We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just stayed one night (two couples, two queen rooms) on room only basis, booked a few months ago for a great rate compared to similar hotels. Like previous reviewer I always ask for a high floor and we got 7th floor (think 8th was just for penthouse suite). This was totally quiet - we heard no noise from other rooms or very wide corridor and only the odd siren from outside. Lovely wall size window on one side made it nice and light with a decent view - we could see the Pennines in the distance!
Great location in Northern Quarter which is slightly away from main hustle bustle but shops (eg Arndale Centre) and restaurants and bars a stones throw away. Also close to Shudehill Metrolink (a few stops from Picadilly).
Bed was super comfortable and room layout good with clever use of mirrors and high gloss black furnishings. Bathroom well appointed including rare batha dn separate shower cubicle, nice toiletries.
Only improvement suggested would be slightly cooler air conditioning but it was a very hot day and it didn't spoil our sleep. Didn't use restaurant or bar but looked nice.
Would have no hesitation booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose high floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback, it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,517)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very nice hotel. Decent location, 10 mins brisk walk from Piccadilly Gardens. Reception staff were very attentive & friendly. Rooms very modern, well-appointed with comfy chair & bed. Good views of Manchester from the huge windows. The bathroom was really nicely done out with separate bath & shower and a good selection of toiletries. Breakfast was ok. Decent enough but not quite as high a standard as the rest of the hotel. I stayed on a business rate which was good value. I'd stay again for the right price.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com. It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards and helps us to focus on areas that we need to improve.
Thank you for your kind comments towards our hotel and staff. I will pass on your great comments accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time your travel plans permit.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had another great stay at the Crowne Plaza City in Manchester. I am a multi returning guest and always use this hotel for business or please. Excellent location and more so, great clean rooms and comfy beds. Its worth the few quid extra to stay somewhere so nice. Well and worthily recommended. I did have a problem this time with food ordered but the hotel was quick to put it right and so very apologetic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rascall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, Its always a pleasure to read such kind comments and that you enjoy your stays at the hotel and have returned so many times. We appreciate your feedback especially from returning guests who take the time to share their experience. I will assure your comments are shared with the team.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We take chains like this for granted; CP was well situated in the Northern Quarter, spacious, clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and welcoming. Nice touches like quality free papers at reception take it a notch above cheaper chains. Free wifi worked well. Good local cafes do breakfasts. We went to (ironical?) twee named "Home Sweet Home" on Edge Street. Delicious.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the street, not far from the lift and were undisturbed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, I hope we have persuaded you that Crowne Plaza is the brand for you.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a really well located hotel in the Northern quarter but very modern and comfortable. Bedroom with two double beds a bath and shower. Hot water was a bit luke warm. Very friendly staff and a good price.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your review on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback.

I very much hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre on the next occasion you visit Manchester.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Husband and I stayed in this hotel after a gig at the MEN and were really impressed. We got parked up directly opposite the hotel at a cheap rate via reception, who were v helpful. The hotel decor is modern and attractive. Our room was fantastic, very contemporary and comfortable with large bed and bathroom. Came with bathrobes and slippers. Would have been a five star review if the breakfast had been hotter and included decent scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlyNo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was not to our usual excellent standard.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Well I was staying with a group of colleagues. The hotel was very courteous to us during our stay and accommodated our odd hours. The rooms although not luxurious, were well designed, clean, and functional. The bar staff was fantastic, great set of people running the place. The hotel located just 5 min walk from the better restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1whereintheworldami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Warmest regards from the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

I was delighted to read of your positive comments about your stay especially regarding the excellent staff service that you received at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Manchester in the future.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £81 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing