We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night's stay in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good night's stay in Manchester”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away for my girlfriends 21st. I booked it well in advance and I got a really good price for a standard room. After arriving in Manchester and parking (which the hotel have a discount on the NCP car park over the road) we got into the hotel late. The hotel is centrally located and is on a main bus route and is within walking distance of The Printworks which is full of bars and restaurants. Whilst checking in, we were greeted by friendly staff and was we were upgraded to a Club room (Bigger beds, brighter rooms, bathrobe and slippers) which I was really pleased about and was well deserved after driving on a friday evening from Birmingham. We had a drink in the hotel bar which was averagely priced but set a nice modern relaxed feel.
Overall, although we were only there for the night, the stay was brilliant and really made the weekend away and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AQuinney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester. I am delighted that you and your girlfriend chose the Crowne Plaza for her birthdayt and enjoyed your experience at the hotel.
Thank you for all your kind feedback on the hotel staff, I'll be happy to pass them on to them.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    861
    225
    50
    25
See reviews for
347
976
97
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here with my parents for two nights last weekend. Sadly ,when we went to our rooms we found the one room which I was going to share with my Mum ( as my dad was only staying the one night ) had a double bed. My mum is disabled and needed a wet room/ bathroom and after calling reception to see if we could change rooms, we were told they only have wet rooms with double beds. This is a shame, although the room was lovely and the bed very comfy. The rest of the hotel was lovely and as we arrived late on the Friday night we decided to eat our evening meal at the hotel. We all had a set menu which was an absolute bargain at £20.00 a head for 3 courses and a glass of wine ! The service was excellent and the food was really lovely and very filling. We arrived for breakfast the next morning and met with the Head of Service. My Dad is hard of hearing and he making general inquiries and repeated himself a couple of times . Sadly the Head of Service became very petulant and rude and with a very raised and impatient voice level said ' Sir I just need your room number ! '' Thankfully my Dad did not hear him but my Mum and I felt very offended....... Breakfast we felt was good apart from the scrambled eggs we ordered. The rest of the hotel staff were lovely, very friendly and accommodating. We had a bar meal in the evening before going off to our concert which was again really nice and very reasonably priced . Breakfast the next morning we did not initially see the Head of Service we had the previous day but he later showed another couple to their table next to where we were sitting and he explained the menu and service to the wife of the couple. The husband had not heard him properly and yet again this same man raised his voice with this gentleman and said '' Sir ! i have just explained all of this to your wife !'' ......... Not at all good........ The location of the hotel was perfect for us for shopping and close to the O2 arena. I would come again and would recommend this hotel to others just some staff training required in manners for that one member of staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
At the Crowne Plaza Manchester, we appreciate all of our guests, especially those that take time out of their busy day to write a review about their stay. Reviews from our guests, be they good or bad, help us gauge what we are doing well and what we need to improve on.
I have taken into consideration your very helpful comments and will address them to the the staff involved.
I apologize for any inconvenient situation you have experienced during your stay, but I am glad to know that you will come back to visit us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norttinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The accommodation is comfortable staff very nice and friendly but unfortunately the breakfast let it down, we were there on a Sunday morning the restaurant was very busy, it was chaos! There didn't seem to be many staff, the poor things were running around like headless chickens, I had a hair in my mushrooms, my sister had one on her toast and in her tea and the scrambled eggs were inedible, grey with burnt bits (yuk) we complained and they were very apologetic, I won't stay here again, sorry.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaxyNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear MaxyNottinghamshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please allow us to apologize you were not satisfied with our breakfast selections. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night for one night. Check in very smooth, asked for ice etc to be delivered to the room - super fast service within 15 mins.

Nice looking room, very disappointed to see several crusty white stains on the decorative cushions on the bed and smeared handprints running down the overbed feature (I dread to think what was on those hands!) so obviously this hadn't been cleaned thoroughly. Put me off pretty much immediately!

Bathroom spotless, separate bath and showers - NO dressing gowns and a shoddy attempt at toiletries - a bar of soap and moisturising cream....hmmm - I expected in this star rating hotel a bit more attention to detail - could have brought my own if I had known - slightly annoyed at that considering it was into and beyond £200 for the room!

Nice size bed, mattress soft, VERY small and uncomfortable pillows. Can compare to beanbags. Even the spare was equally small and lumpy.

Air conditioning noisy and somewhat unstable temperature wise, we couldn't get it right even though it was digital so had a pretty unsettled nights sleep thanks to that! Take extra water because your mouth will be like sandpaper by the morning!

For a city centre hotel it wasn't too noisy, especially not from other guests. We never heard a muffle!! At the end of the day if you want quiet, go rural!

Ideally placed for shopping, MEN arena etc - really pleased with the location - we recommend you park in the NCP carpark across the road.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. Just didn't seem worth the money, particularly considering it's an additional £13 each for breakfast.
Sorry Crowne Plaza, I'd rather save the £ and check in elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear caroline c,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked a suite in this hotel, very clean, bed and pillows comfy, but the service was terrible, booked a table in the restaurant 3 days prior to visiting for 5.30, we were still waiting for someone to take our order 50 minutes later. We were also unable to buy a drink at the bar whilst we waited as the bar staff were run of their feet trying to wait on guests in the restaurant and bar area, unfortunately we eventually had to leave without the meal as time was then not on our side, we booked breakfast to be delivered to our room between 9.00am and 9.30am again we were left waiting until 10.30 when we checked out, but they kindly charged us for the room service, tried ringing room service, and housekeeping again nobody seems to answer telephones. Can safely say we will not be visiting again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We value all guests’ comments and feedback as they help us to constantly improve our service.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered while you stayed at our hotel. Please be assured this is below our usual standards at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre and we regret that we couldn’t have done more for you during your stay.
Also, I can assure you that you were not charged for the delivery service.
I know our Guest Relations Manager did everything in his power to help, and I know our guest relations team has tried to get in touch with you after you left.

If you would like to discuss these points any further, then please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

We do hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Manchester you would consider staying with us again.

Best Regards


Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here for my birthday, booked by my husband. Hotel was about a 5 minute walk from Arndale Centre. Very smooth check-in. Front of house staff very friendly and efficient. A bottle of wine and two glasses together with a birthday card were waiting our arrival in the room...nice touch. Standard room more than adequate for one night. Ironing board, iron and tea/coffee making facilities in room. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever and would definitely book this hotel again. Many hotels are overly warm and uncomfortable. This one was fab as there was no heating unless you switched it on. Slept really well in a big comfortable bed. If I had a gripe about anything it would be that the shower was extremely compact and bijou! But there was plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: For the one night, as standard room was so good, wouldn't need to pay extra for bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCymru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read your comments about the staff and the room, and I am glad we made it a special birthday for you.
I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.

Thank you again,

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I would happily recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family!! It was very stylish and modern, the room was gorgeous and the food/drink was amazing..... Staff were very helpful and the hotel is just a few minutes walk away from all the bars, clubs and shopping. Cant wait to go back!! :) xx

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vorn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us!
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here, and for your lovely comments about the restaurant, bar and staff.

I hope we will be welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing