We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last week on our way back home to Spain after our holiday to Florida. We arrived after 11pm and were delighted that the check in only took a few minutes. My husband has stayed here numerous times whilst on business, but this was my first time. We have absolutely no complaints. We had a lovely room, bed was so comfortable that we overslept and missed breakfast! Housekeeping do a great job as everything was immaculate and the towels were so white and fluffy. The hotel decor is contemporary, but if you have looked at the website you will be aware of that prior to booking. As we are platinum members we were able to use the Club lounge, and unlike the guests from a previous review we were perfectly happy with what was on offer. We only stayed on floor 8 and I didn't hear any noise, except my husband snoring! A special mention must be given to the gentleman who was serving in the Club lounge in the mornings and evenings. He was so friendly, cheerful and attentive and took great pride in his work. Nothing was too much trouble to him. A valuable member of staff. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Arndale Shopping Centre which suited me perfectly! Check out was hassle free and the member of staff carried my luggage out to the taxi for me. I most definitely look forward to my next stay at this hotel and would recommend it to fellow travellers. Thank you to everyone for making our stay a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroljaapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your first visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and the facilities that the hotel provides. I am sorry to hear you missed breakfast, hopefully you can take advantage of this on your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    873
    230
    50
    25
See reviews for
352
984
100
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a Sunday recently. Only a few minutes to the Arena, Arndale Shopping Centre and Northern Quarter bars and restaurants. Great location. No parking on site, but £12 for 24 hours (instead of £15) just across the road at The Printworks NCP car park. Have your car park ticket validated at the reception before you leave. Excellent room, clean and spacious. Hot, tasty breakfast - well cooked and prepared - and plenty of it. Nothing not to like, and all at a reasonable price for a good quality city centre hotel. Will definitely stay here again. And, by the way, the staff were very friendly and ready to assist.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete such detailed feedback on www.tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and have enjoyed the room and the breakfast. I will gladly pass on your kind comment to the rest of the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for a visit to Manchester including going to an event at the Phones4U Arena which is not far away. It was a little pricey partly because it was weekend and partly due to the event I suspect. We also upgraded to a Club Room to take advantage of the free lounge facilities and also a higher floor to get away from the noise of the traffic. We did not eat in the restaurant which is called "The Glasshouse" but the menu appeared appetising.

Room Tip: Go high to avoid the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza City Centre for your stay. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recommended. Excellent position for the city centre and particularly the Phones4U Arena. Desk and Valet parking staff were great. Room was very good, though the matress was a little soft for me.Breakfast wwas good and overall an excellent hotel. Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickyv007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your detailed feedback. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the mattress not being to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,036 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014


Great room (lovely bathroom) with access to a manic executive lounge with complimentary drinks. Breakfast in the morning was surprisingly adequate (I say that because the canapés the previous evening were few and far between). Only niggle - children in the club lounge!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Manchester. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your very kind feedback. We apologize for the canapés not being to your liking and for the inconvenience you had to experience in the Club Lounge. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team to ensure you don't encounter the problem on your next stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Got at the hotel about 11.10, let us check in early...fast and efficient.

Room had two double beds...little touches like cookies and hot chocolate..

Very nice overall and the buffet breakfast was to die for..

Would return again...good location for the northern quarter

Room Tip: High room have a good view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owdsnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your first visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night but would highly recommend. I booked on line and asked if we could have an early check in due to it being a birthday weekend, they were happy to oblige and we even received a couple tray bottle of wine a really nice thought. The rooms are immaculate with all the usual tea and coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing boards. Even sky sports on the TV, it's very close to both the arndale centre and the men arena so ideal for shopping etc. Staff are all very helpful and breakfast is lovely Buffett style with everything you could want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1-Sharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete such detailed feedback on www.tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and have enjoyed the wine we have provided in the room.
Happy Birthday once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing