We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay with brilliant staff and a lovely ambience to the hotel”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We spent an afternoon and evening in Manchester visiting the superb Christmas Markets with the following day being spent doing our Christmas shopping. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and they certainly helped create the ambience that goes with this boutique hotel. The room was large by city centre standards and it retained much of its historic style although brilliantly matched to the modern day with some super contemporary art work and features like a complimentary Wii for use in your room ... complete with balance board for the keep fit addicts. The Dining Room is in keeping with the Abode image and is what you would expect for a fine dining experience. We also took breakfast that was superb ( especially the full english !!) and set us up for the day. We have now had 2 really good Abode experiences at Chester and now at Manchester and we will have no hesitation now in trying one or two of the others in the group.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,634 - 1,640 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

We travelled on the train into Manchester Picadilly, the hotel was a very very short walk and our twin room was very large. The beds were somewhat soft but still fairly comfortable. There wasn't a fridge or the nice little bits like shower cap or body lotion which you get as standard in the travel lodge type accommodation but that said this hotel was much better than the TLA just mentioned, central and the staff and cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant. There was a bit of noise from the corridor but unfortunately, lovely wood floors don't help with the accoustics. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixpence_mawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

A friend and I visited Abode last Tuesday lunch, It would be fair to say that prior to arrival we were rather exited ... But sadly all the good hopes were washed away within 6 minutes.. when the for the 3rd time we were asked if 'WE ARE READY TO ORDER'!!
The menu's were explained to us very well,
However the portions were so small, even on the A'la carte menu as we'd mixed between the two and that then left us to reflect on a £220 bill!!! (not including service, as I refused to pay it having poured the wine ourselves for most of the lunch)

The staff looked confused and needing direction, to add to this they were bringing food to the wrong tables and it looked like a real mess.

The food wasn't that bad...but a few cold dishes, small portions and a hefty bill did leave a sour taste in our mouths and a huge dint in our pockets. (A REAL SHAME).....

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank noexpertbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

What a amazing, lovely hotel with great staff, food and service. We stayed for one night during a visit to see LCD Soundsystem at The Apollo.
We booked the Autumn deal which was an amazing price of £99 for a huge room with the comfiest hotel bed we have ever stayed in, a lovely meal and a bottle of wine and a amazing cooked breakfast in the morning.
The staff were really friendly and we have been recommending the hotel to everyone, looking forward to a return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

For a birthday treat my husband booked one nights stay for us and couple of friends.
It was a special deal, dinner, bed and breakfast for £114. Having eaten in Abode Chester we expected good things.The room was lovely but the experience in the Cafe Grill Bar was not. We were ignored totally by the waiters who were more interested in flirting with each other than paying attention to the customers. I explained that we had Comedy Store tickets and needed to be served. The food portions were incredibly small and cold!
We left in a hurry, went to The Comedy Store saw a great show and then went for another meal because we were so hungry!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My wife and I travelled to Manchester for a wedding and chose the abode due to it's location.. So close to the train station and close enough to the shops to keep my wife happy. The rooms are minimal in terms of fixtures and fittings but every thing you need is there. We decided to dine in the bar and grill as the micheal caines restaurant seemed a little dark and dingy and we where going to have a full on meal the next day at the wedding.
The grill is a great asset to the hotel which we didn't know about prior to booking. The menu has enough choice to suit most tastes but not so large as you find yourself lost. The scallops with rissotto where top notch and my steak was cooked to perfection. The service was bang on too, Hats off to alex and adam who recomended not only wine to go with our food but also places to see in Manchester during our stay Breakfast again was fast and great value. All cooked fresh no buffet here. The girl who's name I forget was lovely in check out asking us if we needed a taxi and wishing us all the best.

If we go back to Manchester it's where we shall stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Screenclean9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I tried the Abode Hotel in Canterbury and I thought that this will be same in rooms and quality. But I was shocked.
1. No hand cream or body cream in the room (just body wash).
2.Un comfortable room, and bad decoration.(No tallboy).
3.Unfriendly staff.
4.Very slow services in breakfast.
5.Noisy rooms

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £72 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing