We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for exploring Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location for exploring Manchester”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked this hotel as a treat for the whole family over Christmas, so we could do the sales and also have a night out in the city. Great location for both, easy walk to the shops and lots of restaurants and bars. We had booked to eat the other side of town but there was no problem getting a taxi at reception, they were very helpful. If I had a complaint it would be that at checking in there was no mention of where to park the car, even though it seems they have discount rates at some car parks. Next time I will ask. The hotel itself was lovely, very clean, the rooms spacious with all facilities expected and very little noise from the road below. The beds were really comfy and the bathroom excellent with its separate shower. Since my last stay they have also added starbucks coffee in the bar which is another plus. I would choose this hotel again next time we are in town

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Joanna C,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our high standards.
I am very happy to hear that the whole family enjoyed the treat and the Christmas shopping.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre the next time your travel plans permit.

Best Regards,

Bob Fairweather,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    865
    227
    50
    25
See reviews for
350
979
97
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I originally booked into the Holiday Inn but on my arrival a notice was on the entrance door stated closed due maintenance and therefore they booked into this hotel.

I have to say this is the first hotel I’ve stayed in that meets my standards from arrival to my departure. The service was very good, although the host at breakfast was very professional it would have been nice if he were a bit more human. The double room was spotless, great faculties, spacious, loved the floor to ceiling windows and although it was very clean it was difficult to flush the toilet. The breakfast was very good resaonable chioce of foods. The location is brilliant for shopping for those whom like to shop till they drop but if your going for the night life it’s a bit of a walk but within walking distance.

My overall stay experience was very good experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

Well done to all the staff from the reception desk to the cleaners!!!!

Kind Regards

Room Tip: Front street view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for your great review. All of us at the Crowne Plaza Manchester work hard for our guests' satisfaction and I will certainly pass your comments on to the staff.
I would like to apologize for the relocation and for the few small issues that you experienced during your stay.

I hope we can welcome you at the hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel won a TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice award this year and it is obvious why.

Service and location are excellent, right in the city centre and a short walk to Arndale Centre and Deansgate; I booked an exec room on the 8th floor (think that is right) for a single night's stay which was huge and good value, plus gave free access to the exec lounge. Wifi is good & free and food for breakfast was great.
What's not to like? Will be back on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room, on the 8th floor (I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Adrianhands,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review.
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete such a nice feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We very much hope to welcome you back next time you are in Manchester for business or leisure.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The shape of the building and corridors does make this hotel different from the average modern glass and steel hotel. Good sized comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and very convenient for most of the centre and the metrolink at Shudehill. Possibly could do with a litte more orienteering from the hotel. Overlooks the new Coop HQ which itself is quite dramatic, but one too many rather brutalist car parks in the vicinity. Service was excellent and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear DavidLGardner,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all of our guests, especially those that take time out of their busy day to write a review about their stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre and appreciated the hotel facilities as well.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the crowne plaza Manchester and really enjoyed it. The room was lovely and clean,beautiful bathroom with a bath and a shower. Good tea and coffee supplies. Comfortable bed, had a good nights sleep. Had a lovely breakfast in the morning, lots of choice, would definately stay again. Fab location!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester. I am pleased to read that you found the bed comfortable and had a good night sleep followed by a lovely breakfast in the morning.

I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel soon.

Thank you again.

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Check in was a little disappointing as pre-registration documentation had not been prepared although booked and paid in advance. Also the receptionist seem unaware that breakfast had been included in our package with a Club room as she was encouraging us to book breakfast as an additional charge, and then left us to see to a VIP check-in which was a little disconcerting. However this poor service was noticed by a Senior Receptionist who was more helpful, and able to confirm that breakfast indeed included in our pre-payment.

Our Club room exceeded expectations by its size, and facilities, and was spotlessly clean. However, although reserved for three people only towels and bathrobes had been provided for two guests. Phoned housekeeping but no answer, but managed to see a Room Maid working on the floor who provided the missing towels.

On this occasion did not manage breakfast after a late night so cannot comment on this

Had a great night sleep without any traffic noise, and check-out was much more efficient, and the concierge service for left luggage was very good too.

Would certainly return when an overnight stay in Manchester is again required, but do be aware when booking on the website that this was a little misleading as when booking for three the price quoted is for two and then a supplement is added for the third person

Room Tip: Club rooms are well worth the additional charge for the spacious rooms and additional perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucilou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that, on arrival, your first impression of our hotel and service was not the best.
These issues have now been addressed with the members of staff involved.

I do hope to welcome you back here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with very friendly staff. Lovely clean room with great facilities. Breakfast was plentiful and hot with good service. An all round great hotel close to all city centre amenities. Struggled to find fault and will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I'm pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit overall and I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,874 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing