We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - From arrival to departure”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing - From arrival to departure”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Room - We paid extra for a larger room, the standard ones must be like broom cupboards.
Lunch - In the cafe bar food ok, service only just o.k., didn't pay the 12% service charge as really didn't warrant it. Received a pre filled customer survey all marked with 5's and excellent comments, destroyed this to ensure there wasn't any confusion.
Cocktails - The cocktail bar isn't opposite the restaurant it is in the restaurant.
Dinner - Food nice,service good, howere was expecting fabulous. The music is too loud and it's dark not a great fine dining experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ness01WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    507
    227
    82
    42
See reviews for
95
826
85
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

8 of us stayed at Abode Manchester for a saturday night. This is a city centre Hotel on a very busy, noisy and grubby street, opposite an NCP and pound shop and beside a jam-packed pub. Abode is a Victorian conversion, full of style. Its rooms are trendy, spacious and with great beds. Our rooms were let down only by low pressure showers - in the baths (ugh). We all ate in the grill which does great steaks and excellent starters, in a very buzzy room. Overall a super place at a reasonable cost, with very good and eager staff. Just take earplugs if you have a room on the front!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I visited Abode bar restauarnt on a tuesday in august with a business colleague. waiter initially less than helpful - we wnated a quiet table - but after ordering allowed us to move to another table. food and wine ok - when we had finised I asked for bill to be shared. the waiter brought a hand held card machine - the sort that requires lots of communication with you - the customer. I did not see the hefty 12.5% on the bill(very dark restaurant) and added another few pounds - as did my colleague when she put her card in the machine. What a rip off. Result? walk past this restaurant every day - won't go there again and there's lots to choose from in manchester. Own goal Abode

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank foodandhealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We booked the basic double room but it was large and spacious. The only complaint would be that the bed was too big!
I read earlier reviews aboût the bathroom but ours was perfect.
There was a decent sized ironing board, kettle, free wi-fi. It was quiet with the windows closed even though we looked directly onto the main road.

Breakfast was absolutely top quality and i only wish I had more of an appetite.

The staff were always friendly.

We were on a half board rate and the restaurants did not know what this meant in terms of what menu we had but did check. We ate in the cafea nd the Michael Caines restaurant the 2nd night. Both were excellent.

I would look no further that the Abode if I were to return to Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for my brithday, and took advantage of the Indulgence package offering dinner (at Michael Caines), bed (upgraded room) and breakfast. After reading some reviews which highlighted noisy rooms I was cautious not to expect too much, but the servcie, quality, and whole expectation was fantastic.
The service at the restaurant was exceptional, and I was not aware that it was overly noisy in anyway. It has a good energy, but the noise levels were not intrusive, and it was Friday night after all! The breakfast was fantastic.
The package we enjoyed included flowers and chocolates in the room, and champagne in the restaurant. The set menu was good, and did not feel like we were second rate guests to the A la carte menu (lets face it, it happens). Get involved if you can!!
This is NOT the right hotel if you plan to get away from it all, spending lots of time around the hotel. This is the hotel if you are looking for a great room and resraurant with good access to the city of Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigwillinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed one night in twin room with my sister on DBB deal. Hotel a few mins. walk from piccadilly train station. Staff friendly, accomodation excellent with big airy rooms decorated to a high std with really comfy beds.DBB deal was £99 if booked through hotel but got it for £85 from last minute.com. Meal in cafe bar which had nice atmostphere & really tasty food but not big portions ( perfect for us!), lovely breakfast. Tables outside at front if sun shining.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The hotel is in a decent,. Both check in and out were quick and efficient. We stayed in a standard room, which was large, with adequate draws and shelving, and a large bed. TV with sky sports was a pleasant bonus. The main issue with the hotel is its wooden floors, they make sound travel, particularly at night, where it can sound as if somone (who is out side or in the room above you) is in you room, woke up a number of times as a result. We ate at the bar (not the Cairns restaurant). The food was great, overall the stay was pleasant and if you can get a good price for a room give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#36 of 116 in Manchester
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Property: ABode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing