We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,681)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveller rating
1,391
941
256
58
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
941
256
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungenorthern quartercity centrebooked a club roommen arenabath and separate showertwo double bedsprint worksfloor to ceiling windowscar parkcontinental breakfastlovely hotelbars and restaurantsvictoria stationstandard roomfew minutes walkmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,225 - 2,230 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

No real issues with the hotel, reception was helpful, room was clean, airy & spacious, the breakfast was fine if lacking in choice compared to other similar large brand hotels. Are main issue was our room was right next to the back of the lifts and given that we are both light sleepers this made for a disturbed nights sleep, i'm sure in another room we'd have given it 4 stars but for us this let it down. The next day there was a queue out of reception so we didn't get to mention it.

Don't be put off by this the hotel is fine but for us the noise let us down.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper make sure you not behind the lifts!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnytheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns and compliments regarding our hotel. I do apologise for the disturbance the lift may have caused you. At the Crowne Plaza Manchester we do have a designated quiet zone, please do not hesitate to request a room in this area on a future stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great location for a visit to Manchester city centre. Five minutes walk to great shopping, bars and clubs. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, room was very good, only let down was the hot (not very) water. It was just OK for a bath but the shower in the morning was lukewarm. No butter for toast at breakfast!! We were staying over for a show and arrived by train. A very unpublicised service in Manchester is the free city centre shuttle bus service, we got a direct bus back to Oxford Road station from just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your very kind comments and constructive feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I enjoyed my stay here and found the Hotel smart, tidy and with pleasant staff.

While I dont normally Sleep well in the City, I managed a good nights sleep despite having a road facing room.

Its location is ideal just a few minutes walk from Manchester Victoria station.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review.

I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able enjoy a restfuls nights sleep.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here while attending the football. The Hotel was well situated if you want to access the centre of Manchester and want access to the City football ground.
We arrived a little early and could not get our room, this was not a problem and the reception offered to store our bags. The staff however seemed a bit cold and came across a bit unsure of the customer relations bit.
The room we had was a family room and it was well laid out although a little warm and the climate controls seemed a bit unresponsive the view out the window was the back of the hotel which was bit rough, but I wasn’t too concerned with this.
We did not eat in the restaurant at night but did have drink in the bar when we returned from the game with our 10 year old son. There was a young female sitting at the bar having what appeared to be a heated conversation with someone on the phone, the language was terrible and due to my son being in my company I looked to the barman to address this. unfortunatly he shrugged and seemed completely unconcerned and I eventually had to ask the female to tone her language down myself.
Breakfast was a very unremarkable buffet affair and the hot beverages where not and almost inedible.
This is a very nice hotel and could be great with some staff training and someone supervising the catering in the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast there is a good value for money café next door (great coffee)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrizz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in the Glasshouse Bar and that you did not find breakfast to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

After a long flight, we were relieved to find this hotel (a 5 pound taxi ride from Manchester Piccadilly) to be friendly, modern, clean and comfortable. The room was a decent size by European standards which comfortable beds with nice linens, and a very cool bathroom. I need a quiet hotel room and found this one to be great in this respect.

It is located quite close the Printworks where there are some fun restaurants and a 6 or 7 minute walk from the Arndale Centre (large shopping centre). However, the street on which it is located seemed a little rundown though not unsafe.

The front desk and concierge staff were welcoming, friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: Call up at least a day before you arrive and make your requests. We found that they are very good at honouring them.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time your travel plans permit.
Kind Regards
Madeleine Greenhalgh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews