We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Decided to discover Manchester for a couple of nights on our way north. Hotel is brand spanking new; very nice looking, ultra-modern minimalist look. Reception was unbelievably cold and frosty; indifferent to our needs. There was a photo shoot going on when we arrived, and I had to attempt to manoeuvre through models to check-in. No apology or explanation about what was going on.
Had problem with phone in room; only resolved after second complaint.
On hotel website, said there were computers available for guests to use; not so.
Our second (and last) night; had a fire alarm go off at 2 AM. Trudged down six floors; met lots of other guests while we stood around in our pyjamas in the lobby. Nobody from the hotel spoke to us; after alarm stopped, we all just started climbing back up the stairs. Never heard anything from staff about what happened or an apology.
Not one staffer here EVER smiled. Don't bother with this place. May look nice; but rubbish stay and we will definitely never be back in Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvgoodtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Robert186

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.
We receive a lot of complimentary comments regarding our friendly and helpful team members and I am shocked to learn that on your visit that you did not experience the high levels of service Crowne Plaza Manchester wishes to prevail .

I ask that you please contact the hotel directly on 0161 828 8600 or at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com so I can have the opportunity to discuss your comments with you personally as I would very much like to welcome you back to the hotel if you were to return to Manchester.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    883
    231
    50
    25
See reviews for
357
992
102
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The hotel has a great location, just a few minutes down to all city center shopping and a short taxi ride to Manchester Picadilly, as well as a few minutes walking to Manchester Victoria. The hotel is very new and modern with a clean, fresh, airy and up-beaten cement lobby with not to much glitter and heavy golden carpets. It is not elegant, but not at all distasteful.

Room was excellent with all amenities that you need. Nice design and decór as well as a great flatscreen. Good cookies and clean, fresh water boiler with coffee and tea. I like Crowne Plaza with the small chocolates and water as a welcome in all rooms as well as the excellent bathroom amenities with slippers and bathrobes. The thicky towels was very nice as well as the soap amenities from The White Company. The best is the Crowne Plaza value. I think specially this Crowne Plaza deliver much more than you get at other similar hotel-brands standard rooms.

It was hard to find our room because it was in a alcove and the lanes was just so dark and the room numbers not at all easy visible. Had a dinner in the restaurant Glasshouse, nice and good valued food while the service need to be improved. They was attentive, but not that genuine caring or refinement that I expected. The bar was very popular and crowded with good atmosphere. I visited the 24h open small on-spot fitness center with all the essentials. I assume it can be very busy during high occupancy, but I had no problem during my stay to get the machines I wanted to use.

I would love to rate this hotel to "Excellent" at Tripadvisor, but I don't like the far to dark lanes as well as the service in the restaurant Glasshouse need to be improved. Furthermore the concierge need to show more happiness to compose the lobby atmosphere - they was helpful, but not with a smile. This is minors that I can live with and will definitely stay here again while visit Manchester City next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Guest

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in your room. Thank you for all of your kind comments and constructive feedback which we appreciate. It helps us enormously to maintain and improve our standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time your travel plans permit.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Very classy, great service stayed 3 nights in room 817 absolute pleasure staying here will be going again. 10 mins walk from station, MEN stadium and all the city centre attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullCpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

As you would expect this is a fantastic hotel. Spacious, clean, well appointed, great location - in fact we were extremely happpy with the hotel with two exceptions. First off we paid for a club room on the top floor. We got a room in a small partitioned area on the 2nd top floor. No biggie, but when we got up to the 'lounge' - there was really nothing there. As such, we really saw no benefit in paying for the club room. Other thing is breakfast. Usual buffet style, but it appears that the catering staff like to cremate food. Every day (I stayed 4 nights) the food was so overcooked it really was not edible. On the last day we went out and paid for breakfast.
So - great place, dont book a club room and eat breakfast out.

Room Tip: Club rooms not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Hawk345

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your very kind comments and constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the benefits of access to the Club Lounge and that you did not find breakfast to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I was surprised by how nice this hotel was, even though I was aware it was 4 star I wasnt expecting it to be as nice as it was. Very clean, quick pleasant reception service. Rooms VERY nice, well decorated, beds very comfy it was absolutely ideal for our family stay, a couple of minutes walk from the Printworks which has plenty of dining options and also a few minutes from the Arndale and the Wheel! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 321 nice and quiet but poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevolivblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review.
I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to appreciate your room.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Rooms exceeded expectations- big modern with everything you could need. Also impessesed about having a bath and separate shower.

Beds big and comfy.

Short walk to Arndale centre.

Staff helpful and friendly

Would stay there again and also look at other Crowne Plaza Hotels around UK and Europe

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephgoesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards.
Thank you for your praise towards our hotel and staff, I will ensure your kind comments are passed on accordingly We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed one night as we were attending a concert at the MEN Arena which is about a 10 minute walk away The bedroom was very spacious with 2 double beds Bathroom was a reasonable size although the shower cubicle was a little cramped
We didn't eat in the hotel as there are plenty of alternatives nearby in the Printworks bur the prices for food and drink were a little expensive
Overall we both liked the hotel and will use it again when attending an event in the centre of Manchester

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay your room and I am sorry that the shower size was not to your liking.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing