We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chunky chips to die for!”

Simple Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #471 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Simple Bar & Kitchen; serving up the perfect mix of delicious cocktails and fantastic food in a relaxed atmosphere since 2001.
staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chunky chips to die for!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had my first visit to Simple on Sat 17th May. I had the chicken strips on a flat bread with raita and the a side of some of the nicest chunky fries EVER! Everything was fresh and cooked to order, my friends had the club sandwich which look lovely. Will definitely be dinning here!

Helpful?
Thank mark_cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradlie H, Public Relations Manager at Simple Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for your review Mark!

Glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and liked our chunky chips, we hope to see you back soon for more

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    76
    38
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Peak, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I called in a couple of weeks ago on a friends recommendation.
I can honestly say i was not disappointed.
My partner & i tried the steak – it was delicious and very reasonably priced.
We will definitely be calling in again soon.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradlie H, Public Relations Manager at Simple Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for your review Lesley

Happy to hear you both enjoyed your steaks - hopefully see you again for a few more!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Came here last weekend with 9 work colleagues. Had pre ordered food and everything arrived piping hot and delicious. No complaints from anyone and great service too.
Would recommend to anyone wanting something fuss free, reasonably priced and good, tasty food whilst in this area of manchester.
Will be back, as will most of my colleagues.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 974San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradlie H, Public Relations Manager at Simple Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for your review!

Glad to hear you had a lovely meal at Simple and we hope to welcome you back soon

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow
2 reviews
“"Simple" is the correct NAME for this Place‼️”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Me & my husband had Burgers each: Buns were dry, burgers were dry & tasteless, no relish, thick red onion ends, tiny amount of tomato!
Fries, onion rings were frozen rubbish & the "homemade"
Coleslaw was defiantly not "homemade" it was watery shop bought stuff!!
Food wasn't at all fresh & it's one of the worst meals we have had!
Server came to take away the plates, with "unfinished" food on, & she didn't even ask if everything was ok..we felt she already knew it was rubbish, but she still should of asked!!
Wouldn't ever go back or
recommend this place!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brivic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradlie H, Public Relations Manager at Simple Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for your review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal at Simple. I can assure you that all food served at Simple is homemade, including the onion rings and coleslaw.

We will be looking into who you were served by and why you were not asked about your food.

We hope you return to Simple soon to see this is certainly not the standard of food or service that is normal.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Happy hour bottle of wine and a mezze kind of sharer which I had to myself included humus, pitta, olives the usual fodder nice to graze on whilst enjoying Great atmosphere, Good pricing and food was nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jammiesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradlie H, Public Relations Manager at Simple Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for your review!

Hope to see you back soon for more big sharer boards

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simple Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Simple Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing