We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality, modern hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel; very modern design and well located for the city centre shops

The room was a good size, with a large very comfortable King bed and work desk. The bathroom was well lit, but could have been better designed as the shower was a bit tight to get to due to the way the doors open.

Service was good at the hotel, and breakfast staff were attentive. The breakfast was a buffet style with a wide selection of hot and cold items; despite having breakfast later in the service there was still a full selection available.

The main shops and city centre are moments away, as are tram/bus links.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We've just returned from a family weekend trip at the Manchester Crown plaza, having stayed at 2 Plaza's in London i was sure this would be adequate for my young family to stay in as I've always had a lovely stay before. Unfortunately I feel alittle let down by the size of room for 2adults & 2children, and let down by the service of staff. I was quiet shocked at the small room we arrived in 2 small than double beds with a tiny wardrobe not for 4persons cloths for the weekend, tiny 'bathroom size window' so very dark and no space to store our bags or case so left near the door! When I asked for bigger room I was told all rooms were this size and no big ones available to pay for upgrade. (419) dont take if your a family of 4!. Then our first morning of breakfast, we all sat down having got our hot food, for my youngest to ask for bathroom (typical!) so my husband takes her then my other asked for more melon so I literally nip to the fruit section for 2mins with her to get back & discover our whole table of breakfast had been cleared!!! all plates inc mine, girls & husbands. He was very apologetic 'please go get some more' by now I was beyond wanting to do it all again! So coffee & croissant.
Then after our full day of shopping & Lion King, we thought we'd eat at the hotel restaurant....Opens at 5.30pm we were the first in & to order at 5.45pm and I specifly asked for the childrens meals asap..well 6.50pm (remember the only ones to order!) we received our food after asking 3times but getting more annoyed that the waitress never returned to tell us whats happened always sending her manager and then staying away from us! When finally arrived my husband didnt get what he asked for, which he was told would have to wait another 20mins for the turkey by now he was wound up and not willing to wait so did not eat. By now it was full & not enough staff, we quickly got the girls deserts around 7.25pm. The manager was very apologetic again (which I did feel sorry for him as he also had several people leave as they were waiting so long and his 1 waitress was quite frankley not very much use)!! It got even better after settling the girls in our box room & tv on 6 silent, for the fire alarm to go off & scare the life out of us all about 10.20pm for 5mins, trying to ring reception or anyone, no answer at all for over 20mins??? So when it was turned off we stayed put as was not taking girls out at that time and was not told or contacted to leave again? we had no idea what was going on? clearly false alarm as no fire! Then after that what seemed like the staff entrance out of our tiny window I saw some idiot jump on his motorbike & sit there for at least 10mins revving the loudest engine ever waking them up again to then finally sod off!! so to say we had a lovely relaxing weekend stay would be an understatment I'd say!! The hotels interior was lovely and what food we got to try was nice, I just felt staff were the let down here as I've stayed in Crown Plaza's before and their staff have always been so competent and so efficient I was so disappointed, I wouldn't be returning here again.

Room Tip: maybe look before accept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toft80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback of your recent experience. We strive to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience here and appreciate being made aware when they don't. I am concerned to read your review and I am very sorry that you did not have a positive visit. I am most keen to look into your feedback in more detail and would be very grateful if you could contact the hotel directly at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

I look forward to hearing from you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Hotel located rigth in the center, 20 minuts drive from the airport and close to a number of christmas markets. Modern and very smart hotel. Varm welcome in reception and fast checkin. Room very modern and spacy with all needed, high bed , could be a litle harder. Nice soft carpet and every thing very clean. Internet fast and good. Bathroom large and with both shower and bathtub. Did have a room on the first floor to the strett side, were a bit noice from trafic both in evening and morning so do recommend room higher up and to the back side of the hotel.Was offered addapter for power supply to computer.Staff very helpfull and proff. Do recommend the hotel for business, for holiday i would look for a hotel with a bit more atmosphaere. Will be back

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester. I was delighted to read of your positive comments about your stay especially around the excellent welcome that you received at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

So loved this hotel. Superb, superb,superb location. We came for a concert last December and so enjoyed our two days here. I had booked a Club room but had no idea the advantages yo get. Room was beautiful huge King size bed. Located on 8th floor your key gives you access to special club room for nibbles and free drinks. Also you can just go chill out here. Unlimited free beverages all day.
We stayed Friday and Saturday night and total cost was only £240.00 considering it was close to xmas and big concert in town, and club room advantages I feel was a huge bargain.
Staff and service excellent (apart from one barman who wrong changed me of £20.00 and didnt seem too apolgetic, but more interested in spinning cocktails to impress some single females nearby) took our bags early as we arrived at 10.00am form flight and stored bags late for evening flight. Fast checkout and very helpful ringing taxis.
Would love come back again and stay here. I have tried to get Glasgow hotel for similiar price but no chance the club room is double what we paid for two nights.
Thanks for a memorable weekend!

Room Tip: Go Club Level if possible- the view and perks are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-2011-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review.
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com. I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to make use of the facilities in the club lounge.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here on 17th November with my husband and another couple. I was very impressed with the room facilities and decor.

We drank at the bar later and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is buffet style and has a good choice. It is centrally located, brillant for the shops and restaurants. I will definitely stay again when in Manchester.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed here with my husband for my birthday treat. We were both very happy with this hotel. Location is great, just a few minutes walk from Victoria station and literally around the corner from the Northern Quarter. We were met with a cheerful receptionist and nice clean, open lobby area. The restaurant/bar is next to reception, again liked the look of it but didn't indulge in drinks there as we were wanting to head to the Northern Quarter.
After getting out of the lift to make our way to our room, the cleaners were busy but stopped to say hello which, again made the place feel nice and friendly. Our room was a standard double but we were more than happy with it, it had a bit of a retro feel to it and good views. It did not smell and was very clean (unlike our experience at the Mecure Picadilly).
We had breakfast the following morning at the hotel, the usual buffet hot and cold choices, and again, friendly staff who promptly offered us tea/coffee.
Overall we both decided that this was our favourite hotel in Manchester and we will be visiting again. For the price you pay it's brilliant value for money in a great loacation with staff who are a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atkibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments towards our hotel and staff. I will pass on your great comments accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very basic, other than for Gill Brunt at the front office, it is also an infriendly place. Breakfast is also as basic as it can get, they could not even find some Tobasco or chilli sauce. Cheap but also rather nasty. The gym is a joke, about the size of a bathroom, and one (of 2!) treadmills broken.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns and compliments regarding our hotel.

I am concerned to read your review and I am very sorry that you did not have a positive visit. I am most keen to look into your feedback in more detail and would be very grateful if you could contact the hotel directly at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £79 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing