We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night but would highly recommend. I booked on line and asked if we could have an early check in due to it being a birthday weekend, they were happy to oblige and we even received a couple tray bottle of wine a really nice thought. The rooms are immaculate with all the usual tea and coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing boards. Even sky sports on the TV, it's very close to both the arndale centre and the men arena so ideal for shopping etc. Staff are all very helpful and breakfast is lovely Buffett style with everything you could want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1-Sharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete such detailed feedback on www.tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and have enjoyed the wine we have provided in the room.
Happy Birthday once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    865
    227
    50
    25
See reviews for
350
979
97
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights, main purpose was to see the Eagles at the Arena (close walk). Hotel well located for the Arndale centre (shopping), transport Shudehill station trams/buses. Also very short walk to Victoria trains. Little free green buses get you about the city but we had a car. We extravagantly used the hotel valet parking but you can easily self-park, plenty of nearby car-parks. We ate 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 1 dinner in the glasshouse restaurant a little unimaginatively but it was convenient and well-priced good food. Lots of choice nearby depending on the purpose of your visit. We stayed on floor 8 in a club room I think that was a mistake it was twice the price of comparable rooms, very noisy (workmen nearby sounded like they were on the roof) and our bed was far too soft and very high to climb into!!! I also didn't like all the black decor which made the room dark, the white headboard shown on the hotel website is far nicer than everything in black. I probably would stay elsewhere next time even though I'm usually a customer of Crowne plazas (they are franchises so do differ). The breakfast is complimentary in the club lounge but was more limited than in other CP club lounges and rather uninspiring.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walk4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Business class service from reception and restaurant.
Shudhill tram and bus station a 2 minute walk to get you to most places. The Arndale shopping center is very close by. Car park on the corner of Addington St and Rochdale Road is a minutes walk away and £4 for 12 hrs and £5 for 24hrs. Had breakfast but not dinner or drinks in the hotel but only because meeting colleagues in town. Breakfast was very decent. Lifts seemed a little slow one morning probable I need to slow down sometimes.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor in room 403 very good and no noise problems, from inside or outside the hotel, when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingAcrossTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Manchester. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your very kind feedback. We apologize for the slow elevators, I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team to ensure you don't encounter the problem on your next stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have just returned from a visit, with friends, to The manchester Arena, to see The eagles, we decided to stay overnight as a small treat, and can honestly say we are glad we did. This hotel is just right for this type of occasion. Easy parking, (just across the street), very helpful staff, and a great nights sleep. One of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever had. The breakfast in the morning was good, again with very pleasant and helpful staff. My one gripe is that after the concert we decided to go back to the hotel for a drink, and there was a decided lack of bar staff. Initially 2, but soon deceased to just 1, there were a lot of not happy customers!

Room Tip: We sayer on Level 8, it is well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the negative experience you have encountered at the bar, I can assure you that you have not experienced our ordinarily high standards of service and I do hope that you are able to visit us once again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.
Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent city centre hotel within walking distance of Phones 4u (formerly MEN) arena. Also a very short walk to pick up the metroshuttle which is a free bus service linking the main rail stations, car parks, shopping areas and businesses in Manchester city centre. We used the Metroshuttle 2 to take us to the Coronation Street tour.

We ate both days in the Glasshouse restaurant and the food was delicious.

The hotel room had 2 double beds which were extremely comfortable. The bathroom had a shower cubicle, a sink and a bath. The shower was good except it is a tight squeeze getting in and out of the door because of the design of it. Towels were large.

The hotel room was on 4th floor and is the quietest I have ever stayed in as no noise from other guests or from traffic.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolIanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete such detailed feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with the shower, I will make sure your feedback will be passed on to the rest of the team.
We very much hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Have never stayed in a Crowne Plaza before so didn't know what to expect. Our room had two double beds and a very nice bathroom, staff were pleasant and helpful and the location was perfect for our shopping trip as it was a short stroll to the Arndale Centre and other shops and was also conveniently located for restaurants and bars. Getting there from both Victoria and Piccadilly train stations was easy too. Although the hotel was a reasonable size and seemed busy it was quiet (no doors closing, people talking etc) for sleep. The only downside for me personally was the bedding - lumpy pillows and duvet were not conducive to great sleep hence losing a star in the rating, but this is just personal taste. Would I stay there again? - YES!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor at the side of the building which meant hardly any traffic noise and was ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete such detailed feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. I am sorry though that the pillows and duvet were not to your liking. I will ensure your kind comments are shares with the team.
We very much hope to welcome you back next time.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The best aspect of this hotel is the staff, who are friendly and helpful. The rooms are small - the corridors are wide so it seems odd to make the corridors so wide and the rooms small and crowded. The location is not great - a taxi ride or free shuttle to the locations tourists want to go to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brockie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed interacting with our staff. I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing