We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Duty Manager solved my problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Duty Manager solved my problem!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were going to the Barry Manilow concert (Not my idea!!) and chose the Crowne Plaza because of its close proximity to the Manchester Arena.
There was an issue with my booking and it could not be resolved by the receptionist.
After checking into our very pleasant and comfortable room, I spoke to the Duty Manager, a charming lady, who went above and beyond to help me to remedy things.
I have to say that everyone we spoke to at the Hotel was very pleasant and clearly customer service rates highly in their list of priorities!
But for me, the duty manager convinced me that it was a good place to stay and return to.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and there was some traffic and noise from pedestrians below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce363021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    861
    225
    50
    25
See reviews for
347
976
97
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights on business in April 2012. I liked the unusual layout of the corridors (painted black walls and white doors and very wide corridors). The room was clean and comfortable with soft comfy duvet and pillows. No room noise which was great. Nice touches of two choclates in room and tea tray with biscuits. As this hotel is only about a five minute walk from the Centre of Manchester it makes a great base for business or shopping trips.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherc027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel, stayed at this hotel on April 27th. We got to the hotel at about 3 o'clock and was greeted by a very nice guy at the reception he was very friendly and efficient the whole check it took about 2-3 minutes. We stayed in a family room as there was three of us, found it very strange that although they knew there were three of us we had only 2 cup's and 2 towel's. We stayed here to go to the MEN Arena which is less the five minute's away also less than five minute's walk to the shop's and bar's. When we got back after the show we used the bar and again all the staff were great and the drinks were not to badly priced. We also used the parking at the MEN Arena as this £15 for 24 hours. Overall not too bad and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrylB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Manchester City Centre on a Saturday night, and although we spotted a "Hen Party" on our floor, there was absolutely no noise at night. We arrived before mid-day and got checked in very quickly and were given our room (at least a hour earlier then normal check in). Room had two very comfortable double beds, plenty of pillows (4 on each bed, plus 2 cushions per bed), we were given a room on the Priority Club floor so also had a dressing gown and slippers in the room. TV had a number of extra channels including Sky Sports. Bathroom was large and included both a large bath and separate shower cubicle. Tea and Coffee facilities included cookies. There was also a mini-bar and safe in the room. We received a note and little gift as a thank you for being a Priority Club member and our past stays at the Manchester hotel. Breakfast was included in our rate and this was self services with plenty of variety - cereals, danish pastries, corrisants, fruit, bread / toast, various juices, cooked breakfast (including potato cakes, hash browns, eggs, sausage, bacon, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes). Breakfast room is large and there were no queues or waiting. We picked the hotel because of is location as we were going to a show at the MEN Arena, which is 5 mins walk away. Also very near to the city centre shops, less than 5 mins walk. Staff were all very nice and we look forward to staying again at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club and you may recieve a room on the Priority Club Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards. I am delighted that you were recognised and welcomed as a Priority Club Member.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Me and my partner stayed here club room 515 and it was terrific. Very comfy beds nice bathroom and very big tv. Customer service was spot on my stay was on may the 12th thanks again will be returning again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelightowler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Every member of staff I encountered (including the concierge who replied to my email about parking before our stay) was friendly, well-trained (the receptionist explaining the arrangements for breakfast and indicating the room number on the card rather than shouting it out for everyone to hear which is a bugbear of mine!) and helpful and the whole hotel was spotless and well presented. Our room was 216, one of the club rooms and it was on the end of a corridor. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel room which was sooo quiet. No noise at all! The room was large and contained everything you'd expect for a hotel of this standard. Again it was very clean, the decor modern and the beds were comfy.
My only criticism is that there were three of us staying in the room. This was made clear at the time of booking so we shouldn't have had to keep phoning for extra robes, tea cups, tea bags and glasses etc. I travel with the same friends regularly and this happens a lot. It's a minor irritation (and was very quickly rectified), but I wish hotels would check that!
We ordered room service which was prompt and there are items available 24hrs - there's a £3.50 tray charge to be aware of though.
We also had access to the Club Lounge on the 8th floor but it was very busy at 6pm on Saturday (they offer free drinks and canapes between 6 and 8pm) so there was nowhere to sit. I imagine it is quite a nice place to relax when it's less chaotic though!
The hotel is really well located. There is an NCP car park right across the road (£15.20/24hrs), it's five minutes walk to the Arndale Centre and on the edge of the Northern Quarter. I would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Can recommend 216 - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Excellent hotel, it was everything I would want in a hotel. It was clean, bathroom was nice and everything was modern and kept well. Bed was really comfortable and nice TV. Breakfast was really nice also and everyone that worked there was really friendly too. It is also close to the main shops. Highly recomend and even more so to people who want to sleep in a room where they feel clean and looked after.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missprincess_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing