We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel: clean, spacious and nice Club Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in room 716 which is a brilliantly spacious family room with 2 double beds and ceiling to floor windows. Beds are comfy, toiletries and tea/coffee plentiful and the club room is really nice. My only complaint is that the food area in the club room is in the wrong place and it becomes a bit of a bun fight between 9 and 10am at the weekends. Will definitely stay again. Perfect location for the city centre.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank EastbourneFamilyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities, as well as indulging in a drink and breakfast in our Club Lounge.

I do appreciate your feedback about the breakfast setup in the Club Lounge and look forward to welcoming you at the Crowne Plaza again soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Having worked in many city centre hotels this is a great standard of hotel. Only stayed for one night, facilities and staff are great, rooms are modern and clean. Ideal location for the city centre and nightlife. Drinks are quite expensive so id recommend venturing out into local northern quarter if you fancy a tipple.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for posting your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to hear great comments from someone who has been on the other side of the hotel business before.

I will be more than happy to pass your feedback on to all staff here at the hotel.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 24/1/14 and from the minute I walked into the reception I was impressed. Check in was easy and comfortable, we entered the room and it was so impressive the bathroom was especially good. Bed was lovely and comfortable. Would stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank geordie701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear geordie701,

thank you for this wonderful review. We are all very happy to read your comments and to hear that you have enjoyed your time at the hotel and the service from our attentive staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre as soon as your travels permit.

Many thanks
Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Visited 23rd January for one night as a birthday treat, and found the both the hotel and staff excellent. A great location for popping in to the City and with parking opposite the hotel at £9.50 for 24 hours makes it a good price. We were upgraded to the eighth floor which also has the club lounge which is great with free canopies and drinks in the evenings and a buffet breakfast in the morning all inclusive. The receptionist in the club lounge was really helpful on directions to places and recommended the Sweet Mandarin Chinese restaurant close by that was excellent and saved a walk across to China Town. Room was excellent with a great view of Manchester
and the bed was very comfortable, so we both slept well. will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read your comments about the staff, the room, and I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.
Also, I was happy to learn that you enjoyed the amenities that come with our Executive Club rooms, such as the access to the Club Lounge for drinks and canapes and breakfast.

I am glad that you had a lovely, relaxing time while staying with us, and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you both back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great location, very comfortable room and friendly and attentive staff. However, for a hotel of this quality, breakfast was a disappointment. Turgid "buffet" style tasteless food and lousy coffee and orange juice. On par with breakfast at a Travelodge or Holiday Inn Express and it should be much better.

If breakfast is your thing (and for me it is a key differentiator) check out the Malmaison or less expensive Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.co.uk.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast and that you did not find the food at the buffet to your liking. I will ensure that your feedback regarding breakfast quality and service is passed to the relevant teams to be addressed.

I hope to welcome you back at the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed for only one night while in Manchester for business.

Parking is in a vacant lot across the street - although apparently it is watched 24/7 by on-site security guards which gave some comfort - however you then need to lug your bags across a main road to check-in. From memory 24 hr parking was 11 pounds - not too bad.

Room was on the 4th floor and I had no complaints. Comfy bed, complimentary biscuits, tea/coffee. The shower was quite small although fine for one night. TV stations were quite limited and having to pay for all movies a little rich when you are paying over 100GBP for the room.

Also the free wifi is only for "checking emails" - and was very slow. If you want a faster connection you have to pay. I had room service for dinner - standard burger which was what you would expect from a chain hotel.

However the location is good - 5 min walk to Selfridges and Harvey Nichols etc.

Overal a basic, chain hotel that is a sound option if you are in need of a room for the night with good access to the city centre.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise from the main road out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miffy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback, it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.

I am pleased to advise that in addition to self parking option which we offer at £9,50 per 24hours, there is also the valet parking that we offer at £18 per 24hours. If you prefer to offload your luggage before going to park the car, our concierge will be more than happy to help.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with the internet connection, but I'm happy to learn that you had time to enjoy the hotel's location, close to one of the main shopping areas in Manchester.


Again, thank you for taking the time to write some feedback on the Crowne Plaza.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Visited again at the start of January after time here last year. Great hotel, close to bars, restaurants and Arndale Shopping Centre.

Can be a bit noisy at the on front rooms to street, but doesn't disturb too much.

Bar is small, modern and expensive but worth a visit.

Well recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Cheeksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear valued guest,
many thanks for your review and for taking the time to comment on your last stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and the service from our staff.

Your feedback has already been passed on to all here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £79 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing