We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, UK
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“A Good Sleep”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Room 123 - First floor, wide corridor outside the room. Sleep quality was great thanks to 2 x comfortable beds, good blackout curtains and no noise from the corridor or outside.

Tea and coffee facilities, good wardrobs, safe in the room for valuables.

Bathroom is very nice too - only I had to run hot water only to get a warmish bath, and only 1 large towel for two people?

Black and white there in the room splashes of red.
Temperature control in the bedroom was excellent too.

Location was super for me, will suit most people who need the Center, Arndale, etc.
Breakfast - in the cafe over the road, good value, good food - sorry hotel, but its better value over the road.
Hotel staff were very good, friendly and efficient.
Overall, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review.

I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to appreciate the contemporary design of the hotel.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    881
    231
    50
    25
See reviews for
355
991
102
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have recently stayed in the Manchester Hilton and Marriott as well as in the Crowne Plaza. Because of its Tripadvisor rating, we expected the Crowne Plaza to be the best of the three, but it was the worst. The good points were the bathroom (especially the shower), the bed and the valet parking. However, we had issues with both the room and the food. The room was too small, and too dark because of having a small window and inadequate lighting. The housekeeping was hit and miss in that we were only given one bathrobe, one pair of slippers and one hand towel for two people. We were surprised there was no information in the room on the facilities in the hotel. The breakfast was basic and the quality and variety was less than we would expect from a Crowne Plaza, and was definitely inferior to that in the Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback which we appreciate in assisting us with areas we needs to target to improve on. I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion as I do appreciate that you have alternative preference within the city, however I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed for three nights in November 2011 when doing some work at the MEN Arena. The hotel is only steps away from the Arndale Centre and the centre of the city. The rooms have a great quality feel to them and are stylishly decorated. The curtains are thick and black the room out perfectly. The temperature control is responsive and simple. The bathroom has a separate bath and shower cubicle which I really liked as some mobility issues can make it a challenge to climb over a bath side when I am stiff first thing in the morning.

There isn't parking at the hotel but the Printworks NCP car park is virtually opposite. I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment on that but everything else was exactly how I needed and wanted it, hence the full five out of five.

Being in the priority club got me free internet which was a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your resent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for you kind comments, these are greatly appreciated we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel plans permit.
Best wishes
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night only as we were going to an event at the MEN arena. The hotel is really well located, short walk from Victoria Station and the arena and equally 5-10 minutes to the main shopping area of Manchester city centre.
The room we had was modern and a decent size with all the usual amenities although we were missing slippers which others in our party had. There was a safe, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee and a mini bar.
The hotel bar served food which looked quite good value although we didn't sample it and drinks were reasonably priced for a city centre hotel.
The breakfast was the only meal we had and was excellent, good selection of hot and cold food and well cooked.
Overall we enjoyed our short stay and would not hesitate to book this hotel again if staying in Manchester city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP_WestYorks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your resent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.
I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drbex999
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed for 1 night, the hotel is new and good decor and beds as you would expect. I stay in a lot of hotels, many in this chain and it is certainly one of the better ones and would chose it again next time.

My only issue was after arriving back at the hotel about 10:30pm, the bar was so slow and very indeed staffed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbex999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your resent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.
We appreciate the opportunity to improve the service we provide and the candid comments provided from all our guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best wishes
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great location, very close 5 minute walking distance to MEN Arena and the Arndale shopping centre. Secure cctv NCP car park only 800metres away 15gbp/24hours.
Our King Deluxe Room was lovely.... modern, comfortable, clean, quiet. Nice separate shower cubicle in bathroom in addition to the bath.
Nice bar/restaurant on ground floor, both restaurant and bar menu's. We had bar menu Battered Fish and Chips which fish was excellent.
Standard free hotel TV channels included Sky Sports 1/2/3 which was nice bonus

Room Tip: Club Lounge is on top floor 8, so if booking club rooms, ask for 8th floor. Club rooms are oh floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review.

I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to appreciate the club room and club lounge facilities.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Brilliant hotel, rooms excellent, Bar staff Charlotte and Pete outstanding.
Will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenleey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
We very much appriciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. Thank you for your praise of Charlotte and Pete, I will ensure your praise is passed on to them both. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing