We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but could be great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad, but could be great.”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here while attending the football. The Hotel was well situated if you want to access the centre of Manchester and want access to the City football ground.
We arrived a little early and could not get our room, this was not a problem and the reception offered to store our bags. The staff however seemed a bit cold and came across a bit unsure of the customer relations bit.
The room we had was a family room and it was well laid out although a little warm and the climate controls seemed a bit unresponsive the view out the window was the back of the hotel which was bit rough, but I wasn’t too concerned with this.
We did not eat in the restaurant at night but did have drink in the bar when we returned from the game with our 10 year old son. There was a young female sitting at the bar having what appeared to be a heated conversation with someone on the phone, the language was terrible and due to my son being in my company I looked to the barman to address this. unfortunatly he shrugged and seemed completely unconcerned and I eventually had to ask the female to tone her language down myself.
Breakfast was a very unremarkable buffet affair and the hot beverages where not and almost inedible.
This is a very nice hotel and could be great with some staff training and someone supervising the catering in the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast there is a good value for money café next door (great coffee)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrizz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in the Glasshouse Bar and that you did not find breakfast to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    865
    227
    50
    25
See reviews for
350
979
97
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

After a long flight, we were relieved to find this hotel (a 5 pound taxi ride from Manchester Piccadilly) to be friendly, modern, clean and comfortable. The room was a decent size by European standards which comfortable beds with nice linens, and a very cool bathroom. I need a quiet hotel room and found this one to be great in this respect.

It is located quite close the Printworks where there are some fun restaurants and a 6 or 7 minute walk from the Arndale Centre (large shopping centre). However, the street on which it is located seemed a little rundown though not unsafe.

The front desk and concierge staff were welcoming, friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: Call up at least a day before you arrive and make your requests. We found that they are very good at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time your travel plans permit.
Kind Regards
Madeleine Greenhalgh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is a bit of a trek from Manchester Piccadilly station, if you don't know your way. However it's only 5 mins on the taxi or there's a tram stop just 2 mins walk away. The hotel is located on a main road, so if you are a light sleeper get a room away from the main road.

As I am a light sleeper I requested for a room in a quite zone which I am surprised to see that there is actually such a zone! Room is big enough for one person. There's a nice big double bed and bathroom is good size with very nice comfortable towels.

I didn't have breakfast included so cannot comment on this. Neither did I use any other facilities. The hotel is within walking distance to a shopping centre, and there are some corner shop nearby for you to buy the essential, ie water, snacks, etc.

Overall hotel is very clean, convenient location and staff is friendly too. I would definately stay again next time I am in Manchester

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we have already booked again for our next trip! We stayed for one night in October 2011 as we were going to see Peter Kay in the MEN. Location wise this hotel is perfect for the MEN - we could see the arena from our bedroom window!

On arrival we discovered that we had been a little overkeen and had actually booked a room twice! One was through the Crowne Plaza direct and one was through hotels.com. As we had pre-paid the Crowne plaza room we telephoned hotels.com and I must say they were excellent and gave us a full refund.

We stayed in a club room on the 8th floor which was really lovely. The view of Manchester was really great and the room was clean and tidy and had touches such as bathrobes and slippers which helped made the night enjoyable. The access to the club lounge was an unexpected extra and we made use of it before going to the concert to relax with a couple of drinks. Breakfast was a little basic but comprised of all the staples you would need.

We have already booked to stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.
I am delighted read that you enjoyed your stay so much you have already booked to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and if we can be of any assistance in making your trip memorable please do not hesitate in contacting our Guest Relations Department who will be happy to assist you.
Thank you once again for your candid comments and your continued support.
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Recently stayed at crown plaza manchester for a weekend break. Compared to other crown plaza hotels we have stayed at, manchester would figure low on my list for these reasons listed below.

My relations bedroom was not cleaned, even after prompting the reception in the afternoon, the cleaner turned up around 17.30 and by then were getting ready to go out and just had the towels replaced.
Our corridoor had empty glasses left in two places and even after pointing out to reception and the cleaner, they were still left there for around a day and half, not a good image for any hotel.
We had booked a double delux club room and where i was going to enquire about moving rooms due to being over looked by the apartments opposite us and the fact that there was not a window in the room and being on the small size, my better half said she was ok with the room.I have also just remembered that there was no tea or coffee in the room. The restaurant where the service was good, but the food has not got the wow factor and had to send my main meal back as there was just no taste to the meal, also our liquer coffee's had to go back, once again either very weak or none of the spirits we ordered was in them.
The club room was ok but we was informed that there was no spirits seerved between thursday and sunday, obviously somebody has abused it in the past. The sunday morning breakfast even thou being a continental style was a joke and just having one person on duty is too much for one. People were either waiting for cups, glasses or plates, and then the coffee machine ran out of water and then hot milk and people then had to wait for either orange juice or pastries etc to come out. I have to say that the birmingham crown plaza is still the best club room going.

All in all it was a decent weekend break, but would probably be looking at another hotel group for this area and i never thought i would ever say that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and be assured that the service you received was not a true reflection of the service that we pride ourselves on.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the effect this service had on your weekend, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the points that you have raised. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss these issues further.
Thank you once again for your candid comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

stayed here quite few times. Priority upgrade to club floor is nice, really great rooms and lounge. Staff are great and gym is good if not a bit small. Hotel has no parking but NCP acroos the road is ok. Hotel could sort out a discount for the parking and get wi-fi in the rooms on the club floor to make it even better

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davyboy_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for commenting on your resent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.
I am delighted to read that enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to upgrade you to the club floor with access to the lounge. Complimentary WIFI is available in the bar and reception areas and also in the club lounge on the 8th floor, a cabled connection is also available in the rooms and is complimentary to all Priority Club Members.
We look forward to welcoming you back in near future and thank you for your continued support.
Kind regard
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Wow,what a gem. Modern clean and spacious room. Stayed with z friend, standard twin. We had 2 v comfortable double beds with lots of pillows. Extras like bathrobes etc were lovely. Also struck with how quiet. On 4th floor but no noise at all and I am a light sleeper. Breakfast delicious, good choice and quality. Price was the same asthe premier inn on advanced booking rate! And do so much better!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing