We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IHG do what they do well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was a simple one night stay on a monday night for a family occasion.

Its nice and central, around the corner from the bars and restaurants of the Northern Quarter.

It feels fairly new, everything works and its well maintained. We had a nicely decorated double room with a modern bathroom.

Although I would certainly go back, the clincher for me was the behaviour of the reception staff. They noticed a small problem with our party and automatically and without fuss offered a more suitable room without being asked. It was done so smoothly It struck me that big chains don't have to rub out initiative from their people. I've stayed in loads of IHG hotels recently and it seems to be a common theme - a reliable formula that includes nice people and genuine hospitality.

Well done guys!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiamFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read of your positive comments about your stay especially around the excellent welcome that you received at the Hotel. Our staff is certainly one of the most important aspects of our operation and I am glad they have contributed to enhance your experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
We all look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Best regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the outside the hotel looks unpromising. Once inside it is much better, the staff are super friendly Europeans who were nice to the children. The hotel interiors are modern and fresh and the family room while being compact was good. I really liked the separate bath and shower in the ensuite. They cook the scrambled egg to order at breakfast which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sadie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, as well as breakfast in our restaurant.
It is an immense pleasure to hear such kind words, please be assured that I have passed these on to the teams.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the crownr plaza couldnt had a better hotel. The room was lovely and modern and spotless Staff very friendly and helpful great breakfast.The reason for the visit was to visit corrie set and I couldnt have picked a better hotel. Will be going back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank unice50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I am glad that you had a lovely, relaxing time while staying with us, and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Crowne Plaza is handily placed for the M.E.N. and all the city centre pubs, bars and restaurants.
The food is good quality and the bar staffed by friendly people.
The rooms are up to date and fresh with very comfortable beds.
Try a club room with lounge access, good snacks and excellent waiter service with free alcoholic drinks between 1800 and 2000.
I've stayed at the airport hotels frequently when working in Manchester but being in the city opens up far more choices for going out.

Room Tip: Club room with lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cageyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy the hotel facilities as well as the ones in the hotel surroundings.
I am also glad to read that you appreciated the complementary drinks and the service in the Club Lounge.

I hope that your travel plans will bring you to Manchester and to the Crowne Plaza again very soon.

Best regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for two nights for a weekend getaway and it was a great experience.
The room has a fresh, modern design and was in very good condition. The bed was the highlight, big, soft and comfy with a really cosy duvet and lovely soft sheets while the bathroom had a separate bath and shower which was a nice feature - all very modern and well designed.
I think this hotel is truly excellent value and I will absolutely be staying here again on future trips to Manchester.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Lucy S,
First of all thank you for submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor.
I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with your boyfriend and that you appreciated the big comfortable bed in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely clean hotel the beds are so comfy and the pillows are amazing! We've stayed her 3 times and never had any reason too complain :) the staff are really friendly and helpful we can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback on the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I will be more than happy to share it with my team here at the hotel and we will all be looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

As this is a city centre Hotel we knew the parking would be adjacent rather than onsite but we thought it would be the ideal place to stay and we weren't disappointed. It's stylish and set in a good location. The rooms were comfortable and we had a great view towards the Co-Op's iconic office complex. Staff in the bar were nice and chatty without being overbearing, and we enjoyed the breakfast; my poached eggs were perfectly done. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The best views would be from the front elevation where our rooms were situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Evelyn H,
thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. We are really pleased to hear that you chose our hotel to spend the night after your graduation. Also, your comments about the friendliness of our staff are much appreciated.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £76 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing