We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good short break hotel”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #27 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for two nights visiting family, and needed somewhere near the station. Location was excellent. Staff very friendly and quick check in and out.
We had a comfortable room, ideal for us and was clean and tidy.
The downstairs cocktail bar is worth a visit, good atmosphere, also the upstairs bar was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyh1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

booked the room through laterooms basic room costing 74 pound ,staff were very welcoming and friendly the room was small but clean with an ensuite again nice and clean tv and dvd player in the room along with hairdryer and iron bed was very comfortable would definately stay there again but only if room was on offer

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here with friends both parties booking superior room with breakfast. Check in was very quick and staff very friendly. We were on floor 3 room 314 our room was very small for a superior and the bathroom looked as if it was midway through a painting refurb. ( filler all over the walls and ceiling.). The bed was huge and pretty comfy. We returned to the hotel in the evening at 10.30 but the Ian bar was already closed. It was a Saturday. We were told to go for a drink in the residents bar downstairs we then realised that most the drinks were more expensive there!
Breakfast was ok we all had a full English, the quality was there but could have been a kids portion!
A nice time in manchester was had, would we return not for what we paid.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy_J84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Without doubt, stay and eat at the abode, you will not be disappointed, fantastic service from The restaurant manager Michal, wonderful hospitality and knowledge from sommelier Katherine, complemented by wonderful food and a fantastic room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonandnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,
I am thrilled to read your review. Thank you sincerely. The team work tremendously hard to deliver and indeed exceed our customers expectations, something at times which can be challenging.
To read a review such as yours really does inspire the team to continue to strive for perfection and I thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback.
best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great hotel with some fantastic original architecture and features especially in rooms. Staff very helpful and professional check in swift and warm welcome with great advice on where to eat.
Abode has become a firm favourite and always high standards

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode Manchester. The team always try to deliver exceptional service so to hear of your experience is very pleasing. My thanks once again and I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here on business recently. The room was huge with high ceilings, king size bed and lots of original features. If you like old buildings then this is a very interesting hotel. The staff were all very accommodating and pleasant. It loses a point as the sound proofing is non-exsitent and although the rough parquet flooring adds character, it does mean you hear every person walking past. Also the breakfast was disappointing due to extremely slow service - about 35 minutes for smoked salmon and scrambled egg (which had sat under a heat lamp until it was pretty characterless). Nevertheless, I would stay here again and breakfast elsewhere. Oh, and maybe bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator/stairs so that you don't here as mnay people walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarlathquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of the ABode. I am delighted you found the team to be courteous throughout your time with us. With reference to breakfast I have already discussed your feedback with my management team as the wait you endured certainly is unacceptable. I am confident the issue you kindly raised has since been addressed.
best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wife and I decided to spend a couple of days in Manchester City and wanted somewhere close to the centre. Didn't want to drive from Telford and didn't want the hassle of parking. I noted that some city centre car parks would have charged about £40.00 for a couple of days parking. So got the train to Manchester Piccadilly, £35.00 per head. The Abode Hotel had been recommended and it was only about a 5 minute walk from the railway station, so good marks there for location. I had booked a 'comfortable' room at the Abode and at reception we were welcomed by polite, courteous and helpful staff who immediately talked me into the merits of an upgrade for an extra £25.00 per night to the 'Superior' room. OK we went with that, some of the sales pitch was that the room had free snacks, great bed, corner plot etc etc. Up the lift 4th floor and into room 405. Yes a lovely room, very large comfortable bed, safe, large flat screen TV, DVD / Blue Ray player and a games consul, iron and board, robes, kettle and cups with the minimum amount of tea / coffee / milk, plus a couple of biscuits each. Ideally it would have been nice to have more coffee and milk so that you could make yourself more than just one cup per day – but of course there is room service !. Now to the snack basket – this consisted of one packet of crisps, one small tin of dry roasted nuts, two small bottles of water and one flavoured water.. all this for a two day stay – but of course there is room service !. Bar and other service staff were also friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good and sufficient to set you up for the day. So overall we were very pleased with the Hotel and the staff, the location was great for walking into the city centre and all it's attractions. Would we stay again ? Yes without doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telfordpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode. I am delighted your experience was such a positive one and I do look forward to you returning to stay with ourselves in the very near future.
best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet Hotel
Velvet Hotel
#9 of 121 in Manchester
1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £73 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing