We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abode Manchester
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great break for my wife's birthday. Stayed in the junior suite which was really nice. Some features were a little tired but the charm of the parquet flooring and the exposed steel beams was really nice as was the MC Bar. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful if not slightly stand off at check on.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    482
    220
    77
    41
See reviews for
92
768
80
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked a superior room and upon arrival, due to a teeny mix-up, as an apology we were upgraded to a junior suite. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful!
The suite was lovely, original parquet floors and exposed beams, and interesting decoration. The bed was huuuuuuugggeeeeeee and very comfortable. Big windows and shutters were all around the room, but we were unable to open the windows and it was quite stuffy despite the air-conditioning.
The bar area is quite small, but it was enough. We ate in the bar/grill, ordering off the specials menu which was really great value for money and we had great service from Conor. We had a couple of drinks, I had a cocktail which was delicious, if a little mean in size!
Our breakfast was generous and tasty, half buffet for cold food/cereals/fruit etc, and a hot menu cooked to order. We did find it was a bit irritating, however, to be asked about 4 times if everything was ok. Also we felt like the staff had been told to always look busy, they were constantly dashing backwards and forwards past us which wasn't entirely relaxing, the lady who appeared to be supervising looked a little grim-faced and unapproachable, I think I would have kept moving too - the only sad face we saw during our stay!
The room attendants were cheerful and friendly and appeared to never stop, well done to them for keeping the place spotless and tidy.

We used Abode Manchester as an overnight stay as we were going to see a couple of bands in Castlefield, the location is fairly central and right next to Piccadilly train station so we had no need to bring the car. Despite the location, our room was really quiet and we had a great nights sleep. I live locally but will definitely use Abode for my 'big nights out' in Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing the ABode. Your feedback is really appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to the property for one of your "big nights out" in Manchester.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
270 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first time I have stayed at this hotel and I must say it was very good.
The staff on arrival and check in were extremely friendly and helpful with a very fast and efficient process. The room was spacious , quirky in its interior decor with a great mix of old and new to compliment the style of the hotel. Huge bed, very comfy. Only negative I have is the bathroom was very old and dated and could really do with some updating.
Some great features though to see in the hotel especially if you take the stairs instead of the lift.
Bar area fine nothing hugely special but all you would need.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is very central in Manchester. No parking on site; you use a multi-storey across the street. This is not convenient and costs ~GBP15 a day.
Rooms are ok, service is fine and breakfast is good.
Our impression of this hotel may be tempered by our impression of Manchester, which was not positive. Very grotty, covered in litter and with regular whiffs of urine when you are site seeing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing the ABode Manchester. With regret we do not have the capability to park vehicles on site therefore I do emphaise with your situation.

The wider issues of your review relating to the Manchester city centre sadly are to a large degree out of my control, however I can assure you that as part of the Manchester hoteliers forum we do as a group highlight the challenges such as you yourself have encountered and I can confirm that the local authorites are very proactive in there approach to ensuring the city remains safe, clean and inviting to all that visit.

Thank you once again.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Echoing the other reviews on here, the hotel is stylishly blends the original features of the building, with vibrant modern fixtures and fittings. Waking up to the big windows, high ceiling and exposed Victorian girders really made a welcome change from a typical hotel experience.
We stayed for a single night in a 'comfortable' room, the cheapest on offer. Admittedly the room was small, devoid of any grand original features as seen on the advertised photographs, but I personally found the room a perfect size. I think this was due to it lacking any notably large furniture, the 'wardrobe' was a completely exposed set of poles and wooden shelfs, also accommodating the television and DVD player, which looked like it had been put together from bits and bobs but allowed the room to be far less cramped. I probably haven't written the best description for this, but I have never really seen a design like this before. The same goes for the rest of the room really, with furniture which looked like it came from an antique store contrasting the sleek feature wall and halogen light fittings. Along with the rather huge windows, the room worked well to makeup for it's small size.
The bathroom in contrast was slightly disappointing but only compared to the rest of the room. Here the direction was solely a modern look with entirely white walls and a rather quirky piece of art. The only letdown was the front sides of the bath/shower looked worn and dirty and really stuck out.
Overall the room really suited our taste and we most certainly would love to stay in the same room again.
Just quickly noting on the other aspects of the hotel, the front desk staff were excellent. Quick check in and out, with the staff some of the friendliest I've encountered! The restaurant/bar looked good but we never actually got to try it. The location was perfect, closest to Piccadilly so little distance to walk with bags, and close to the Arndale centre and Printworks, perfect for a weekend away at the city.
As you can probably tell I really did like the design of this hotel and will make sure to visit again at sometime in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aw226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing the ABode. I am delighted you had such a positive experience and thank you for such a balanced review. I do hope you return in the very near future.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Only mentioned the stay was for our anniversary once on the phone while arranging the visit, this was picked up on straight away, we were given a warm welcome and handed a anniversary card. Nice clean rooms, very friendly and professional staff. The fine dinning was top of the line with the chosen wines to accompany the meal perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

I am delighted that the team helped ensure that your anniversary was a memorable one. Thank you for kind comments. Very many congratulations from the team and I and we do hope that next year you will return to the ABode.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My old school friend & I meet up every year and although neither of us know Manchester it was the only place we could co-ordinate flight/train times. Choosing the Abode was the icing on the cake - weather on arrival dire! We requested a quiet room which hadn't initially been allocated but with a quick call to house keeping to "twin up" a room at the back we were only left waiting 10 mins Our outlook wasn't very picturesque but other than the odd reveller both of us slept well in very comfy beds. The staff could not have been more attentive and were genuinely eager to make sure our stay was a memorable one. Breakfast was hot and well presented and the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable. Well done The Abode

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor at the back which didn't have the best of views but it did mean we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Manchester

Property: Abode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing