We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, late night staff need a happy pill ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay here. Got the 2nd night on a BPG a king deluxe club room, then booked a king club room for the firt night using the 35% off pre paid rate. As we were arriving very late I phoned tat dy to confirm the late arrival.

Initial impressions were very disappointing. Two male checkin staff looked pretty disinterested. When I told them my name, tapped on the computer and responded "are you from next door ?". I hadn't a clue what the frame of reference was (later discovered there is a HI beside the CP). Advised him again that I had phoned ahead. Walked across to another section picked up a seal enveloped handed it to me and said " sign here and write down your newspaper selection" and proceeded to walk away. Apparently that was me checked-in. No welcome to the hotel, I see you are platinum, no breakfast is between...no acknowledgement of plat benefits...nothing.

We went to the bar and had a few drinks. Have to say decor appears modern but cheap with an emphasis on easy to wipe down etc.

Opened envelope to see that my platinum was being recognised, and my room was 815. Benefits were free Internet ( but no wifi in the room), 10% of all food and drinks, a free movie. As both my nights were in club rooms, there was also an insert detailing the club hrs.

Room was a reasonable size. Have to say it was very quiet and bed was extremely comfortable, we both had good nights sleep on both nights. Shower unit is one of the smallest I've seen, bathroom is otherwise a pleasant place and looked modern and clean. 1 bottle of still and 1 bottle of sparkling water was available foc.

Minibar prices are probably some of the cheapest prices I've seen for a hotel of this quality.

In the morning it was clear that we were in a corner room, which had two floor to ceiling windows, each one on a different wall, and the one that was getting all the sun was tinted red. Whilst walking outside later it was clear that this was the only room that had such a feature (possibly one other room but I didn't walk around to the other side of the hotel to check). So it would seem that we got some sort of upgrade.

We tried the club room for breakfast on the first day. It had cereals, fruit, yogurt, toaster, pastries juices, tea and coffee. We also sample it later in the dy, and others that some apples and bananas, there was only the tea,coffee and various coke/fanta etc.

That evening we tried it at 6pm ( note had said some alcohol and snacks would be served from 6-8pm). Wine and beer were available but no spirits. Snacks were some chicken bits and some small nibbles.

We sampled the full breakfast room the following morning. Really good selection of everything.

Asked, and received a late checkout to 2pm. Watched our free movie that morning. When checking out, only charge was for the drinks on the night of arrival and some extra water out of the minibar

Over all a very pleasant stay, only marred by the totally underwhelming first impression on arrival.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

For a city hotel, good location, excellent rooms, lovely bathrooms
Food in the restaurant was very very expensive, we were too lazy to go to the locals
Breakfast was excellent
Stay was spoiled by the concierge kerbing the hell out of one of wife's alloys, and then, even thou I said it didn't matter as the other wheels weren't great, they refused to apologise for what they had done, shame, as left a very bad taste

Room Tip: Don't let them park your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Dr Den,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This review is for the conference facilities only. Perhaps 4.5 out of 5 would be more appropriate. The hotel is modern and 4 star. Everything we asked we received. The Conference manager was spot on. I have organised conferences at other hotels in the city and this is probably one of the better ones. The room is not one of the largest in Manchester - would suggest 150 max on round tables in Smithfields suites. The hotel is best for the Northern Quarter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here the weekend of the 20th April, mainly booked the hotel due to the fact they offer football packages. Impressed when we arrived - hotel is modern and funky - room on the 6th floor was a standard room but spacious and immaculately clean, bed was super comfy! Hotel bar was reasonably priced for lovely cocktails and Antonio was a great waiter! Breakfast was of a high standard both mornings. Close to the shops, great location! The tickets to the game were for great seats! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Unfortunatly I was only in Manchester for one night and missed our access to the club lounge happy hour because we took too long driving from Cambridge. I stayed on the 5th floor and the Room was amazing! The bed was really comfortable. I've been travelling in the UK for the past week and for another week still and that was probably one of the nicest rooms.

The hotel is very close to Downtown, we managed to walk down to some of the pubs for a few drinks. The lounge in the hotel is really nice and the breakfast was good. My only problem was we didn't get very fast attention at the bar when we walked in, the bartenders were a little pre-occupied with watching the football game. It wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We decided to stay here last minute as the hotel we were supposed to stay in was horrible!
The reception were so helpful considering we had no booking and we got a very good deal on a club room
The room was very spacious and had everything we needed, the bonus of a club room is the happy hour in the club lounge with free snacks and drinks
We stayed here as going to the MEN Arena and was in easy walking distance of that
So thank you for your great hospitality crowne plaza!
Returning soon as off to another concert :)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bex150291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you very much for completing a review on your recent stay at the hotel, I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the facilities our exclusive club lounge has to offer.
I very much hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre on the next occasion you visit Manchester.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in a King Club Room, which is on the 8th floor with access to the club lounge (with drinks all day and alcoholic drinks and canapes 6pm-8pm). The staff helped us with everything from switching rooms, parking the car and keeping our luggage safe after we'd checked out. Madeline and Mike were exceptionally helpful!

The room itself was huge with lots of light, and a bed which took about 5 minutes to get from one side to another. It's also in a great location to visit all that Manchester has to offer. I would recommend it to everyone :)

Room Tip: Ask to be on the left side when you exit the lifts..the rooms are brighter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0cha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester.

I was delighted to read of your positive comments about your stay especially around the excellent service that you received whilst at the Hotel. Please be assured that all comments we receive at the Hotel are shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £81 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, IHG, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing