We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and peaceful”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend are Latvian tourists, and we came to Manchester for a tattoo convention.
We searched for a peaceful place, to stay, in city centre. One of our friend recommended to stay in ABode hotel. We didn't know any hotels in Manchester, but what we received was more then we expected. Everything, starting from service, till very small things(iron, hair drier, conditioner, tv, audio system and Wii), and very cosy room atmosphere, was excellent. We stayed in room no.405, it was beautiful design room, with enormous, very comfortable, bed. We wanted some romance, so i got some champagne and strawberry's. I asked for two glasses, in less them 5 minutes i received two glasses, bucket of ice and towel. Everything was wonderful. After we received wake-up call, we went downstairs for a breakfast. All the food was meeting really high standards. Our day started perfectly.

So if you are looking for a place to stay in Manchester city centre i highly recommend to stay in ABode hotel.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: room 405 was just perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode. I am delighted that your experience was such a positive one and that the team ensured your time with ourselves was so special. I also hope the convention went well.

best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
There are newer reviews for ABode Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Abode is a few minutes walk from Piccadilly station and couldn't be easier to find. The reception area is light and airy, presentable staff looking smart in black. Check-in was efficient and the lift to the fourth floor was available without a wait.

Entering the bedroom, initial impressions were positive. Parquet floor, high ceiling, designer decor – all positive and reminiscent of a Manhattan loft. The bathroom was spacious, facilities good and the free wifi was easy to access.

Marks off for the TV – it was in subtitle mode and the 'menu' button didn't work. Disappointing housekeeping too – not removing the chewing gum planted under the bed frame (euch!).

Leaving the windows open wasn't really an option in July – too much noise from the street below. Fortunately the wall-mounted AC unit worked well.

The bed was comfortable and I nodded off within minutes of turning in. Only to be woken at 2.30 am by a late reveller returning. A noisy door bang and what sounded like clog dancing on the floor of the room above. That damned parquet floor!

On balance, the Abode is a stylish alternative to the bland chain hotels. The location is great but it's let down by the hard surfaces and absence of noise attenuation. For the hearing impaired and heavy sleepers only!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for providing such a balanced review of the ABode. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been noted.

best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

OK, I have to admit that I have emotional ties with the building, having been the part of the opening team in the days it was Rossetti... and this was my first time back in over a decade.
The deal sounded too good to be true (dinner, bed and breakfast for not much more than friends and family rates in nearby hotels), and it proved the old adage of "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is".
Our meal and general experience in the restaurant / F&B services was so terrible, I will actually write a separate review - as it really was beyond poor - but as far as hotel goes, apart from check in being unfriendly and quite frankly, odd (since when a preauthorisation cannot be done on a debit card?) as the person checking us in seemed to have been embarrassing his colleague too, I suppose the rest was OK. Average.

Bed was comfortable, and that is important. Bathrooms are what I remember them - goes to show quality lasts. The cleanliness was fine, tho wear and tear showing. There was most things one needed in the room, although I don't understand keeping the open Molteni shelving system, but then sticking the iron and ironing board in it - looks awful! Toiletries selection not vast either.

Overall, would come back, as it's close to the station so bag pick up and drop off easy and the bed itself was fine. Just don't fall for deals that require you to use the restaurant for anything further than walk through to reception and back out - however cheap you got it, you will be left feeling ripped off and furious!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the ABode, your comments are appreciated. Whilst I am of course delighted you make reference that overall you would indeed return, I am nevertheless disappointed that you felt many of the areas within the property did not meet your expectations.

The ABode Manchester prides itself on ensuring the best possible experience is had by all our valued guests and thankfully the vast majority of the feedback that we receive via the differing communication platforms highlight we deliver on this.

As a fellow hotelier and somebody who has had first hand experience of working within the property albeit prior to the ABode taking over the reigns, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience directly should you wish. I am contactable via the hotel main telephone line.

Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed in many of the hotels in Central Manchester and this is the most unusual - pleasantly so. It is an old victorian building that retains many original features but its decoration and furnishings are very modern. My room had the largest bed i have ever seen (and am most unlikely to ever use) but i would have preferred a smaller one and wardrobe, because all i had was a hanging rail and i dont really want visitors to see all of my clothes. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and there was a well stocked hot drinks tray as well as what i think they call a 'tuck box' with snacks and drinks they charge for.
The staff at the reception and elsewhere were excellent. I had a problem with the air conditioning unit and they quickly brought me a replacement remote control.
There is a problem with the lift - it is slow and the the indicator lights did not work, so i had no idea whether it was on its way or not. However the original victorian staircase is wide and full of tile and window features.
Breakfast was excellent - except the pieces of melon had been cut to include sections of the hard rind and the pineapple pieces were full of prickly 'eyes'. It is not difficult to cut melon and pineapple properly and at these prices that is how I expect it to be done.

Room Tip: Ask for a wardrobe - or you may not get one!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boss1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located near the station and central to all amenities.

Very quirky with large clean rooms, lovely old stairs, parquet flooring and steel beams etc.

Not particularly special but very comfortable feeling and pleasant staff.

Reasonable price.

Room Tip: The higher up the better to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our 1st floor room was at the back of the hotel. Very dark and pretty basic amenities. i like the restored building and quirky decor but this room was like being in a Victoran toilet. Grimy net curtain with what looked like cigarette burn holes. Cost £124 but should have been £250! Wasn't worth either I'm afraid. Was looking forward to staying there too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geebee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read of your expreience and I would be delighted to discuss your findings in greater detail should you wish.

I am contactable directly via the hotel main telephone number and I look forward to speaking with yourself in the very near future.

Thank you,

Best regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great break for my wife's birthday. Stayed in the junior suite which was really nice. Some features were a little tired but the charm of the parquet flooring and the exposed steel beams was really nice as was the MC Bar. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful if not slightly stand off at check on.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £74 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing