area in the corner, along with two comfy chairs in front of the television. The room, whilst not decorated to my style, encompasses the history of the building (tiled walls), whilst introducing modern touches that are expected of a hotel.

Only negative points about the room were the wooden floor was quite cold, and we couldn't get the room warm enough for our liking (but the walls are all windows so it's bound to be a bit colder). Also, the lighting was quite confusing. Lots of individual light switches, but not one `master' switch.

The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. A complimentary tuck tray contained crisps, bottled drinks, chocolate, and nuts, as well as the usual hot drinks and biscuits provided - a nice touch.

The bathroom was equally well appointed - although if I have one quibble it was that the shower screen didn't extend long enough, meaning we had to put towels on the floor to mop up the excess water.

Our package meant we had a two course meal in the restaurant booked on the evening. With our meal, we also ordered the Friday Special which was a bottle of prosecco and an anti-pasti tray which, for only £20 for two, offered excellent value for money.

We found the service in the restaurant to be first class, we were seated upon arrival and shown both the set and a-la-carte menus. The food was delicious, and arrived without delay.

Breakfast was a slow affair however, although I think this may have been due to an error with our order as the waitress came over to apologise. You can help yourself to the continental selection, and the waitress comes to take your orders for hot breakfasts. There seemed to be a delay in taking our order to start with, and then it was about a 30 minute wait for our full english breakfast to arrive. By this time our accompanying hot drinks, and toast had gone cold. I'm sure that they would have replenished these had we asked, but as we had been seated for over an hour at this point, we didn't want to lose any more time.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again, despite the slow breakfast service - but would allow myself plenty of time if I was catching a train or needed to check out for a particular time.

Room Tip: We had room 110 which was a quiet corner suite at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiggyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
769 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here last year and was impressed enough to make a return visit. Rooms are still good and it is pleasant to find a small good quality non corporate hotel so close to the city centre. Unfortunately this time we had problems with noise - the wooden floors may look good but if you have inconsiderate neighbours then sleeping becomes an issue and my wife spent one awful night there. In addition rooms facing forward have traffic issues. I had requested a high floor but this had been "lost" and there were few alternatives. In addition we found the bar service extremely slow even though there were hardly any customers. It must be dreadful when busy. Food in the grill was reasonably good including breakfast. So nice looking hotel but fails to deliver on the basic requirement ie sleep so I would think very carefully about staying again - I think I would need a cast iron assurance about a quiet room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

It is so nice to find a hotel which is NOT trying to pigeonhole itself into any particular category. This is a very clean and well appointed hotel in a lovely old building. They have brought the modern into the old very sympathetically. For me, this hotel ticks ALL the boxes you are looking for when staying away. Firstly the staff are very friendly and helpful. Then you get a large airy room with a Large bed, en-suite with perfect shower and probably the best towels I have experienced away from home (a towel you can actually wrap around you). They have thought of so may nice touches. Like filter coffee in the room - not just sachets. Quilted loo roll (a small thing but makes the difference...).The rooms are not corporate at all - they are very clean and well fitted out. Would recommend this hotel to any friend or family for any kind of visit and it will be my first choice when returning to Manchester. No negatives for us at this hotel.
Keep up the good work of being a bit different without overpricing it as a result.
Many thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in 106 and this room which is a Standard Double was perfect. 20 sq meters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted that your recent stay with the ABode was a memorable one. I thank you for your review and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Lovely central hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly. I was staying whilst my daughter was at the BGT auditions at manchester central. When I got back to the hotel late on Sunday the bar staff made a point of asking me how she got on. It's the little touches that make the difference. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was the biggest I have ever slept in. Made a refreshing change to most corporate hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex_Ashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Abode falls heavily between the two stools of smart business hotel and boutique hotel, and the hotel designers were clearly confused about which of these two briefs to follow. The result is a bit of an environmental car crash, and the lighting throughout, but especially in the rooms, is truly terrible. Guest expectations are raised by the Michael Caines name over the door despite the hotel's very generic title. We didn't eat in the fine dining restaurant upstairs so it's hard to comment on that side of things, but breakfast in the is-it-smart-is-it-grungy? dining room off the street was very good. Across the road is the Malmaison, a place that really does understand that business/boutique balance. I'll stay there next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your reviewing the property. Your feedback is appreciated.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We only stayed for one night but we were pleased with our room. It was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for sight seeing in Manchester. The reception staff were very friendly and they happily stored our luggage for the day after we checked out. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on food. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chreoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for reviewing the ABode. I am very pleased you had an enjoyable experience. I did note that you did not have the opportunity to dine with us, so should you be planning to return may I recommend one of our wonderful dinner, bed and breakfast packages which are great value and extremely popular.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Property: ABode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing