We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights 12th and 13th August and had a really comfortable stay. As it was our 40th wedding anniversary we took advantage of a good deal and booked a deluxe club room. We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the club lounge and to able to use the lounge anytime during the day. The complimentry drinks with canapes between 6 and 8 in the evening were an added bonus. We also had a meal in the Glass House restaurant and it was also very enjoyable. The staff made you feel welcome and the waiter in the restaurant gave advice of where to get good cocktails in the Northern Quarter as this was very near to the Hotel. The location is close to Victoria and Piccadilly, also the Arndale Centre. Our visit was just after the Manchester riots and we did not feel uncomfortable with the situation. We also visited Heaton Park. This is a short tram ride out of Manchester and is a really nice place to visit, well kept grounds and also good views over the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards.

Congratulations for your 40th Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre for your special occasion. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed celebrating the event here.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    861
    225
    50
    25
See reviews for
347
976
97
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here in June 2011 as I was at the Bon Jovi concert in Manchester. After spending the night standing in rain (fantastic concert though!), waiting for ages in the queues to get onto the tram, arriving at the hotel was fantastic.
Reception were really great, check in went smoothly. The room was beautiful. The bed..never slept in a bed like that before! It was so comfortable! I loved it.
Everything you needed was in the room. It and the bathroom was spotlessly clean.
Its very central. Arndale shopping centre is within walking distance and there is a tram stop just down the road. There is also a shop nearby.
I will be staying here again next time I am in Manchester and will recommend to anyone going to Manchester!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Irishshin

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards. I am delighted you enjoyed both the hotel and the Bon Jovi concert. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time you visit the city.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, using it as a base for exploring Manchester and Liverpool. We managed to find a cheap deal and a further 10% off voucher online (it's really worth looking!) and so got the room for a good price.

We really liked the modern decor of the hotel. All of the facilities were excellent and the staff were helpful at all times including arranging a late check out and storing our luggage for an afternoon. The food and drinks were a little pricy but that's not really a complaint as that's what you expect from a good hotel.

The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the hotel provides you with a pack of sleeping sprays (aromatherapy sort of thing!) which my girlfriend really liked.

All in all we were very impressed with the hotel and fully intend to stay there again next time we are in Manchester.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel above a main road and had no issues whatsoever with traffice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjh2k4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review on trip advisor. I’m so truly pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will surely pass on your great comments to our staff, they will be truly pleased. I do hope that when your travel plans permit that you choose to with us again.

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night in August and were both very impressed. The room (on the 4th floor Priority Club members floor) was fantastic, very modern & stylish decor and the most comfortable beds! We paid #59GBP for the night including breakfast which was great value for money. The hotel is in the Northern Quarter (the great Bluu bar is just around the corner!) and is close to all city centre attractions & only a 5-10min walk to Victoria train station. I am from Manchester and it was great to be a tourist in my own city for the night!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunbornBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on trip advisor. These comments help us maintain our high level of service. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that when your travel plans permit that you choose to stay with us again.

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have selected this Crowne Plaza Hotel because of the great previous reviews, attractive price and convenient location. Just few minute walk from Victoria Station, Arndale Shopping Centre and all attractions of central Manchester. Close to tram and bus services, restaurants, pubs... There will be new Holiday Inn Express hotel attached to CP soon.

From the moment I entered elegant modern reception area I was sure, that was great choice. Lobby is spacious, bright with nice modern decor. Natural, professional and helpful front desk staff complete that nice impression.
I arrived really early, but lovely reception staff checked-me in that time. Much appreciated, especially after early morning flight. Check-in was quick, efficient and absolutely hassle-free. My Priority Club membership was recognized and all information given. Points allocated.

My room was on the 3rd floor with large windows and view over the area. It was spacious, perfectly clean and smelled fresh. Everything was like totally brand new. I loved that, I just loved that. They use combination of white/black/gray colours with two "extras" - orange part of the window and red mirror and chair. That worked so well together. Large windows helps to keep that room so bright - if it's not enough - you have a choice of few well setup lamps and lights.
Room was well equipped - flat screen TV with selections of programmes, entertainment, on-line bill etc.; two phones; quiet air-condition; safety deposit box, iron & iron board; kettle with selection of tees/coffees and some biscuits; mini-bar (extra paid, but prices really acceptable). There was as well complimentary bottle of water. Bed was just AMAZING. Honestly, one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. And you have "this works: sleep" mini-kit - small aromatherapy pillow spray and breathe in. I never used that before, but that was really pleasant.
Working area was not maybe that large, but well designed and useful. Wired internet access provided - price is acceptable for 4* hotel - 7,50 GBP/day. If you're Priority Club member this is complimentary (as free Wi-Fi in lobby/restaurant and 10% discount on any food and drinks in restaurant and bar when charged to your room).
Bathroom was another place which I would like to take home. Fresh, sparkling clean, contemporary, spacious, comfortable. There was bathtub and separate shower. Selection of good quality toiletries provided as well as fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers. I found that large mirror very useful. Only annoying thing was the toilet flush - after few times you'll get use to that, so no complaints at all.

Overall experience was "Excellent" and my score is 5+. Definitely that is the place to stay in Manchester and I recommend it to all friends and clients (as I'm a travel consultant). I'm sure that pleasant experience I had wasn't the only one, so it's worth to try "your usual Manchester hotels habits" and try Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre next time. Lovely, professional staff, original design, comfortable rooms and great location make it working really well together. I'm sure I will back...

Oh... One more... I liked that they actually read the printed survey you can fill up. I received follow-up email yesterday and I think that's the proper way to deal with guests. I'm sure this hotel would be soon one of the iconic hotel of Manchester. Good luck and thank you.

Room Tip: City view rooms are nice. Bright and alive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night, £78 including 2 breakfast, which was a fantastic price considering we paid £78 to stay at premier inn deansgate, for same price just for the room !
We was able to check in early- although this was not a guarenteed request, we was glad we could, very easy, no waiting and friendly receptionist, check out was at 11
Room was so clean and modern, great view from 6 th floor
Shower and bath, had soap, body wash, shampoo and moisturising cream, though if you have sensitive skin use own products !! as they was very rich/strong smelling
Breakfast was very nice, loads of variety, and worth it, served 7-11, and still loads left when we left at 10.40
No car park at hotel but Ncp car park across road, though it was 15.20 for 24 hours, but it was more secure than parking in a cheap open space car parks which were all over, very short walk to arndale and the printworks

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlnextdoor26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManc, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on trip advisor. It helps us so much maintain our high standard of service. I will be sure to pass on your great comments in regards to reception and breakfast staff. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travel plans permit.

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

went on a hen do 2weeks ago.The hotel was excellent,near to everything .In the rooms we had 2 large double each the safe was free you had to pay for the mini bar frige if you wanted it. Breakfast was excellent!! .We went to the northern quater, to a very nice bar called lamars it has been voted the best bar in manchester on the pride of manchester website, we had a lovely tapas in there,the music was good a very good buzzin bar, we went to cloud nine at the hilton it was ok the drinks were expensive you had to que not all it was made ou to be .Will def go back to the crown plaza and will def vist manchester again had a great girly weekend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iou12Sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing