We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ABode Manchester
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$160
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$138
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$231
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$176
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,910)
Filter reviews
1,910 results
Traveller rating
910
576
271
97
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
910
576
271
97
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesirable roommichael cainescafe barjohnny cashparquet flooringoriginal featurespiccadilly stationdvd playerjunior suitehuge bedan upgradefifth floorbasic roomlovely hotelnorthern quarterreception stafffull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,858 - 1,863 of 1,910 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night after a concert and before we went on holiday. One of the reasons for picking this hotel was the location just down the road from Piccadilly Station, which was very convenient for getting to and from Manchester. The hotel is located in an old building, which still retains many original features juxtaposed with modern touches. It has a quirky feel and you can tell some thought has been put in to making the Abode chain it a bit more individual than a run of the mill chain hotel. Our "comfortable" room was small but had all mod cons including a large flatscreen TV and DVD player. Very clean with nice toiletries and also very nice tea / coffee / biscuits! Quite plain so don't be expecting a really plush room, that doesn't seem to be what this hotel is about.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - the lift had broken down when we were there so everyone was getting help with bags etc. We were also quite late leaving our room on check out day, but again they were polite and didnt rush us out.
We ate lunch in the cafe bar. You can eat inside or out on the street. Food was delicious!! So i think the main restaurant would also be worth a try.
If I was staying here on a romantic weekend break or something I think I would opt for one of the better rooms for soemthing a bit more plush, however for a quick stop over our room was fine, and at £65 a night was fine for value. I would recomend this hotel if you like something a bit different.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

First stay at the Abode Manchester so didn't know what to expect. Checked in at 15:45 and room was not ready despite check-in being from 14:00; reception staff offered complimentary coffee whilst we waited.
Booked a Comfortable room (Rm. 101) - the room was on the first floor at the front of the building overlooking the busy road and pub area but was quiet due to secondary double glazing. The room was L-shaped and spacious but the over-large double bed caused an obstruction when moving around the bedroom. The LCD TV and DVD player was a welcome addition. The bathroom was excellent.
We ate in the MC Bar Cafe on the ground floor - the food and service was excellent but the included service charge was an unwelcome addition to the bill when received.
The negatives were minor and I have booked to stay again in July '09.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed over on Sunday night to see the Oasis gig. The hotel is ideally situated, 2 minutes walk from Piccadilly train station - perfect. We were allowed to check in an hour early and we hadn't rang ahead either!! We stayed in a 'comfortable' room - one of their cheaper options - and what more could you want. £70 for the room, we got double bed (very comfy), bathroom with bath and shower, air con (tempramental but good when it got going) and the usual - tv, tea and coffee, iron and mini bar. The cleanliness was exceptional not a problem with the bedroom or bathroom. Complimentary soap, shampoo, clean towels etc. Overall our stay was very pleasant and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Stayed in the Abode Manchester on Saturday night, 15th May and can only describe the experience as wonderful. The service was outstanding - we were able to check in at 9am on saturday morning (I had rung ahead the previous week) and we could have breakfast/brunch up until 2pm on Sunday! I've never heard of any hotel offering such a great late breakfast on a sunday before - total bonus lie-in! We even had steak and eggs for the brunch at no extra charge.
There's a fine dining restaurant in the hotel but given the long day we'd had, we decided to eat in the MC cafe bar on the sat night and that was a great experience too - excellent value and great cuts of meat and a good variety in the menu.
We found the rooms spacious enough (we only paid for a comfortable room, I think it was called) and the bed was soft but huge. The bathroom was very spacious and well stocked.
We were on the 3rd floor but didn't use the lift as the staircase's in this old building are lovely and should be enjoyed.
The hotel is very close to the train station and the bar next door was quite nice too.
The service was suoerb and we were even able to check in online for our flights at the reception desk computer.

All in all a superb stay and united won the league that day, so my wife was pretty happy too!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecunstunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights and have to say i was disappointed. I had recently stayed in the Malmaison opposite the Abode but booked the Abode because it looked a quieter more upmarket option.
The rooms our party stayed in were described as "Bare", "Industrial", "like a Public School Dorm" etc etc. 3 of our group checked out and moved to other hotels nearby, namely the City Inn and Malmaison.
Yes the Hotel has a Good restaurant with Mr Caines name splashed everywhere! but it does not make up for the rest of it.
The rooms have the bare minumum and apart from a large bed there is very little else, cheap (not trendy or classy!) open plan shelving / wardrobe which looks like an Ikea display. No fridge, No ironing or pressing facility, very little in the way of toiletries. Mould forming around the bath and tiling.
Because the hotel is in an old Victorian building with high ceilings and wooden parque flooring, sound travels and boy does it travel..!!!! You will be awoken by anybody walking around the corridors and in the rooms above or next to you. Beware relaxing is not the word I would use to describe it. If you've ever had treatment in an old NHS hospital then that is the closest I could describe to how it feels staying here.
Other than the cafe/restaurant there is nothing else in this hotel, nothing at all.
If you want to eat in the Michael Caines sponsored restaurant you can, but you don't have to stay here to do that..!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews