We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel near Arndale Centre in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel near Arndale Centre in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a very good hotel near to one of Manchester's main shopping centres. While the area around is run down and there are too many car parks this hotel is very close and convenient to a shopping centre.
The rooms are spacious clean and airy.
The staff are very good and helpful. I forgot my cufflinks and one of the staff brought a pair of his own in to lend me - service over and above.
The bar and restaurant are good if a little functional. The food is good and good value.
It is good value and if you need to be in this area of Manchester the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I am most pleased that our staff went above and beyond and offered to lend their own cufflinks to you. Your kind comments will be shared with the team.

I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    851
    221
    49
    25
See reviews for
342
963
96
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbeach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on various occasions for work and is a professional but friendly place where every need is catered for and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The city centre is at your doorstep so easily accessible for someone even like me who can't walk too much. And when I was there near Christmas they sent me a lovely Christmas card!

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Lisa

Thank you very for sharing your comments, I am delighted you have continued to stay with us and hope you continue to do so whether its for work or leisure. Your kind comments have been shared with the team and we hope you can stay this Christmas as well, please can you make contact to guest.relations@cpmanchester.com if you are planning on visiting us again soon.

Thank you once again and Merry Christmas!
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

New hotel near the hear of Manchester where I spent one night for business. Hotel is clean, modern/trendy styled but does not give a warm feeling overall. The bedroom has got it, bed is truly good and one of the best I spent a night on this year. The breakfast for this level of hotel was not impressive at all, I had superior first of the day meals in lesser rated properties. Not much of a choice and truly standard. Considering hotel pricing it would deserve a step to impress me. Furthermore, but I am truly anti, I did not like the Starbucks onsite for getting your coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperHofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve. I was saddened to read your comments about the ambiance and I am sorry the breakfast experience did not meet up to your standards. Please rest assure your comments are important to us and I have shared them with the management team to discuss and use to improve the guest experience. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the bedrooms and I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of our beds.

Thank you once again and I do appreciate that you have alternative preferences within the city, however I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city.
Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather
General Manager – Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night to visit Christmas market. Easy to find with a great central location, booking in was so easy and staff so helpfull. Are room on the first floor was spotless,modern and very comfortable. Good size bath separate shower, great toiletries and large fluffy towels. The bed was the best I have ever slept in, full size mirrors, nice tea tray. Comfortable chair and stool a bonus. The dining room bright airy and very clean, attentive friendly staff and a great choice for breakfast. Top quality food and drinks. W e all enjoyed our stay and will be back next year. Well done and a merry Christmas to all at the Crowne Plaza.
John T

Room Tip: Many sites for this hotel found Booking.com at £102 per couple including breakfast a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and hope you enjoyed the Xmas markets too. I will ensure your kind comments are shared with the team.
We wish you a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year too.


We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We arrived on Saturday the 23rd at 13:40 to be welcomed by lady, who was a trainee. She was smiley and friendly and informed us that the room was not ready until 14:00. No problem we waited in the bar and had a drink. The bar was very nicely decorated and the Guinness was great. We went back to check in at about 14:10 with the same lady. She did not ask how long we were staying, what type of room we were in or if we wished to leave a credit card for extras. She was too busy upselling breakfast to us. This she did for only one morning even though we were staying two nights. We got to the room and found it was a double bed when we booked a twin. We rang back down to the reception and they said that we should wait in the room and we would be downgraded to a standard twin but could still use the club lounge. We were OK with this and two minutes later we had a knock at the door. A housekeeping porter asked if we were moving and we assumed he would be assisting us. We walked out of the room and he went back to work. We informed him we had been told to wait in the room but he said no we should go downstairs to reception. We did this while a lady was on her way up to give us our new keys. She then came back downstairs and we received the keys to a Club twin room!?!
The receptionist also explained about the use of the club lounge, breakfast times etc.
We had room service that afternoon and the food was very good. Many compliments to the chef. We took a beer and a water from the minibar when we first got in the room and then the minibar was locked. If the receptionist had asked for a pre authorisation on check in we wouldn't have had the issue.
The housekeeping maids we met on the floor were also very friendly.
The room was a bit stuffy and lacked ventilation. It would have been nice to open a window just a tiny bit. The shower cubicle was small and not great for two 6'4" well built blokes. The grout in the shower had black stains on it and there were leak marks on the ceiling by the spotlights. The beds were extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was great with a good variety of cooked items. The supervisor there was very helpful as were the serving staff.
The bar staff on Sunday evening were like chalk and cheese. The blonde gentleman was very friendly. The black haired gentleman acted as if I was a nuisance to him and didn't say please or thank you. If you don't like to serve people don't work in hospitality!
I had breakfast in the Club Lounge on Monday morning and the gentleman working in there was very helpful and friendly. The girl who checked us out was not. Monday morning blues probably.
The hotel was in a great location for the City of Manchester stadium but that is one of only a couple of pluses. I would not chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We really appreciate receiving such a detailed review following your experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I would like to sincerely apologise for any problems you encountered with regards to your stay. Please rest assure this is not the normal high levels of service the hotel wishes to prevail. It is our aim to continue to improve upon the service we provide. Therefore your comments are extremely important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary steps to ensure similar situations are avoided in the future. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to make improvements. I am most keen for us to discuss the details with you further if you are happy to. Please could you contact us at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
We look forward to hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

A shopping weekend visit. Rooms were stylish and had comfy beds. The reception were helpful and any communications with the hotel prior to our arrival were dealt with.

We used the valet service as we weren't sure about parking in the city. Had to leave car outside the hotel on double yellow lines with hazards on due to a bus being parked in the small bay (also marked with double yellows), but there's plenty of room on the road to allow other users to pass. Valet service was efficient and we were happy. Maybe the option to extend parking by the hour after the first 24 hours could be considered by the hotel for the future? If you don't want to use valet parking there are car parks in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed a tasty meal, made even better by the excellent value as we had the set 3 course menu with wine.

The fitness room is a cv fitness room with a couple of resistance machines and no free weights. But it was clean and not busy so we had a good session for what we wanted.

We would definitely stay and eat here again in the future. I really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review - I am delighted that you had a great shopping weekend at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Your comments about the hotel are most kind, and I'll be sure to pass them on to the team.

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you all back soon.

Kind regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

i had dinner with my wife on 22nd of this month, would like to thanks for the excellent service i received in the restaurant specially by the host explaining the menu and suggesting the wine for me. The food was really of high standard and would recommend this hotel for dinning to my friends.

Room Tip: Beautiful restaurant and great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Price W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience of our hotel and restaurant. I will certainly forward your compliments to the restaurant manager and his team. I hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing