We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I got a beautiful room in the Club level. A bug room with both bath and shower. Everything is VERY new and clean and the service of the staff is really fantastic.
This is the best hotel I've stayed in the city for some years.

Room Tip: Book a club level room - it is worth it and grant club lounge acces
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,517)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,091 - 2,097 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Advantages: room size is adequate. price is good for value. internet speed is good. near Picadilly station, near victoria station. near shudehill tram. near arndale shopping precinct. near MEN arena. disadvantages: you probably could stay at a cheaper place but then again, not as good as crowne city. :) I will definitely stay here again soon if i had the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience of the Crowne Plaza Manchester with us, we appreciate all comments as this helps us to maintain our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre when your travel plans permit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

From what i have read i think this hotel is about two years old, it looks brand new, its gorgeous, its really modern and most importantly very clean, this hotel seemed to attract a lot of people on business but we found it perfect for just relaxing on a weekend break, the Interior of the room was class it had a black and red theme very modern, the bathroom was class, had a lovely walk in shower seperate from the bath, and a great mirrow ya call pull out and look at up close, i wear hair extensions and usually have to bring a seperate mirror for putting them in but i was delighted to see the hotel provided one, and most importantly it was right beside Arndale and all the shops! would defo recommend this hotel to stay in Manchester, I will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktc186635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am very pleased that the hotel suited your requirements a leisure guest.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed for three nights on an excellent rate in a club delux king room. Extremely comfortable room, excellent location for town, shops and MEN arena with a reasonable club lounge offering between 6-8pm, shame its not longer as per some of the other CPs. Friendly, helpful and polite staff and new holder of the title 'best room service burger' to date and black pudding a tattie scones on the breakfast option! All in all an excellent option to consider.

Room Tip: Club rooms delux kings are well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I am delighted you have awarded us as the new holder of your title 'best room service burger' to date. Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Been to this hotel 4 times now, we treat ourselves by staying here when we go shopping in Manchester. We were surprised on checking in that we had been upgraded to a junior suite and the room was amazing, very spacious although angular but added to the modern style of this luxury hotel. Bed extremely comfortable and all mod cons at hand. The staff were all welcoming and courteous, one small niggle, food not as good as usual, not sure if different chef but we ordered a crowne plaza burger (we have had many times before) it arrived but it must have been about an inch thick, really dry and absolutely burnt to a cinder and they had run out of certain ingredients that should have come with the meal but did't tell tell us( hoping we might not notice?) and for another meal they substituted something but didn't tell us until it arrived at the table so we had no choice but to eat it. Overall though the waiter was understanding and offered to replace or refund the money for the meal and offered us a free drink. it certainly won't put us off staying at this lovely hotel again, fantastic location, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful stuff and a real buzz in the bar in the evenings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms round back and side of hotel quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

I am delighted that you enjoy staying at the hotel. It is always a pleasure welcome back a returning guest such as yourself . Nevertheless I would like to apologise if your dining experience was not at our usual high standard.I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I normally stay the Radission which is my fav Manchester Hotel but my appointment was in the Northern Qtr so this hotel was ideally placed fo rmy business trip.
This area of town is centrally located and only a short walk to the main shopping area and Triangle, printworks etc... the immediate area is a bit ''rough'' so make sure you know which way to turn when leaving the hotel.
I booked an executive Club room which was on the top floor, with this you get access to the business lounge on the top floor with great views over the city. Also they provide hot drinks and a complimentary conti brekkie which is a nice touch.
It is a very modern hotel, a bit stark and not very cosy. However the room was fantastic. Again modern but well designed and spotlessly clean.
I ate in the restaurant and enjpyed soup followed by a lovely steak. The service was good but nothing special... just a few little things it could brush up on like not having salt and pepper pots on the table and then when I asked for them they were chipped. it also lacked atmosphere and was very dark. Oh well iguess it was midweek so the hotel seemed quiet.
I retired to my room and had a great nights sleep thanks to the wonderfully comfy bed.. top marks for this!!
Check out was easy and the reception staff were excellent.
I paid £125 for the room and £34 for dinner.. this is great value for a city centre hotel.
I would stay here again but I still prefer the Radisson!

Room Tip: Bag an executive room on the 12th (top) floor, great views and complimetary Continental Breakfast wi...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns and compliments regarding our hotel. Your feedback really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.
I do appreciate that you have alternative preference within the city, however I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Manchester.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We found this hotel to be extremely uncomfortable in many ways. The room (we were upgraded to an executive suite) smelt strongly of some kind of petrol-based cleaning product and the angled room was too small for the large bed, so that it was impossible to get out of bed without stubbing one's toes. The price of the room was disproportionate given its horrible location and its identikit bleakness and it did not include breakfast . The manners of some of the other clientele left a great deal to be desired - I have never before seen people barge into a lift on a ground floor when there are half a dozen people waiting to exit; at least the hotel offered one unique experience. The coffee shop was overpriced and ugly. Verdict: modernist vulgarity which is best avoided.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your resent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.
I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations, If you would like to discuss the issues that you have raised further please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £81 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing