We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One for the girls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ferryhill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One for the girls”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends hen do, it is in a great location in the centre of Manchester, staff were friendly and the rooms spacious and clean, we got a deal where you go the room and evening meal, I have to say that the restaurant was great with Asian fusion foods that was great. I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazmoh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends had a memorable visit and intend to recommend our hotel and restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    865
    227
    50
    25
See reviews for
350
979
97
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staveley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent, clean rooms on the IHG Rewards Floor with really good beds, decor and bathrooms, good breakfast, excellent concierge and city centre location. Overnight NCP car parking within 50 metres costs £15/night. The bar is a bit soulless but the club lounge is very good. No need to say any more!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review - I am delighted that you had a terrific time at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Your comments about the staff are most kind, and I'll be sure to pass them on to the team.

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here on business.Room looked very modern & newly refurbished. Bathroom immaculate & clean. Bed was very comfortable - one of the best nights sleep in a hotel ever. Breakfast was included & good choice of cooked & continental available. Staff friendly & welcoming & offered to book nearby restaurants. Location is convenient. Parking nearby at concessionary rates at two close carparks, although no parking at the hote;

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback, we very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com. I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us, enjoyed your night's sleep and our delicious breakfast in the morning.

We hope to see you here again soon!

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Came here with my partner for Valentines day- a standard queen room cost me £129.00 including breakfast.
It was the second time I've stayed at this hotel, I believe we were in a Club room before as this room was a lot smaller than the one we had. Room was lovely and tidy, only thing that I think they should do is spruce the room up a little bit for couples on Valentines day, I did ask how much it would cost and they told me it would cost £30.00 extra, but I think it should have just been a complimentary thing for the evening, especially for the price you pay to stay. Bed was very comfortable and it was great to have air conditioning
It is a nice location and the staff are very professional and friendly and seemed very happy to help. The breakfast staff were also lovely the next morning and the food was great.
It's a lovely hotel and I would go back again and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ND92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
I am happy to hear that you chose the Crowne Plaza Manchester for your stay on Valentine's day, thank you very much for your kind comments.
Also, I am pleased to read that you found the bed to be so comfortable, we do get many compliments on the comfort of our beds!

I will pass your comments on to all staff here at the hotel.

Thank you again, I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times and on this occasion I had booked a Club Room Deluxe. When arrived was given a 1st floor room but toilet seat was broke and cracked I felt room was smaller and no different to a normal Club Room and there was no view and looked out over a flat roof disappointing as room is more expensive than a normal club room the room was in a separate corridor with only 2 rooms and draft excluder was hanging off door frame just looked like no upkeep is taking place. I Spoke to reception staff who were ver helpful offered to move me I told them just give me a normal club room which they did it was just ok room was at back of hotel so quieter but room was very dark as it only had a small window which looked directly onto floors on hotel behind what was strange is that the curtain covered whole wall even though window was quite small compared to front of hotel also plugs in the room 1 was completely smashed in below bench at side of bed if you had young children with you could easily crawl under and potentially electrocute themselves just feel hotel is slipping and not what I expect from the Crown Plaza brand I don't consider myself a difficult traveller and just look for basic things I will be considering staying in another hotel on my next visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear neil c,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your future travels.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
644 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Excellent location for the Printworks, shopping, the northern quarter etc For £9 (outdoor) ot £12 (indoor) you can book 24 hours car parking at the desk, which is a good deal ! Breakfast superb as are the rooms, modern, stylish decor + super-comfortable. The only issues which would prevent me giving it 5 stars are the price (little bit expensive) and also we mentioned to the desk there had been an unusual mumbling, mechanical sound all night from our room, upper floors at the rear, not sure if it was air con, heating system, pipes etc or maybe building site next door, desk were very polite and said were glad we'd brought it to their attention but they couldn't offer an explanation ?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards.
Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your nights' sleep.
If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com, our Guest Relations Team will be happy to help.

Thank you again.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel - check in was quick and easy and the staff in the reception area were extremely helpful and accommodating. On the second day, we asked for extra tea and toiletries in the room and we also had an issue with one of the spot lights in the wardrobe (which we couldn't switch off) and they immediately sent someone to fix the light and to give us the extra things.

The room we were in was a twin room and was spacious enough for 3 people and very clean. They cleaned the room every day and we always found fresh towels available when we returned to the room in the evening. Beds are very comfortable too!

The hotel is situated in an ideal location, only a few minutes away on foot from Arndale Shopping Center and from Market Street. You can get to the hotel easily by taking the train to Piccadilly from the Airport and then the metro link (tram) to Shudehill. A single ride with no return on the tram costs 1.20GBP during off peak hours. Very cheap and convenient. The tram passes through market street so if you're in Manchester to shop, you don't need to carry your bags on foot, you can just hop onto a tram to the hotel.

The breakfast area is spacious enough and is served in the Glass House restaurant on ground floor. You can choose to have bread, croissants, fruit, cereal, bacon, sausages, baked beans, potatoes, eggs and much more. There's nothing like a good traditional English buffet breakfast in the morning! The staff working in the breakfast lounge are very friendly and will cater to your every whim.

At the top of our list of complaints was the internet connection. Our room was located on floor 6 and we didn't have a decent wifi connection. To get a decent wifi connection you have to pay for premium access. This was very disappointing! With the free wifi provided you can only check your emails and browse a little. Forget watching any youtube videos.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay but if I were to go back to Manchester, I don't think I'd stay at the Crowne Plaza, mostly because when I travel I need a good internet connection and I couldn't get one here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gudida82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on some aspects but, on another note, sad that you could not make use of the internet facilities as much as you would have liked.

Our Guest Relations Team is available to assist, we would very much like to have you here with us again. The email address of our guest relations team is guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.
They look forward to assisting you.

Best regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing