We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Stop Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Stop Manchester
Flintshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

3 of us (all females aged between 19 and 21) stayed at the City Stop apartments (room 34) for 1 night in February as a birthday celebration. We booked through Hoseasons and paid just over £40 each.

We arrived at 2:30 (check in is from 2) but our apartment wouldn’t be ready until 3pm so we stored our luggage and went for food whilst we waited.

The location is perfect! The Printworks is literally across the road where you will find numerous bars and restaurants all under one roof (great if it’s raining!). Take your room key with you and you can get 20% off in selected restaurants. The Arndale shopping centre is a 5 minute walk away as is Victoria train station. There is a co-op store near the train station should you need to stock up with food/drink.

The apartments are definitely aimed at younger people/hen & stag dos and I would not recommend to anyone who is uncomfortable with this. Our apartment was a little run down in places but overall was clean and very spacious. Only main complaint is that we couldn’t get the hot water to work in the shower. Our room (on the top floor) also had an upstairs mezzanine area.

Yes you do need to pay a £250 security deposit, but we were advised of this via the Hoseasons website at the time of booking.

I thought the staff were very pleasant considering the drunkenness they have to put up with! There was a bald guy on reception – can’t remember his name though – who was particularly friendly. I had arranged for some birthday banners to be delivered and put on our door ready for our arrival. This had been done so the staff are willing to go out of their way for you.

Overall I would stay at the apartments again simply for the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    67
    31
    53
See reviews for
40
72
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

What can I say other than avoid this place unless the only place available in manchester is a YHA/campsite.

Checked in on new years eve and had apartment 31 booked for 6 people. First of all the reception staff were very rude and unprofessional. They demanded a £250 deposit which was not mentioned at time of booking. The 'cheap looking' click laminate flooring was sticky as if drinks had been spilt and not cleared up. There were hairs in the bath and the kitchen units were dirty and a door hanging off. Basically not at all what you would expect for a £350/ night rate.

The apartment was furnished to a basic standard and the room rates are far too over priced. If you happen to have the unfortunate experience of staying here, WHEN you complain, don't send an email to manager Lee Toland as he won't reply!

Room Tip: Avoid apartment 31. All apartments for that matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonlufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

6 of us stayed here last week. upon arrival we were asked for £250 deposit.. what!?! we couldnt afford that so the manager (after having a word with himself under his breath about us) took £100 cash off us.
we had many problems with the apartment- the heating, the fridge and the tv were all broke and we had to argue with the manager to get the handy man to fix them.
our 'breakfast hamper' consisted of a loaf of bread and two single serves of butter- between six if us!
at 12am i was followed upto my apartment by two drunk men who forced our door open (thankfully i managed to get the chain on) and continued to do so for ten minutes. nobody answered the emergency number we were given and we just had to hope they would go away.
the next morning we complained to the manager who once again became very rude and basically said it was our fault the men tried to get in our apartment before swearing at us- not quite sure how he got his manigerial position. awful expirience!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwilgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Me and some friends went to stay at these "luxury " apartments which turned out to be more like substandard appartments. On arriving at the appartments we were greeted by a very rude man who claimed to be the boss. He was not helpful what so ever. After getting to our room we found that the tv wouldn't work, the fridge wasn't on and the heating was not on . When we reported this to the boss he was very unhelpful instead of apologising he acted like petulant child huffing and puffing his way through the conversation . After going out for a walk around we returned to appartments to get ready surprise surprise yet another thing went wrong no hair dryer so again rang the boss to ask for one as it was advertised that one would be supplied this time the manager told me to come and get it from reception after a further tantrom he decided that actually it would make sense if he actually did his job and brought the hair dryer to us. On returning to the apartment after our night out several men tried to bombard their way into our room ... We decided to call the emergency contact number it is not very surprising that the number did not work! The security door that was supposed to open on entering a code was left open for anyone to come in needless to say there was no security! When we went to check out people had urinated in the lift Which he or his staff had failed tO clean up! On reporting the issues off the night he advised that you should expect this sort of thing when staying in a hotel and defended the men by saying they were probably just drunk instead of actually addressing thr issues he was rude Infact I would go as far as to say he blatantly did not care if anything he implyed that is was our fault! had our money and that was all he wanted! I would not reccomend staying at these apartments at any cost !! If visiting manchester i would deffo reccomend the city appartments near the MEN ARENA were far superior with extremely friendly staff and everything was as advertised

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Six of us (all females) purchased a voucher through Groupon for a stay in a City Stop apartment which slept 6. Upon arrival the manager ignored us and shuffled papers and took phonecalls whilst we waited to check in. When we did check in he informed us we needed to pay £250 deposit "in case you trash one of my rooms". We asked where it stipulated this and he directed us to the voucher which said "deposit may be required" (and did not then state how much this would be). We asked if the money would come out of our account and he said no. One of the group then spotted a sign which said money would be taken out and would not be returned for 5 - 10 days! This stay was one week before Christmas so none of us could afford to be without this money for this time. He eventually said he would take £100 in the form of £20 from each of us (one of the group had not yet arrived). The manager was not at all polite and this was to set the tone for the rest of the stay. We went up to the apartment and first of all noticed a huge stain on the sofa. Worried we would be charged for this I rung the management and explained this and he said he was already aware. We then had the pleasure of indulging in the breakfast hamper. This consisted of a (small) loaf of bread, a bottle of wine and a few blister packs of jam and bread and one sachet of coffee per person.............The apartment was (at first) freezing and we couldnt get the heater to work so we asked for the maintenance man to inspect this. He did so and whilst there needed to fix the television which also wasnt working.

As we prepared to go out for the night we noticed the hairdryer and iron (which according to the website should have been in the apartment), was nowhere to be found. We asked the management if we could have one and he reluctantly brought up one small traveller hairdryer, which between 6 females proved quite awkward!! (Again, entirely unhelpful and he was not pleased that he had been asked to bring one up to us).

After coming home for the night two of us came upstairs while the rest of the group went to collect food. One of the girls then ran into the apartment and had to put the chain on the door as she had been followed by a group of males staying in the hotel. We tried to call the emergency out of hours number and got no answer. For a group of females staying in an unfamiliar city this was very unnerving and the men charged the door which caused it to come open at one point, but luckily the chain was on. We did not feel safe. To top it all, noise was constant either from other apartments or from the clubs next to the apartments with music playing until 7am (this was on a Thursday night).

In the morning (after getting back our deposit) we explained this to the manager who said "well it is a hotel, these things happen". We explained this did not happen in our experience of hotels and we were genuinely fearful. He did not apologise once and instead said "obviously they thought it was their room". We explained they followed our friend upstairs and as our room was on a corridor of its own, it was not feasible that they had mistaken our room for theirs. The manager did not care and was very abrupt. He then also said he would check the phone system to check we did indeed ring the night before! As we left two more girls (not part of our group) who were also waiting to check out said they had had an equally bad experience. We asked to speak to the manager but were informed that he himself was the manager, which stunned us all!

One positive, the apartment is in a great location.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed for one night on a Groupon deal while we went to the Christmas markets. We had a one bedroom apartment which was lovely, the drawbacks being the noise from people outside the Printworks, and also the club underneath the building. Take earplugs and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franc3976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

After reading many negative reviews about City Stop before we went I was abit apprenhensive!!....As it turns out there was no need to be!!
Me and 4 friends went to Manchester to celebrate birthday/graduation and we couldn't of been in a better location! We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment and even though it was on the front it wasn't as noisy as I expected it to be! The apartment was clean and spacious and all the appliances were in good working order! We used the oven to cook pizza and the dishwasher to clean up!!
Its in a fab location for the nightlife! It literally took 2 minutes to walk to the bars and Tiger Tiger through the Printworks, very handy for when our feet were hurting at 4am when we came home!
The only grumbles I would have is that 3 of us arrived after 8pm so there was no-one to direct us where our apartment was, we had to ring our friends! The reception closes at 8. Also when we arrived back at the apartment some other residents had left the front door open and with it being located in 'clubland' area anyone could have got in! There did not seem to be a night porter present either! Well I didn't see one!
All in all a good trip and i would recommend to others.

Room Tip: I don't know if you can ask but head for the 3rd and 4th floors.....the noise is less here and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#48 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Stop Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Stop Manchester

Property: City Stop Manchester
Address: Dantzic Street, Manchester M4 2AD, England (Formerly City Stop Serviced Apartments Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Stop Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Stop Manchester is located in a beautiful grade II listed building, Victoria Buildings. This conversion infuses the old with the new, incorporating exposed brick and steel work with modern, contemporary apartments. City Stop Manchester offers the perfect place to stay whether it be for business or just a city break, we cater for everyone. Being a city centre apartment hotel means we are conveniently located, close to all the amenities you could possibly require during your stay with us. These include shopping for the style conscious, clubs & bars for the party animals, restaurants & cocktail bars for the socialites and for our corporate guests we're just a short walk from Manchester's newest business district. Still want more? Explore what Manchester has to offer outside of the city centre, we're close to all major transport links to help you get there. Our apartments can accommodate between one and eight guests, staying in our executive one bedroom apartments or our very spacious two bedroom apartments, penthouse suites are also available. Apartments offer many home comforts and are suitable for both short and long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your City Stop Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Stop Serviced Apartments Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing